Surviving 'til Med School In Roughly $2/day Budget.

14 50
Avatar for Tenj
Written by
2 years ago

$2.00 Med school? You gotta be kidding me, you might say.

You might wonder how I survived my entire journey as a student with merely $2/day of budget. Well, to tell you the truth, I sometimes go beyond my budget, but most often than not, I see to it that $2 is my limit.

Now, wouldn't be telling you much about the budget but instead I will be sharing to you my journey to getting that "MD" with roughly $2 budget per day.

Let me start with sharing the first step I took before entering medschool.

Dream free. Dream wild. Dream high.

I have been told to dream big dreams. It's free, they say. And so I did. I dreamt of becoming a Nurse, an Astronaut even, Doctor... etc. Because when you dream, dream high. But growing up, I have realized that the dreams I dream are an impossible feat. It would be a challenge to achieve it given the financial capability of my family. And so I just started living, with the dream just breathing within.

After graduating from college, I did not proceed into Medschool as some would have expected me to, for reasons that my family can't surely afford to send me and sustain the expenses, and second I was still threading in waters of uncertainties, struggling to believe something that I see wouldn't be happening. And so I worked for 1 year and helped the family with the little money that I make, and saved as much as I can. But I knew, deep in my heart that God has called me and it is Him who will provide, and indeed He did!

And with a vision from God, I took the leap of faith, took up NMAT and sent applications for enrollment and scholarships for Medschool. It was indeed an impossible feat, but how smooth sailing everything was from application to enrolment (after enrolment it was never smooth sailing ), I knew from there that it was really meant to be. I remembered how He sent people along the way and provided for my accommodation in Cebu during NMAT and an interview when I had planned to wait out for the sun in the boat before going to the venue.

But after getting rejected in a school where I could take Medicine at the least cost, and after missing the scholarship applications at different schools in Cebu, I started doubting again, threading in waters of uncertainties. But then, I hold on to His promise and applied for a scholarship here in my current school, which I almost missed. I was able to send my application at the very deadline of acceptance of applicants.

Had I not received the scholarship, I wondered how I'm going to pick myself up from zero for I had already quit my job, and not proceeding with medschool with roughly 50k of savings in the bank, and my family still struggling financially.

God's faithfulness, through and through!

I still could not fathom how God did it, but His faithfulness brought me here. From the scholarship, to my sponsorship, and provisions, God has been faithful. Somehow, in some ways, with all His provisions, I survived 4 years of medschool with roughly 50k of savings, and I was never in lack. I tried to maximize all my resources to its greatest extent, and by all means possible to get by with my $2 budget per day.

I have been talking about my financial struggles that you may think I have not struggled in Medschool academically. But boy, I tell you, being in Medschool is indeed hard. It is a known fact that we all struggled, cramming notes, sacrificing subjects and exams, crying and weeping over failed scores,and barely passing. There were even times when I question myself if it was worth it. If what I'm tryinng to do will be worth it. But then again, I just remind myself why and for whom I am taking this impossible feat, and then I'll push through. All in all, it was God who sustained me from all these hardships with the best set of support system, close set of friends, batch Zalgiatroz (Batch extraaa!!!), inspiring doctors, my family, my prayer warriors, and most especially God's promises through His Word.

The wind beneath my wings.

Today (rather yesterday), I celebrate God's faithfulness, and give all the glory to the Lord! I am thankful and will be forever grateful to everyone used by God to help me be where I am today. To the FM Romualdez scholarship, thank you for giving me the opportunity to take this shot into becoming who I am and where I am today. To my principal sponsors, Tita Emelyn and Tito Martin, thank you so much for covering the rest of my miscellaneous fees and for providing me with laptops and cellphones I couldn't afford to buy with my budget. May God bless you immensely for your generous hearts. To my parents, MamaLory and Papa Edwin, thank you for being my foundation of strength and support, this one's for you. Ilang saging at gulay din ang nailako natin to come this far. Ilabas na ang kalabaw. Ilabas lang kailangan pa natin yan sa farm. To my siblings all my extended family Lolo and Lola in heaven, Lola Ekya, Uncles and Aunties, cousins, thank you for your prayers and support. To MJJJLM, BioDaray, Superfriends, thank you for being my breather. To my medschool buddies, last row girls, to TeamWork, thank you for making medschool fun and a little less hard. To batch Zalgiatroz, thank you for making medschool a little extra and fun, yeyyy, we made it!!! Thank you to the DRTRMFI-CM administration, faculty and staff for the opportunity to be mentored and trained.

Dr. JENE CORILLO

Doctor of Medicine

Batch Zalgiatroz

Class of 2021

9
$ 4.40
$ 4.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @MizLhaine
+ 3
Sponsors of Tenj
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tenj
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Naghilak ko nagbasa sa imong article Doc. wala nagyud nako nabantayn na ngpost ka dri since that time, I was also in quarantine. Again congratulations and looking forward for your successful board examination!I agree, God works in our lives in ways so miraculous, He uses people who can help us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations doktora! Kudos to you and your achievements. As someone who had been lost in finding her own path, you've inspired me to seek that way I am looking for.

Aww, living in such conditions is truly hard but still, your dedication and effort to make it through made me realize that the right passion will help you with it.

It will never be easy and I think you are still just in the start of it but I am glad— proud to see you make it against all the odds!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwee thank you! I'm glad that I have, in some way, inspired you to go find the way you're looking for.

Indeed, with dedication, prayers and hard work nothing is impossible. Fighting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations on your achievements. May God continue to bless your life in wisdom and knowledge.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much! Time to seek greater knowledge and wisdom. I hope to be able to make the most out of the blessings given to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats. You had done it against all odds despite only having 2 dollars a day to work on. I am glad that everything works out well. I do not think that I could do it just like you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! Just like the tale in the bible about the fish and bread that fed a thousand mouths, that's how God provided and made miracles happen for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. I am so moved by your story. I was once a big dreamer from a small town in Bohol. And I really felt the happiness from you sharing us your story. I’d love to hear more from you especially on how you manage your finances because it seems that you have almost mastered the art of budgeting. Hehe. Congrats Doc. 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy to hear your thoughts on this. I'd probably write a more detailed article about how tight I am when it comes to my budget. Hehe. Kuripot is my nickname haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im so excited for that next blog of yours. Yay. I would learn so much from you. Teach me sensei. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a sweet victory for you for achieving your dreams and finally you made it.Theres no such thing as an easy way to success, and that dreams of you have come true.May you be blessed being a doctor especially this pandemic time you'll always be protected.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind words. Indeed it was a hard feat, but being with God, nothing is impossible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations, doc! Indeed we need to work on our dreams and trust God to do the rest. He gives us angels alongside to help us but it's all within to pursue our goals.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! All I really had to do was step out in faith and God did the rest. Praise God for His greatness!

$ 0.00
2 years ago