The new and the old

29 74
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

7th March 2022 5/?

Hola and Hello to all you awesome beautiful readers and authors of read.

Welcome to the new week did you have a great and relaxing weekend?

I have not done this for a while, but Monday means #monochromemonday so today in this post I am going to drop some black and white picture of somewhere that is close to my heart.

Today we are travelling to Dunfermline in the Kingdom of Fife in Scotland.
More precisely to the site of Dunfermline Abbey. Over the ages this has been an incredibly important site in the history of Scotland as a nation.

The new and the old, and this is my picture that shows the newer Dunfermline Abbey on the right. On the left of this picture is the ruins of the old Dunfermline Abbey.

The old Abbey is one of the oldest settlements in Scotland. Believe it or not, but Dunfermline used to be the capital of Scotland, long before Edinburgh became the capital.

At one time the Abbey was the burial site of the Scottish monarchs.

The Abbey and the ruins around it are all that remain of a Benedictine Abbey which was founded by Queen Margaret in the eleventh century.

Can you imagine that, the ruins are almost one thousand years old. Imagine the buildings that are made today, will they last 1000 years? I doubt they could even last 100 years let alone 1000 years.

Older buildings and architecture is something that I find fascinating and it is something that I am in awe of. Imagine the people trying and succeeding at building this, without the modern tools that we have today.

This last picture is of the 'newer' Abbey. It is here that King Robert the Bruce is buried. He is one of the most famous kings and you may have heard about his story of the spider?

If you look closely in this picture you can see that the tower of the church bears the wordsย !'King Robert'. The 'the Bruceย are on the other two sides that can't be seen in this picture. The words are in carved stone and do look pretty striking.

I have a personal connection to this Abbey and I might tell you about the Abbey in a more detailed post about the Abbey, in the meantime, can you guess why the Abbey is close to my heart?

I had some good news over the week, after quite some time in the Discord served of the Chad's Racing guild of Pegaxy I got given two Paxagies to race. So far I have had some mixed fortunes between the two horses or should I say the two Pegaxies. Bluesbae seems to be better than EASportSpice. Anyway, I feel that I will write about that in a post for tomorrow.

What have you been doing with smartBCH investments? I am just holding what I have. I do like Law and wish the other projects would have been as professional as they have been. Seems all those NFTs really are a pile of ๐Ÿ’ฉ , that is my personal opinion anyway.

Cosmos system is still going from strength to strength, so not all crypto is red. It also seems that their Twitter giveaways are much more plentiful and rewarding too, I did receive 1 Juno as a giveaway prize today.

Have a good one and thanks for reading.

Thank you for stopping by and have a magical week.

Copyrightย @TengoLoTodoย 2022 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

28
$ 6.30
$ 5.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.07 from @JuanyChelme
+ 17
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Building that were constructed before are much stronger and durable than today's buildings. Those ruins are so amazing DF.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes they built them to last, not like today

$ 0.00
2 years ago

when I was younger I always dreamed of being one of the nuns that stayed in the abbey. I guess one of the reasons is that most of the abbey are awesome. lol

great photos you got there! which reminds me that I have to post for monomad for tomorrow's submission lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My two great aunts were nuns

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The ruins are incredible ! And almost thousand years already? Oh wowwww! But the cemetery master, it creeps me a little hihi.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha so my wee BC would not be doing things in the cemetery ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahha no master but I slept in the cemetery before. ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha slept because of too much red horse my wee BC ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No no no, not because of redhorse master hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They all look fascinating and... haunted to me! I was trying to focus on the details and the backstories of these structures but the b&w photos were tempting me to buy an old cam! Btw, did you use point and shoot cam for these? <3

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It look so magical, like what I have seen in the movies! I was thinking how many days spent in building considering it was manual labor? I asked google who is king Robert and was surprised as he was the most renowned warriors in his generation!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

All the buildings are really old I would one day tour around Scotland and all other states in uk

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm trying to remember what you said about churches but my memory as always is shot lol! I do like the details of the church and those words of King Robert is really something. The dedication of people to even carve his name is admirable. Really lovely shots, kuya! Love the texture and monochrome effect.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love how it seems to be old. The history, the people and for sure a lot of things change. Anyway, I don't have any Pegaxy or SmartBCH investment

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Is that really the actual color of the structure in the picture because it's really looks so ancient even in the picture itself, a great structures, here in our country there are just so few left with ancient structures because they just demolished it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Here in the Philippines, buildings older than 40 years old are for demolition. I used to know someone was a great-great-grandson of Robert the Bruce. Thanks for the tour!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh as a medieval historian there are few things that I love more than old abandoned abbeys! You can always post more stuff like this!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

this monastery is a long history maybe your grandparents or relatives of their descendants were there because of that you have the chemistry there, the old buildings that became prehistoric have now turned into history for your area friends. Capture this and tell your children and your siblings who will be the next regeneration.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hi, And how many monarchs are buried in this abbey?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I wonder what's with that abbey that makes it have a connection with you, ๐Ÿค” but since you mentioned that it was a church then maybe you had your wedding to that Church ๐Ÿ˜…..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That was great historical sites. Unfortunately, we don't have those kinds of kingdoms and castles here.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Really love this monochrome monday theme. It gives an ancient vibes. Plus not to mention the really ancient buildings. So instagrammable.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes they are ancient vibes! They are awesome buildings and built to last storms and time wee teacher:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The monochrome photographs & castle view took me to 15th century. I have a question. Is it right that castles are haunted?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Some of them I think yes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you filter the photos? Or they are really old? ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha you are naughty! I made them black and white

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a nice hashtag, monochromeMonday! I wish I'd taken lots of Monday pics so I can have my own version too! ๐Ÿ˜„

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe then you should do it next Monday ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago