Let's all be giants together!

40 69
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

5th of July 2021.

Hello readers to a new week a new month and to the start of the second half of the year 2021. I won't dwell on the Pandemic but I am going to take you back three years for a little journey prePandemic. The wonderful @Bloghound inspired me to write this with her "they're just photos" comment on her The Happiest Place On Earth post yesterday and the hiking superstar @ARTicLEE also inspired me with a comment that he had never seen me post any hiking things anywhere, so Lee here you go, and please readers check out his first main post it is cool.

The legend

Northern Ireland was once home to a great big giant. This giant was called Finn McCool. As is often the case with humans and sometimes even giants, trouble was brewing. Over across the Irish Sea in Scotland lived another giant. This giant's name was Benandonner.

Benandonner was a grumpy giant and so one day Benandonner decided to threaten Ireland.

This of of course upset Finn. Finn was really annoyed and not happy and so he retaliated by tearing up great big pieces of the Northern Irish coastline and throwing them into the sea.

The Northern Ireland coastline that Finn started to break up and throw into the sea.

This new path that Finn created was called the Giant’s Causeway. It was big enough that it let Finn walk over the sea and get to Benandonner.

However this was a disaster!

A disaster I hear you say! - Yes, it was a disaster.

But why?

Well, it was a really bad idea. Do you know why?

Finn saw Benandonner and nearly peed his pants. For you see, Benandonner was massive, I mean absolutely massive, he was SOOO much bigger than Finn.

In order to save himself Finn turned back and ran as fast as he could to his home in Ireland.

His wife being the quick-thinking smarter one of the couple (isn't that usually the case) disguised Finn as a baby.

When Benandonner arrived at Finn's home, he saw a baby (and did't realise it was Finn). Benandonner quickly thought if the baby is that big already, then the father of the baby must be even bigger than Benandonner himself!

Part of the Giant's Causeway

Now it was Benandonner's turn to be worried. So he ran back as fast as he could all the way to Scotland, tearing up and destroying as much of the Giant's Causeway as he possibly could.

And they lived happily ever after.

Now it sounds like a fairytale, or is it a giantstale I wonder!!

Thus the myth legend or is it the truth of the Giant's Causeway was born.

All that is left of the Giant's Causeway after Benandonner destroyed it

It really is a magnificent sight to see.

The boring bit

Science says that the Giant’s Causeway was first formed over 60 million years ago. It was created following a period of volcanic activity. The the lava cooled and created the amazing looking interlocking basalt columns. Each column is almost perfectly hexagonal in shape.

Can you see the hexagonal shape and how they interlock?
Can you see the hexagonal shape and how they interlock?

Whether you believe the science or the legend ( I believe the legend of course). The Giant's Causeway is an amazing site to behold, and if you are ever in Northern Ireland it really is a must do.

It is however, a lasting reminder of the beauty of Nature in our world.

I took these pictures when I visited in the summer of 2018, which seems like an eternity ago now.

There are of course volcanoes all over the world, and I know they exist in countries of you wonderful readers. Have you seen anything like this with these perfect shaped basalt columns? If so, please do write in a comment, it would be fascinating to see if this has occurred anywhere else.

Just along from The Giant's Causeway on the Antrim Coast is the scariest bridge I have ever been on. Perhaps I shall post an article about that soon, If I can dare look at the pictures that is.

Thank you for reading.

A big thank you to my amazing sponsors

@FarmGirl @Bloghound @Eylz2021 @CoquiCoin @JonicaBradley and @Panky

please do check them out and read their fantastic articles.

Copyright @TengoLoTodo 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images and words are from the author unless source mentioned.

10
$ 10.67
$ 10.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.12 from @AngelwingS
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 6
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Each column is almost perfectly hexagonal in shape.--> this bit although it is under "boring bit" .. is actually amusing uncle! I am in awe at how these got formed.. legend or not it is still amazing!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

mmm amusing pp why so, because I put in under boring ? But yeah totally amazing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course I believe the legend. It's more entertaining :D I hope I can see those hexagonal columns. There are volcanoes here but I haven't been near one yet. I'm not sure there were mention of such columns formed.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ah yes of course you have Taal which I saw. It is fascinating how the earth gets formed, you can't really imagine the power involved.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We have Taal, Mayon, Pinatubo and many more but those three have been the active ones. Just recently Taal is restless yet once again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I was reading about Taal becoming restless again, hopefully not like last time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So far it wasn't, thank goodness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes let's hope it stays calm now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sounds good Ed, I obviously want to believe the legend more as I love anything magic. I also remember reading that square angles don't appear naturally and some of those columns looks like they have square angles.

Beautiful place 💙

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes the legend is fun, actually on the end is the island of Staffa in Scotland which has the same columns, so a real legend I say! Well maybe aliens were here too, not sure about the right angles, but they are hexagons for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So interesting! It was long time I heard about a story of Giants. The giant's causeway is way too beautiful as well. As for the myths, we also have them in here. But I don't believe to some since what we can see in our surroundings, is I guess a product of nature's evolution.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It really is a beautiful place. Myths there are everywhere, and yes some we can immediately tell aren't true, but sometimes it is good to imagine myths are real, makes life fun. Nature was here long before us and will be here long after us, so yes nature's evolution. Salamat for reading and commenting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely! Myths are somewhat true because people created the story with such evidence that is seen in nature that's why some tend to believe. Yes of course, you're welcome as always po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes as they say, there is no smoke without fire. Now I want to explore some Filipino myths, I am curious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, Ed, for taking us there with the story and your pictures. Of course, I go with the legend. Who wouldn't before a Giantstale?. I'm looking forward to the story of the scariest bridge you've ever seen. Maybe we should make a deal to encourage you to tell us about it. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe Eliana thank you, it is good sometimes to share pictures and stories. This one did make me chuckle. Oh I will share the bridge one day 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Filipino folklore and so many legends we have a lot of those and I for one never believed it. It is fun to read and have a good laugh at it. The things that the authors can come up with are so out of this world haha... Science I believed that, it isn't boring at all, so much facts and information that sometimes even scientists have a hard time to explain. The debate will be, is it really science, or myths or is it God's creation. Nature has existed long time ago. We can only see the beauty in front of us and looked at it with awe. Nature has its way of working wonders to this wonderful world that we live in. I had fun reading this, myth or science, I say just enjoy the uniqueness and beauty of the Giant's Causeway. I have never seen anything like it. I remember the Stonehenge at Arizona there are also scientific facts and myths about it. Who really knows all this will remain a mystery. That's the beauty about it because it is mysterious. OMG! This is a long comment. Hahaha. Peace

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Folklore is fin, and I bet you have tons of myths and legends, you know I am going to start googling! Well no real debate as most are easily explained away by science. But science and God's creation is another subject entirely and one I don't enter into! A very long comment and I never knew about Stonehenge in Arizona, I thought Stonehenge was well Stonehenge at Stonehenge in England. The more mysterious the better I say. And Peace to you and thank you for your long comment din!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I won't go into those debates too. It's a no win situation. Yes there are Stonehenge in England I read that somewhere and there's also a myth to it and scientific facts. These are the mysteries of the world that no one will be able to explain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I like mysteries that hard to explain, it puts your mind into overdrive!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I really enjoyed your virtual tour of Northern Ireland. Not sure if I will ever get to visit but this article of yours will have to do for now. It's amazing how the columns are shaped. I am from a non-volcanic country. Reading the volcano disasters of Indonesia and New Zealand, I am scared to even go near an active one!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you Emily, it was fun doing this as it brought back memories. Yes the columns are fascinating, and when you see up close, it is as they were man made they looked so precise. Yes the volcano disasters are scary and all over the world. We have in the UK but they are all totally dormant.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer them dormant than active..LOL

Going to bed soon. Good night!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha yes me too. Good night Emily, sleep tight!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love giant stories! In ancient Norse religion they believed that the world was really consisting of the body of a big giant. Ymir the giant even sweated out the humans. One drop of sweat formed a man and another drop of sweat a woman

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I love the ancient Norse religion, how cool is Ymir, I love that story:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Doesn't really matter which among the two, the legend or science, is true. Basta beautiful :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

oo a very beautiful place , salamat oo they can both be true!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice! Salamat din po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So what is nice in Tagalog then

$ 0.00
2 years ago

on my above comment, it means "ayos". Nice can mean other things depending on how or where it is used. It can mean maganda or mabait - "She's so nice"something like that :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

so like magandang asno , I do see ganda and then magandang, now come to think of it I am sure I have seen ayos as a comment on it's own elsewhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yap. Ganda is short to maganda. "Ganda nya"-She's a beauty/She's good; also same as "Maganda sya"-She's beautiful/She's good. "Ayos" means good/great/okay or some others

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda nya .... okay and when I look in the mirror I say ..... ang gwapo mo 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha that's really good, and you're really good at it :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well salamat I try haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Look at the details! It's a beautiful disaster, uncle Ed! I haven't seen such a thing my whole life!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You got that right Mrs P Sometimes disasters can be beautiful 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right, uncle Ed. I'd love to go there tho!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Put it on your UK bucket list Mrs P;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago