Freebie Time

84 97
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

15th November 2021

Hello everyone, if you only clicked for the freebie that I mentioned in the title, it is at the end of this article, so feel free to scroll down and claim it.

If you are going to read the article then woohoo salamuch in advance.

So Monday was today and a new week has started, and also today is half-way through the month. It is quite cool that the month started on a Monday the first, this means that I can keep track easily of my articles during this November one-a-day challenge of mine.

I had an article all planned out to write and publish for today. Not like me to do that I know, but yes I actually did have an article planned for today charr.

But, here comes the but, I was waiting for a delivery and started looking at my crypto wallets and exchanges and stuff and had planned out an article about crypto in my head.

Then I got a knock at the door from the postman. The photo below is what my delivery was. Winner winner chicken dinner!

My free books courtesy of a lottery win

In the UK we use postcodes for our address, you might use zip codes, or you use something else?

Generally speaking, a postcode has six or seven letters and numbers and will be unique for a group of houses on a street. For example mine is KY1 1RZ, all you need to do is add the house number and in theory that is all that is needed for a letter to arrive at that address.

The People's Postcode Lottery is a lottery that I do each month. They pick postcodes instead of numbers etc. All of the profits go to charities which I like, and I occasionally do win something, usually my entry of ten pounds. Well last month I won two books!

Those books in the picture were the ones that I chose, and they arrived today, this morning in fact.

Have you seen the wonderful post from @Eylz2021 Lessons we learn from the plants

It is quite ironic really, as I was only telling Eylz this morning that I was waiting for a delivery and I had forgotten that the books were about plants and that her post was about plants. The universe works in mysterious was and bam I was getting a delivery that was two books and they were:

  • How not to kill your houseplant

  • My houseplant changed my life

The coincidences got deeper though! I picked up the first book and then the book fell open on this page ...

Venus Fly-Trap and how to look after them. It actually tells you a couple of don'ts that I have been guilty of in the past.

I have had Venus Fly-Traps before, but not for quite a while. @Pichi28 and I had been talking about Venus Fly-Traps and saying we should grow one again. So there you go wee pp, the challenge is definitely back on!

So for Venus Fly-Traps :

  • Only use pure water as tap water has salts and minerals that can build up and kill the plant. Ouch so only use rainwater or distilled water.

  • Don't make the Venus Fly-Trap bite you by poking your finger it. The oils on your fingers will damage the leaves.

I never knew that, so wish us luck when we start our Venus Fly-Trap challenge.

Do you have a Venus Fly-Trap plant? If you do, let me know in the comments your tips for keeping it healthy!

So there we go, it was not Maths or even History today, but a wee bit of Botany. You never know what will be instore when you visit the mad Scotsman!

Sabrina the squirrel says grab your Rock!

Now I did mention at the beginning of this article that there was a freebie, well here it is!

As for the title a wee Freebie in the form of Rock, just click here

Don't forget your pens and fingers ready, the #ChristmasChallenge2021 is just days away, I am thinking of prizes and format and I have got one condition that needs to be met in your entry which will spice it up a bit and get some of you doing something.

Anyways thank you for reading, and a big thank you to all my wonderful sponsors and an even bigger thank you for reading and subscribing, that means a lot to me.

CopyrightΒ @TengoLoTodoΒ 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman!

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

34
$ 10.27
$ 8.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
+ 30
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

I am back reading . Gosh!!! Hahaha... I have thought of poking the traps with my finger before but i think i got scared. I did not know about the oils on my finger can destroy or damage the traps though

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Have you a trap na wee pp? I am going to wait until after winter here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are really serious po having Venus fly traps? I am kinda afraid of it lol..And thank you for the airdrop! Does it need a gas fee :(

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe oo a Venus fly trap, but only a wee one ;) The gas fee, hmm let me find out the story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have not seen those plants at this latitude, thanks for the rocks I was not expecting that gift. For the plants, I have some experience in cultivation, looking forward to that Christmas challenge.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I thought you have experience in cultivation, you are a man of many talents 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Almost all my life has been studying, I am an engineer in animal production, with a master's degree in environmental management, as well as agroecologist. I worked in the pharmaceutical industry for several years. I have done everything from sweets to carpentry. Now I try to live off the internet, my income went to the floor because of bad government policies, I just resigned from the head of the institution where I work, only $ 1.5 / month for being chief, my transportation costs were higher than that, my salary is about $ 15 / month. My daughter just reached $50 in her first month here at read.cash.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahahaha and then i bought a new plant lol and i want a venus fly trap too ... oopps i forgot to say thank you for the mention

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The jade did look gorgeous I must admit 😁 Yes I want it too, but think yours will do better than mine with the weather and food 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha so i have to food that venus flytrap outside near the trash hahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha maybe lots of food for it there 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i have to get one first hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you and me both

$ 0.00
2 years ago

go order yours na :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo oo I will look today oo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahaha lots of OO :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You chose interesting books, I am glad that you got them. We use zip codes.😊 I am ready for your Christmas challenge.😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes they were fun books to get, and I actually would have bought them, so that was good. I am glad you are ready 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas is a way to welcome the arrival of the savior of mankind, may we welcome Christmas there will always be peace and full of love. Thank you for reminding. God bless πŸ™

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes we need love and peace at Christmas, and all at other times too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope I can join in Christmas challenge , I love also chicken ,hello cute Sabrina she like in a sun

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe Sabrina is cute, and does love to sunbathe! I hope you join the Christmas Challenge too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will try to join

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello there, Sabrina. I guess I will miss another free again as I don't have metamask wallet 🀧

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oh you should get a Metamask wallet, get some of these giveaway wins in Twitter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

huhu I wanna have that Venus Fly-Trap plant, but I don't know where to buy it, and I bet it won't last long in here. I remember that was the kind of plant that ate Sid and Manny on Ice Age movie haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think they are so cool, and I might get one soon. Oh I like that Ice Age movie, I remember that now :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love that chicken dinner when I'm still playing PUBG πŸ˜‚ anyway that was interesting books

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oh you played PUBG :) Yes they look good books.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I need that book since I always destroy my master dear's plants every time I take care of them, lol. I always end up being scolded. She loves her plants a lot more than me 🀣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha you made me laugh my wee BC. I read that as you destroyed MY plants 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

books are assets :) glad you got a couple of them and say hi to that cute squirrel next time you see it, looks adorable

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am with you on books are an asset, yes yes and yes. Hopefully will see the squirrel in the next couple of days

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I find it cute and amazing Uncle Ed whenever you incorporate filipino expressions in your article. Char! Hahaha. Come to the Philippines.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

aww salamat, I do try and make people smile a wee bit charr and oo I need to come there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dami books:) waiting for the christmas challenge

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oh it will be soon, very soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gratz for your new books. Your Christmas Challenge is quite exciting.. I dont have any idea about your freebie ROCK. Maybe ill pass for nowπŸ˜‰.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

thank you the books are cool. Yes the challenge is coming soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not a fan of planting but I love watching plants Uncle

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love plants too and watching them and of course talking to them Kim

$ 0.00
2 years ago

already knows that from your articles Uncle

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe I know, you are clever and have a good memory Kim😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha I always remember things out of the blue Uncle hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naks! Its good to know that you like books bro. As for me, I am not into reading books actually, but at some time, I find books interesting too, especially when its all about technologies. I really don't know why, but maybe I just find it interesting.. HAHAHA.. anyways.. I think I should start reading books about plants like the ones you have featured tho. Hmm.. And about that Christmas Writing Thing, hmm.. EXCITED NA AKO..hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe at least you find some books exciting. I love books magazines, anything printed I will read! Yes the Christmas Challenge is coming very soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I just made a post regarding plants and now I read this in your post. Hahaha And the other thing is that I also want to make a Christmas writing suggestion for December as the month begins. We have things in common. Hahahahaha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We do have things in common, maybe we can combine writing suggestion/challenge?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I would like to do something new. I think it would be great to try and plan a Christmas writing challenge. I would give half of what my publication receives as a prize to 2 winners.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ok well we shall think :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh wow you have a great book. I really love books to

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks I love books too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Still have a smile on my face. The way squirrel grabs the rock...πŸ˜‹

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They are great they way they hold on to surfaces

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the books that had been delivered to you especially the "My houseplant changed my life". I am curious as to what is written inside.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I shall tell you when I read it 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love and appreciate it, thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure, it gives me added incentive to read it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll check that link later. Thanks

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My pleasure Jane

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How not to kill your house plant! Perfect for people like me who are clumsy with that kind of stuff πŸ˜†

I wouldn't have a Venus Fly Trap, it looks awesome and practical but, it kind of scares me a little haha am I too silly? Maybe πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Anyway, good luck with your's if you get one!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe I think it is a good book for many of us

No you are not silly, they have big versions in movies that are scary so I understand you. Thank you I am looking for one now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats on your win, Ed. Books are awesome! In Malaysia, we use postcode as well, since we use British English, but letters can't arrive if we just used the postcode plus house number. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks Em, ah so you do use a proper code. Well that is the theory a postcode plus a number, but I would not try it 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking forward to the Christmas Challenge 2021! We also use zip codes in the Philippines but the zip code here is only 4 numbers, like 4116 for example.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

aha an I am looking forward to your entry! Okay so probably the zip code does not really do much good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Postal codes are not that use in my home country due to hundreds of houses that had no addresses. Postal code will only use by City like on my city we have Postal code of 1630, depends on what city you are. I saw lots of movies about Venus fly trap and some owners said that they can really grow as human size specially those in wild forest, I can't imagine myself that I was swallow by Venus fly to once I point my finger on it.πŸ˜†

$ 0.03
2 years ago

ah yes it is not much use if there no addresses for houses. Yes I see movies too of massive human size Venus Fly-Traps in the jungle, and eating people, getting pulled in you touch it lol so stay away from them πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my country postal codes are as difficult for mail workers, because it is not as organized as in yours. Here they are only grouped by areas or cities so it makes their use difficult and sometimes it is a real disaster for the poor workers, it also influences that the postal service is not very good. I liked the carnivorous plants, if you are going to grow them I hope I can see their evolution closely, that you tell us how the whole process has been.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes it sounds like Spain, a postal code covers a whole town and so it is pointless, mail there was pretty poor as well, it didn't help the postal workers either. Yes I will document the evolution of the plant, I need to look for one now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm from the same country as the lady in the comment below hahaha tell Coqui this "905 in tha house" and you will see her laugh like never before, well being honest you can imagine her. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe yes I see you two laughing at "905 in tha house", and I am hmm what is that about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a contradictory and funny story as a result of the username of Coqui. LOL. I hope she tells you better hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hmm @CoquiCoin are you going to tell me ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, Ed, no mystery, I think you have already heard the story. I mentioned it a long time ago in an article. The leader of a gang in Caracas, people used to name him el Coqui but his name is Koki. The gang controls an area called 905 because it's around a large avenue in the city called Cota 905. That's why Kike has taken to calling me that, and I just laugh that he finds it so funny πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've never had a venus flytrap but I hope you tell us about your adventures if you decide to grow yours, hehe. However, I like the book How not to kill your houseplant. You can send it to me for my birthday since It's seen I won't be receiving Archie's first draft.πŸ˜‚

And I have my pen ready, I just hope you don't ask us to put a personal photo doing something silly.πŸ˜‰

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh I am going to do it, I had joked with Pichi before about it, now seeing the book fall open like that, the Universe has decided to intervene! Oh the first draft hmm no comment Eli πŸ˜‚ I had thought about a personal photo doing something silly, but no, have no fear it won;t be that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok, no personal photo doing something silly, I wonder what else could be, hehe. And no comment hmm I'd have to ask you for a silly picture for every day late on the draft. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That book that you have got "How not to kill your houseplant" would be an excellent book for me because I have one plant that I love very much "Chinese money plant" but now it is in very bad condition and I don't know what I did wrong. 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh no, I hope it can recover! Have you googled what to do to help it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think a venus fly trap would survive the curiosity of our little trolls here. Hehe. But it seems an interesting plant to take care of.

Yup and I did not jump to the end for the freebie. Hehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh yes your little trolls 🀣🀣🀣 Curious little fingers would have fun playing I think. hehe I know you read John, so I appreciate that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago