Airdrop post - Belfast bound a wee trip down memory lane

45 96
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

23 October 2021 2223

Hello all you awesome readers, how has the weekend been treating you? Mine has been all good so far, and I have even been doing some writing.

Today we are going on a ferry to visit Belfast the capital city of Northern Ireland.

This article is for an entry to the NomadCoin contest which you can read about it here .

I might be too late for the competition, but no matter by reading this, you might now know of Nomad if you had not heard of it before.

I am a bit of a Nomad myself so this NomadCoin seems like a calling for me. I have worked in a vast amount of countries and even lived in all four of the countries that comprise my home nation the United Kingdom.

I grew up in Belfast but we had to leave due to The Troubles whilst I was still a wee bairn.

To get back to Belfast was easy and was via a short ferry crossing from the South West of Scotland. I prefer to take the trains or ships now as opposed to flying, better for the environment and much better scenery for starters.

Belfast - home to The Titanic

I am sure that most of you have heard of the tragic Titanic ship and the conspiracies surrounding it. It was built in Belfast and the picture below shows the Titanic Exhibition ship which is built to symbolize the bows of a ship. YOu can also two huge yellow cranes from the shipbuilders Harland and Wolfe, you can see the H & W on the cranes which are affectionately known as Hello and Welcome to Belfast. By the way they are massive in size

The two big yellow Hello and Welcome cranes on either side of the Titanic Exhibition.

The top floor of the Exhibition is laid out exactly like the Ship with the grand staircase and on each Sunday you can have High Tea just like in the Titanic dining room.

High Tea on the Titanic

It was pricey but delicious I have to admit.

The river Lagan runs through Belfast and to celebrate the clean-up of the river and the return of salmon and seals to the river they created some sculptures including what they call The Big Fish.

The Big Fish beside the River Lagan in Belfast

They have river trips and you can hop on and go see the river life there is a thriving colony of seals and of course cruise past the colossal cruise ships that visit.

These seals are about ten minutes boat ride from the city centre

Murals can be seen all over Belfast and the majority depict scenes from The Troubles. The Troubles were a horrible and sad time (the reason I came home from school one day and bundled into the family car and got the ferry to Scotland) and I won't dwell on this but will post my signing on one of the peace walls that still separate East and West Belfast.

My note on the seventh of June 2018 on the main peace wall

Do you know the author C S Lewis?

I am sure that you have heard of the Chronicles of Narnia, well C S Lewis was the author and was born in Belfast on the 22nd of Novemeber 1898. They have things dedicvated to him and his works all over Belfast and this was from CS Lewis square and one of my favourite statues, can you name them? Drop your guess below ...

Guess who?

The weather on that trip to Belfast was glorious and perhaps I shall write another article or two as looking through my pictures I have realised that there is so much more to show and write about.

But for now, and to show the delights of Belfast food I am signing off with a Belfast burger and a bucket of chips. Can you guess what was in it, absolutely delicious it was, and I swear I needed four days non stop walking to burn off all the calories😊

So big you can't put the Belfast Burger in your mouth 🤣🤣🤣

There we have it, this has been a wonderful trip down preCovid memory Lane for NomadCoin.

My smartBCH address is 0x652c950C2D78E1b1fdE434cF594277e78Be8d132

I hope you enjoyed this wee article of mine, and thank you so much for reading.

A big thank you to the wonderful @Pichi28 and @Bloghound for renewing their sponsorships of me and also may I say a massive thank you to @Abubakar9667 for being a new sponsor of me. You all make me fair chuffed!

Copyright @TengoLoTodo 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved.

All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman!

The lead image is from an exhibition on People outside the Belfast Town Hall

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

26
$ 13.95
$ 13.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.07 from @King_Gozie
+ 12
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Hahaha. Belfast is good sha. But be honest, i can't visit it because of pictures or Beautiful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, thanks for the post. Belfast looks amazing. And too be honest I would visit it just for the picture of that double decker burger. I'll give you 20,000 NomadCoin for this amazing post and 10,000 more for that burger. So (20,000 + 10,000) 30,000 NomadCoin sent your way. Congratulations

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. hehe the burger is actually legendary. I really appreciate the NomadCoins and look forward to seeing how NomadCoin progresses. I shall post to the Noise.cash NomanCoin community after I have my dinner.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awesome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow Belfast is beautiful and I love that burger, it made me hungry!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Belfast is a brilliant city to visit and is beautiful, hehe the Belfast Burger has been the star of the article I think!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That sculpture of mr and mrs beaver is so cool. And the burger, my gosh! A big mouth is a must to eat it 🤣🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe It was too big to eat like a normal burger, even after i took out the onion and one burger was still massive;) Yes Mr and Mrs Beaver were my favourite statues that I saw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It a place where every one would want to go to

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes it is a special place and in my heart

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhu I like the sculpture of the Salmon on River Lagan. Instagrammable. 😍 And the burget and chips? Mouth watering! Wanna visit there. Haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe the sculpture is cool, maybe I will put on Instagram, salamat for that wee singer 😁 ah yes the burger and chips it was lami and as good as it looked! I want to see you visit there too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes uncle. Will be there if I got enough BCH hahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe just a matter of time wee singer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Imma be researching on belfast..

The Beavers! oh oh oh they have a CS Lewis Square!! I would want to go see!!! I SHOULD GO!

Always a pleasure uncle Ed!!

$ 0.04
2 years ago

hehe oo He and She Beaver! They have a great CS Lewis square and they do have statues throughour Belfast, you will be popping along and then see a warddrobe! You really should Go Go wee pp you would love it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Belfast seem like a really nice place ☺️ I would add it to my travel bucket list

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is a wonderful place and you really should add it to your travel bucket list:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Done ✔️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome, let's hope you start visiting places in your Bucket Travel List

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I will when I have saved up enough right now I am focusing of getting my degree

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, get your studies sorted first!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

💯 that is the goal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is a nice place there sit. Wishing one day to travel and see beautiful places in the world. By the way is it Reepicheep. Thank you for the virtual tour and the food looks delicious.Wish you enjoy your trip to Belfast. Happy weekend

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah that was a good guess Reepicheep the mouse, but it is Mr and Mrs Beaver. The food was delicious. It is fun to travel and explore other places, let's hope we can travel somewhere soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks like the Spice Girls has aged in that wall picture

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe yes was women wearing the Union flag dresses made popular by the Spice Girls!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smile it's really a nice cool city

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes a great city with lots to do, see and eat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

those pastries look so delicious..... and that is mr. and mrs. beaver right?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They really were delicious, and you are correct Mr and Mrs Beaver is who they are :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is a nice place there sit. Wishing one day to travel and see beautiful places in the world. By the way is it Reepicheep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The story of the Titanic is a beautiful one, I have always wanted to go there and I believe that all my saving up for it doesn't fail....

Belfast must really be a nice City

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is a lovely city

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a cool virtual trip for us Tito Ed! And why do you have to put the food in the last part? lol! I guess you love the part where you saw Mr. & Mrs. Beaver. Wait, were they dancing?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yea I saw all the Narnia animals and they were dancing yes! Hehe well that burger was amazin lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still wonder how would one eat that burger lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe with a knife, but was messy lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It must be, it's too big! But if it was me, I'd probably eat them piece by piece lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take my money, I want to visit there. Aww... man. That's really cool.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is a beautiful city and many tourists to the UK ignore it which is a shame

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a lovely trip, I really had this one with you... so many cool places in Belfast. I never knew of this entry before now, this is a wonderful one. You will ace it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yeah, it is a cool city, great places, and great people. Yes, it was announced quite some time ago, but better late than never.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mr. Beaver aka He Beaver and Mrs. Beaver aka She Beaver

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe you got it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago