The Depressing Reality of Being a Breadwinner

16 188
Avatar for TeacherLynlyn
1 year ago

Being the family's primary provider, one thing that brings me joy is meeting all of our needs.

Yet I will admit that there have been days when I've felt poor and alone. I don't always have money, and I don't always have enough.

So now comes the most depressing aspect of being the main provider.

The blame is always yours.

One thing that really tears my heart is how they always make me feel guilty about the things we lack, especially when it comes to money. It seems entirely my fault that they are struggling and are unable to purchase the goods they require and desire. There are times when I feel as though they are ignoring me. The responsibility is always mine, and it stings to feel like they only recognize you when you give them everything, but if you have nothing, they will never realize how valuable you are.

No Time to Rest

Due to the fact that I am constantly being blamed, it feels like I have no right to rest, regardless of how ill or fatigued I am. This sense of inadequacy is incredibly distressing. Even if I'd like to sleep and rest for as long as I'd like, I'm unable to. I currently have a fever, but I have bills that are due soon, so I have to work. In addition, my parents' medication needs to be maintained, so I have to work and hustle hard right now and sleep late.

No Time for Emotional Breakdown

In addition to not having time to rest, I also don't have time to be depressed or cry because doing so will cause me to lose my composure and my perspective. Hence, I must move past all of my heavy emotions and keep moving forward, even when it is difficult. I must continue working all day, even though I am in distress.

And I felt bad for myself every time someone asked me, "When will you choose yourself?”

Every time someone asks me this question, I cry silently and it breaks my heart because I see other people my age already having their own families. They were enjoying their 20s to the fullest and were at their happiest.

So now I am asking myself, is being a breadwinner a good thing? Alternatively, it may simply make you feel burdened by everyone else's obligations and responsibilities for all of their shortcomings.

I apologize for my rants because today I was feeling down. Of course, these kinds of days will pass, and I'm still holding out hope for brighter times ahead. I know that my recent emotional outbursts are simply a result of my feeling unwanted and appreciated.


I apologize for my ranting, but today I was feeling down. Of course, these kinds of days will pass, but I'm still holding out hope for brighter times ahead. I know that my recent emotional outbursts are simply a result of my feeling wan and appreciated.

But, I  know that eventually, their happiness will still be my happiness. They are still the reason for my motivation to work and the part of my life I cannot turn my back away from.

Just that I wish God would bless me more so that I might bless others too. I'd like to have more so I can do and help more.


Here is a photo of me smiling despite my suffering and battling on.

 Good evening everyone! It’s been days since I posted here, how’s everyone?


 

9
$ 2.06
$ 2.00 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
$ 0.01 from @BTSlove
Avatar for TeacherLynlyn
1 year ago

Comments

Alagaan ang sarili Lyn ha, baka maubos ka nyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God help you in these difficult living conditions

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😘😘😘😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To be a breadwinner is not so easy. It is a choice but as you see your family, your willingness to help them is always there.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's not easy, and it's very tiring but yes, at the end of the day I will always choose to hep them no matter what :) Thank you for dropping by :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not easy friend I completely feel your pain. I could go on and on with other accounts to add. Yes being stuck to only provide and not have time to attend to ourselves is really draining. Hold on friend brighter days are to come, you will be completely rewarded because God blesses those who spreads his blessings. Big hug to you friend 🤗 🙏

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Big thanks to you my friend! :) For always being there and I'm so grateful to you as always. It is very hard, but I promise that I will never stop helping no matter what :) Again, thank you so much and God bless you! Take care always friend, especially at work. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your always welcome my friend. Helping others we are much the same :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe talaga ang pressure pag ikaw ang breadwinner sis. Parang dala mo lagi ang bigat na problema.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes sis, parang bawal mapagod. Lahat ikaw ang sumasalo ng problema.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo sis. Sobrang hirap pag ganun sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi ma,am... Ikaw lang ba ang adult sa household nyo? Anong age na yong mga dependents mo except sa parents. I hope that if you have adult siblings, pwede ka mangasaba nila. Pagalitan mo. hehe!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hello! Aside from my parents, I have my older sisters and a brother, but they left all the burdens with me because they married at a young age, so I was left alone here, and I also have my youngest sister, who is currently studying in college. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

so, pati mga anak ng mga older siblings mo, sayo rin naka asa? I hope not. If parents mo and youngest sister mo lang, I just hope kakayanin mo. Yon nga lang, wala talaga time sa sarili. Minsan love life wala pa. I hope maka open up ka sa imo parents about what you feel. I hope that they will listen to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really appreciate you for living so tough life with smiley face. May Allah give you power ameen.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much, I really appreciate that :) thank you for dropping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago