I'm struggling with Consistency!

14 55
Avatar for TeacherLynlyn
1 year ago

"I'm doing everything I can, but why am I having trouble maintaining consistency?" "Does this describe you?

You get that momentum going, giving it your all, hustling left and right, and then BOOM - your effort and motivation expire as quickly as the food you promised yourself you'd eat but ended up throwing out.


Leaving you frustrated and wondering, "Why am I not consistent?" about something so basic and insignificant.

WHY IS CONSISTENCY SO DIFFICULT?

The brain has a complicated relationship with consistency.

Consistency entails repetition and the idea of repeating the same activity repeatedly in your mind. And because character entails feeling like a broken record, you end up being dissuaded from it altogether.

Here's the thing: when we set goals, we often focus too much on motivation. When motivated, we naturally develop a full-fledged plan for achieving our goals, which are usually extreme. So, for a few days or even weeks, we can maintain our motivation and stick to the rigorous plan we devised. But then we lose motivation, life interferes, and we're disappointed that we didn't stick to the ridiculously intense plan we created when we were motivated.


I was curious to learn how others can hold themselves accountable to a daily, weekly, or monthly project or set a schedule of tasks and work tirelessly to complete them as someone who struggles with consistency and sticking to new habits.

I discovered over the last few days, while struggling with my mind due to inconsistency, that:

I'm focused on the result.

I have ambitions and dreams that I want to realize! However, I became more focused on the outcome rather than the growth. Instead of reminding myself of the small victories I achieve daily, I tell myself that I am still a long way from reaching my goals. In reality, I'm much closer now than I was before I got started.

So I'm reminding myself of my WHYs right now.

Everything I do in life has a purpose. My motivation must be strong for me to stick to my goals. My why must be so personal and meaningful that I am motivated to continue. I need to push myself to think about why I like consistency. I must be specific and in-depth.


Previously, missing a day of writing could demotivate me to the point of not writing for 3 or 4 days. Ignoring even more days, I punished myself for missing the first day. It didn't make any sense.

I miss days in writing, which is why I used to beat myself up about it.

But now I say, "Ok, you've missed a writing day. Start writing again tomorrow." If I have ten minutes to spare, I open my laptop and begin writing.


Good morning everyone! It's a long weekend :) I hope you enjoyed the rest of the days, reflected on this holy week, and remembered how God saved us from our sins.

God bless everyone!

8
$ 0.58
$ 0.50 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
$ 0.02 from @Sydney2
+ 1
Avatar for TeacherLynlyn
1 year ago

Comments

I think everyone is struggling with this one thing.even I am also forcing myself to write.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jusme ang hirap when it comes to consistency

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True sis. 😔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can do it teacher lyn. Parang ako lang, I tend to be demotivated every time na nakikita yung mga plans ko di nagsu-succeed pero laban parin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes Sydney 🥰♥️ Thank you so much! Laban lang tayo, pahinga lamg pero wag tayong susuko. There are times talaga na sobrang nakaka demotivate kapag di tayo nagsuuscceed sa mga bagay na gusto natin gawin, but everyday is a chance to succeed. Kaya tuloy tuloy lang 🥰♥️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We simply can't be down on ourselves with a few occurrences. Better to get it done when we can fully commit to something or at least start fresh with something and have a good pause point. Enjoy the holy weekend end. Our Lord has sacrificed for us let's renew ourselves in ways to show our appreciation. Take care friend :)

$ 0.05
1 year ago

You're friend. Everyday is a chance for us to get better, and we really need a pause somehow because of uncertainties. But what's important thing for us, is that we never stop and we never lose hope no matter what. Rest and begin again! ♥️ Take care too my friend, God bless.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May mga araw talaga na demotivated tayo sis nuh tas pinipilit natin na maging motivated tayo at iniisip yung mga goals natin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes sis, dahil sa mga goals natin, namomitjvate tayo.. Pero there are times po talaga na sobrang demotivated tayo because of certain things na nangyayari sa life natin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't be consistent for now. Yesterday I failed to publish an article and today I will fail again. I can't focus on writings and can't arrange my ideas. Maybe because it's Holy Week and my mind wants to take some break for now. I don't want to stress my self for now I will let my mind to relax and enjoy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It will depends on you 🤗I do also have time that I cannot write even if I force myself to do so. We also need to have time to rest and unwind. 🥰 May you have a great rest for this holy week. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm with you on this Lyn. Nagu-guilty nga ako whenever there's a task I failed to accomplish. I struggle with consistency too pero we shouldn't be too hard on ourselves rin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes po Ate. Actually po, nagkakaron ako ng anxiety dahil sa ganyan. I am crying too hard kapag nagiging unproductive ako 😔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too. Sometimes i'm losing consistency here on Read Cash pero I have priorities in real life. so I can't stay long on my laptop. hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehehe, of course because of personal matters, there are times that we have to prioritize outside this platform. 🤗 Thank you for reading.

$ 0.00
1 year ago