Let Them Know

22 32
Avatar for Talon
Written by
1 year ago

When I read articles on this platform, I can help to wonder what drives people I write and to do it the way they do. Forget the earning part, what makes you choose the topics you choose? That's the question. Yes, some of us write because we have to write to earn, yes I do that some days too, and there is nothing wrong with that. Yet, there are some writers whose writings always seem to have a lesson to learn and things like that. I admire them and would love to be like them, but I can say I'm not exactly growing and developing as fast as I would have hoped. Anyways, moving on to today's topic.

Have you ever heard someone sing the praise of another, only to add at the end 'don't tell him I said that?' Of course, you have. I'm guilty of it too. It doesn't matter what you do, I'll hardly ever praise you in your presence.

Earlier today, I was talking to a friend about what to write. She was mentally tired and wasn't in the headspace to write. I gave her a topic and she said she couldn't write that cos it requires research. I told her it doesn't, but she said 'this is an article that should cause a change in the way people think of this subject matter, if I write it shallow, it won't achieve that.' I don't know which one got me more, the fact that I was so proud of her or that I was so ashamed of myself for being willing to strip that very critical topic of its essence, just to meet a writing goal. I did tell her how impressed and proud I was, and she was happy, it meant something to her that she's made someone proud. I later thought 'why would you tell her that??

It was then I realized that over the years, she has done so many things that I'm so proud of, lovely things, wonderful stuff, things that would make anyone stand at the top of the Eiffel tower and shout ' that's my friend!'. But today was probably the second or third time I've admitted it to her. I ask myself now, why do I, like billions of people out there, deny other people their well-earned accolades? The answer that most people will give to a question like this is that 'they don't want the accolades to get to their head, hence making them complacent or cocky'.

Thinking about it now, I don't see any scenario where that excuse is good enough. It is a tad evil, to hold back that which belongs to another, that which they earned, and just like physical assets, accolades are earned and should be duly given.

For the sole reason that I commended my friend today, I doubt she'll be writing an inferior article anytime soon. Now she knows someone sees her work, the effort she puts into it, and that someone appreciates it. This will only make her want to do more and better, contrary to that excuse.

The truth is we are all out here living our lives, doing what we do, hoping we are doing right, and hoping our efforts are seen, acknowledged and appreciated. When you do give someone their due accolades, you make them feel fulfilled and energize them to continue. Accolades, if honestly and properly used, have the potential to spring the recipient to greatness. In a world where everything seems to be out to get one, it's evil to hold back something that can serve as a springboard to a person's life and aspirations.

Conclusion

I owe this friend of mine a lot of accolades, a lot of thank you, well done, good job, excellent work, you're incredible, wonderful stuff, I'm proud of you etc, and as from tomorrow, I'm going to make a conscious effort not to add to this debt, as well as to repay these that I owe.

Bottom line, if a person impresses you, tell them, if they annoy you, tell them, inspire you, tell them, thank them. Life is too short to be hoarding the good stuff, Life's too uncertain to be holding back stuff. Whether it's good or bad, let it out, either way, everyone will be better for it.

Thanks for reading my article. I hope it was worth your time. Do not forget to use the thumbs up button and upvote. I would also like your thoughts on this topic, lastly, use that subscribe button.

11
$ 1.97
$ 1.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Shohana
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
+ 8
Avatar for Talon
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

My dear friend, you raised a very good topic. I totally agree, we should appreciate and commend the smallest thing people do, and let them know how good they were, it not only encourages them to work harder and make them happy, it also makes us feel better.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah. It's a win-win situation

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right when you say life is too short. It would only bring regret when one dies and not say tg things that they wanted to say. Your friend is indeed wonderful, maybe you should make her more than a friend....heheπŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜‹

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Seriously? Of course, you'll say that, but I'm considering it though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You better be fast ooo...good things don't stay idle for so long...I'm just saying😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hear you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like to praise my friends right in their presence if they do something surprising snd special cos that way, I will encourage them to do more. It's always good we let them smell their roses while they are alive and not when they are dead.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. You get it. 'Let them smell their rose while they are alive, not when they are dead' lovely quote. If I were rusty, I'll tip this comment $5🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…you fit do am boss

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For here?? I not be Marc younger brother oo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I may not praise people in their presence but I surely have a way to do that maybe in writing.

$ 0.04
1 year ago

As long as they get to know.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree to this, now I want to tell a 100 things to my dad but unable to.. I wish I could have picked his calls.. omg I had no idea he will lose his life so soon :/

$ 0.02
1 year ago

So sorry for your loss. We do not know what tomorrow holds, that's why we should do what needs to be done, today.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What makes me chose the topic I write? I think my topics are based on what happened in the current event so that readers could relate and share their thoughts. Relevant and relatable blogs should be considered.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's a really good way to choose your topics

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Be appreciative in everything and its the best tbing that we can give credit with others

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's right friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, a lot of people have a lot to say about us but they are saving it for either when we are gone or when we made it, o

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly my point, and it's wrong

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true, let them know so they will know that someone is appreciating their efforts and they won't feel being neglected and avoided. Listening to a good compliment can bring positive impacts to us and made us more motivated and inspired as we know that we are doing well, someone is believing on us, we are doing a great job and we can still improve. By those words, we felt positive energy had flown to our minds and body and so we keep on wanting to do more. Anyway dear this a real motivating articles that somehow enlightened me to express and share my thoughts and feelings to someone. As you have said, if you appreciated a person, tell them and so I really do appreciate your work this is indeed worth for reading.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you @GarrethGrey07. I do appreciate your support here on read.cash. All through my multiple accounts that were spammed until this one, you were always one of my biggest supporters. Thanks a lot

$ 0.00
1 year ago