Thinking of Giving Up?

0 23
Avatar for Syra
Written by
1 year ago

THINKING OF GIVING UP? PLEASE READ THIS

The growth process can be difficult, and sometimes, giving up may seem like the easiest thing to do, right?

A few days ago, I signed up for a writing boot camp because I want to grow as a writer under the guidance of someone more experienced, and I want to begin to earn as a writer.

Last week Monday, the boot camp kicked off and we were given our first classwork which was to be submitted within 15 minutes.

We were told to generate a brand message using the formula we were taught.

Now, when this formula was shared, everyone was like, “Wow! This is easy.” At first, that was what I also believed, but after some minutes enacted and I couldn’t develop my brand message.

I felt very bad and angry with myself because this was quite easy for every other person. I couldn't figure out what value I would love to put out as a brand.

At some point, I saw the assignment and the training itself as too hard. Well, I wasn't acquainted with that sort of thing and I was scared that I would fumble greatly, but I persisted.

I prayed for God's insight and for Him to organise my thoughts, and I began to note down points until finally, I developed the lines that are my brand message.

Now, this is not a particularly extraordinary feat, but the thing is, I was reluctant to just give up.

Sometimes, you get discouraged. It could be because what is easy for others seems a bit difficult for you. This doesn't mean you're stupid or not smart enough to get the concept. And that doesn't mean you should give up because fear says the process is hard and you'll fail woefully.

Do you remember how in secondary school, most people including you maybe, would stick with only the winning house during inter-house sports?

Well, I did something similar back then. I abandoned my house because I felt our cultural act wasn't good enough. I was afraid of failure, so I ran.

Funny thing is, my house took second.

My housemaster was disappointed and unhappy with me for abandoning him when I was most needed. I felt terrible because I knew that if I had given it my all, maybe, just maybe, my house would have taken first.

Now, what if that fear turns out to be false and everything turns out right?

Our minds have a way of making us feel little when truly, we are bigger than we could ever conceive.

Nuseir Yassin, a well-known content creator, faced three major failures which birthed a new idea that has become the multi-billion dollar company, NasDaily.

This is proof that even during that downtime you may face, something really beautiful can spring forth. So never give up!

When things get too difficult, eat something nice, get a little rest, learn how to do it better, and try again.

HOW TO PROTECT YOUR MENTAL HEALTH

Our mind is the main container of our being and presence. Your mind is the central processing unit of your existence just like the CPU does to your computer.

If you can't joke with your computer's central processing unit, you should not joke with your life. But sadly a lot of people will rather protect their laptop's CPU than protect their mind.

Your mind is the soul of your life, when the mind is sick, that life is sick as well.

So how do I protect my mental health?

Let's continue with how to protect your mind;

1. Talk about your feelings and fears; Doing this helps to relieve the pressure in your mind that might progress to depressive thoughts and dispositions.

2. Take a break; excessive and chronic mental stress can affect your mental health. If your mind is bombarded consistently with negativity and put under pressure with wrong information, the mind can begin to malfunction which is evident in mental health issues.

3. Manage your ear-time; Your ear-time directly affects your life. You cannot be better than what you're constantly exposed to in words. What you hear about yourself forms a perception about yourself if there is no contrary opinion to counter that opinion. This is very common in verbal abuse cases where people are made to see themselves as worthless. Close your ears to words and news that won't promote your mental health and life.

4. Mind what you read; In this era of the information boom on social space, you have to be intentional about what you read on social media platforms. It can make or mar your mental health or mind. There is information you should not consume, remember people react to things differently and as well as differently. Select what you read on the media space, you must not read everything you come across.

5. Feed on materials and inspiration that will help maintain good mental health, first among such books is the Bible. The Bible remains the best tool for maintaining your sanity in an insane world. The Bible holds the solution to the problem in your mind. Get other good books and feed on them, and see yourself winning the fight against mental instability.

Talk to someone you trust and respect; The first person you should completely trust in God, talk to Him before any other person because He completely knows and understands what you're going through. If God cannot help you, there is little or nothing any man can do for you. Happenings around you can attest to this truth that God is supreme and indispensable. Also, talk to a person around you that you know can hold your hand out of what you're going through.

What you don't protect you can't safeguard. Protect your mind, every news is targeted at your mental health. Protect it.

I hope this makes sense to you.

5
$ 1.21
$ 1.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Roojoroojay
$ 0.02 from @Ellawrites
Sponsors of Syra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Syra
Written by
1 year ago

Comments