Prompt: Who would I change my life with if given a chance

0 17
Avatar for Sylvan
Written by
1 year ago

I chanced upon an article by @McYusuf which he got the idea of from Hive. You can see his article here:who-would-you-change-your-life-with. I mean it is a question that looks simple but attempting to answer it will give you a glimpse of how hard it is.

We all had that phase in our lives when we wished to be like other people or even live the life they live. Most times when life begin to show us pepper, we can't help but wish to have the life of others who are in better positions. I still wish to be like some persons in terms of positivity, that's why we have people as role models.

In answering the question, if I'm allowed to swap my life with another person, I would give a strong NO to that. People, I've learnt are best admired from a distance. Come too close to them and trust me, they begin to loose value. I rather appreciate them from a distance than be them. I've got lots of baggages on my own and I wouldn't want to deal or even live with another person's own.

When I think of swapping life with another person, I can't help but think to myself; what if this person is just fronting the best side of him? What if his personal life is filled with demons he can't deal with? What if he is evil but doesn't show that part of himself to you? I might even be better than that person without knowing so.

There is a saying that the devil I know is better than the angel I don't. So let me just stick to myself and take life as it comes my way. I might not be cut out for the life challenges faced by the person I might want to swap life with. If that persons life is full of sweetness, let him wallow in it. I'll gladly appreciate the one I have, whether sweet or bitter sweet.

Lead image from unsplash

3
$ 0.70
$ 0.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Tomi-Ajax
Avatar for Sylvan
Written by
1 year ago

Comments