She was my school mate

10 23
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

My lectures today lasted till 5:30 in the evening. There was still no break in between the lectures but the stress is nothing compared to the gain of the future. I had a successful quiz today as well. I'm proud of myself on that, I just hope that lecturer will also be proud of my answers. I didn't sleep a wink just to prepare for that quiz.

After I came back from class, I was tired and so decided to get some rest, my brain needed some cooling. It was this evening after I woke up and decided to check my social media that I saw the news of my friend's death. She was just about to clock 23 but the cold hands of death has no respect for birthdays or even age.

Gift was one of my best friends during our secondary school days. She was so vibrant and full of life. I remember we always joked about how many wrinkles would be on our faces when we eventually become grandmothers. It felt so sad to hear that Gift's journey on Earth has been cut so short.

I asked some friends the cause of her death and was told she just fell sick three days ago. It was just a mild illness but it ended up taking her dear life.

Death is truly a no respecter of person. It doesn't care about a person's personality or traits neither does it care about age. I've tried to ask the question, "God why?" but such things as death isn't to be questioned. It just pick its victims from wherever it chooses. All I can do is pray and hope that her soul reats in the perfect bossom of God.

I might choose to call life "unfair" for choosing to let go of Gift's soul, but life isn't meant to be fair. If it were fair, none would loose a thing and none would go unhappy.

Death is just an inevitable end to our journey on this stage called earth. Some people's journey stop before they are able to make anything out of it while some end after they must have achieved all that that have set out to achieve.

Man makes plans for tomorrow but how will those plans we fulfilled if life decided to let them go and death decides to take them in. No one is privileged, we are just lucky to still be here.

Rest on dear friend, Sylvania will forever miss you till meet to part no more

Lead image from unsplash.com

9
$ 0.11
$ 0.04 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.02 from @Bilqees
$ 0.02 from @flapiz
+ 3
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

Comments

Congrats 🎉🎊 on your quiz and I’m so so sorry 😢 about your friend. It’s my prayer that her soul Rest In Peace🙏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am so sorry for your loss. The only thing certain in life is that we all will die someday. So we must live well and fully. Cherish every moments!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry about your friend.. may her soul rest in peace 🕊️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am sorry to hear about your friend. May her soul rest in peace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen I pray

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May her soul rest in peace. I pray God comforts her loved ones and give them peace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I pray so too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry about the death of your friend, am happy that you won the quiz

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm also happy about my quiz. I guess I'll have to get used to not seeing my friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago