I Always Challenge Myself To Be Socially Active

23 64
Avatar for Sydney2
1 year ago

Being born an introvert, you always hate the spotlight around you. You easily get overwhelm by the things happening around you. You are afraid of what might be the impression of others about you. You always think about the consequences of your actions and most of all, you are losing a lot of opportunities in life.

I asked myself how did I become an introvert when I was born in a place full of extroverts. Since I was a kid I was already surrounded by many extrovert people. Shouldn't it be the personality that will influence who I am today? Why did it turned opposite?

I believe our personalities are innate. We possess the things that is already attached to our inner selves. Should I be discourage for being an introvert person? Perhaps I should feel down because the people doesn't like introverts because they're not fun to hang with and they are boring. They always prefer extrovert people because they are full of excitement.

I always challenge myself to become socially active. I am the one who start the conversation, I laugh and smile as if I am really a sociable being. I talk a lot until the topics never end. For me I am trying my hardest to fake myself around the people but this is the way for me to learn socializing. Just like the saying, fake it until you make it.

I am fighting myself from being socially anxious because I want to become an extrovert individual. It's not bad being an introvert but sometimes too much introversion can lead us to many wasted opportunities.

Here's what I do to slowly overcome myself from being an introvert:

Going outside as much as possible

There are times where I really have a huge fight over myself whether I should go outside. Since the pandemic began, I never really go out. I feel like I am used of being indoors for a long time. My social skills are a lot better before the pandemic but due to the new normal I have felt so muted. I am slowly trying to expose myself in the crowd so that I won't feel different when I am with different people. I can say this is working to me because I slowly gain a little confidence to go out and walk in the crowd compared before.

I interact to different people face to face

For me this is the best way to overcome introversion. We need to practice talking to people until the time we'll get use of it and it will be normal for us to talk to people without awkwardness. Usually before, I keep thinking that the people will only judge us everytime we speak but I realized it doesn't matter. People notice and forget things later on.

Surround myself with extrovert people

I have extrovert friends, cousins and many people who are really opposite to the introvert me. I think they can influence ourselves just like the saying that "you are what you surround yourself with." I want to have a glimpse of how it feels like to be living a life of an extrovert.

I sometimes feel that being an introvert is a cursed but I realize it's not. In fact being an introvert is such a beautiful thing. My mind is always active and I am good in creating decisions compared to people who easily rush without being rational. If I have to weigh things, my brain is winning over my physical body. My brain has a lot of things to share around the world but my body is not good in engaging physical situations. We shouldn't feel bad about being an introvert but we should learn to interact as life would be meaningless without it.

Where do you belong? Are you on the introvert side or are you on the extrovert side?

April 16, 2022

_____________________

Thank you for reading my article and don't forget to share your thoughts on the comment below!

20
$ 9.29
$ 8.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 13
Avatar for Sydney2
1 year ago

Comments

Introvert po ako since birth HAHA exaggerating nang sobra pero ang saya parang walang pandemic sa akin. Kasi always stay at home lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can categorize myself as ambivert. Just in between the extro and intro. Well, we certainly have different personalities and should learn how to embrace it. However, I am glad to know that you are trying your best to be socially active

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also want to become an extrovert Sequioa so that's why I'm working on my social skills because it's necessary in life. I should face my fear and have courage 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. Cheers to us introverts. I agree with you....we are experts in social distancing.One big plus for us when the pandemic started. 😁😁😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Introvert pala kayo? Mukha kasi kayong extrovert eh pero totoo laking ambag ng mga introverts sa pandemic di na pahirapan yung social distancing 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Talking to people depends on my mood but I am always quiet virtually. Talkative when I'm comfortable with the person. Being alone is hard af.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti ka pa talkative in real life, ako din naman minsan pero medyo di confident masyado makihalobilo. I guess you are extrovert?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like to do social activities also. We should do it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti ka pa Sis at naisipan mong ienhance ang pakikipag socialized, sa akin sobrang mahiyain haha although madami naman akong kaibigan at kakilala, sadyang mababa lang self-confidence ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kailangan talaga natin lumabas sa sariling comfort zone natin and I know my future self will be thankful din. Di ko inakala na mahiyain ka, mukha ka kasing extrovert.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am introvert too, i can hardly think a word to start a conversation so usually i just keep quiet. But when i will be surrounded will extrovert, i also learn to interact...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's nice to hear po. It's really a good thing to surround ourselves with extrovert because in that we gain interactions.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It’s good to know how to create very decisive decisions in moments rather than just concluding immediately after event. Congrats I make you 160.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

as humans we have the same degree but because human views often distinguish each person. A person's soul is formed since childhood because of the habits that have been applied since childhood that will always be his actions but can change it by changing the mindset to get along with people around each other, share stories in real life and show a high social spirit because this habit will elevate degrees. and self-confidence.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with that. I guess my mind develop in a different way as well as my attitude but overall I didn't regret being an introvert, I am just learning how to go out from my comfort zones and I know we all need to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

doing or being active in a social environment can give you space to learn to interact with other people the more you do it the greater your confidence as long as the activity is positive because to be honest I've felt it but because I often hang out then everything changes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much and that's exactly my goals is. To be more socially active in the environment and of course build confidence by interacting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being introvert is a blessing [at least that's how I think]. I am more of an introvert and my husband extrovert and maybe he influenced me a bit because I can now deal with having people around me at times. But I still get tired soon enough :) I still prefer my peace and quiet hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are so very lucky to marry a extrovert husband because I honestly can't imagine a two introvert couples. I also love how enthusiastic all your articles here. It feels like you are always living your life to the fullest!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Introvert dn ako. At pili lng kinakausap sa labas haha. Okay lng sa crowd. Pero hndi tlga ako masalita lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di ko inexpect na introvert ka pala Jane? Sa totoo lang gusto ko maging ambivert yung balance ang introvert at extrovert side. Medyo nakakapanghinayang kasi sa opportunities kapag introvert ka :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As a matter of fact, I can be am ambivert. I can be both wherein it depends on my mood what should I act. Of course being with many people I would be an extrobert because somehow I have a guts by talking with others strangers and if I want to be alone. I can go out with myself only and I do want to expose myself to the other people because I am contented already about myself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's nice Kleah. You know how to mingle with different people, I also want to learn that too as they said it's more fun to make friends in this world.

$ 0.00
1 year ago