How To Develop Your English Vocabulary

15 55
Avatar for Sydney2
1 year ago

English is one of the fundamental language that we should learn about. Being proficient in this language both written and verbal will give you a lot of opportunities and abilities. It is not difficult to learn because it is dominant and it is taught even in our primary school days. So, how proficient are you in using English vocabulary? Are you satisfied or is there still more you want to improve?

As an English-major student, I always give myself time to learn about the English vocabulary. It doesn't mean that I am studying in this field then I am not prone to different grammatical errors. In fact, I make a lot of errors everyday. I struggle with being concise, formal and consistent in my writing. I have a lot of things to learn and there's a lot of room for everyone to learn.

In this article, we will be talking about the ways on how we can strongly develop our English vocabulary. This is not about oral speaking. It is about knowing and learning a lot of words even we are very busy in life. It is not difficult to learn new words daily. If you can turn it into a habit, you will totally love the idea of strengthening your vocabulary. This will also become one of your biggest assets in being a freelancer blogger.

Read a lot of articles

You can not develop your vocabulary if you do not like to read. One of the most effective way to build our vocabulary skills is by reading. You should chose the best medium to read. You can read different online articles from credible writers and publishers where you will gain insights from their choice of words.

Listen to podcasts

One of the biggest solutions that everyone finds in building their vocabulary skills is by listening to English podcast. Not only you are developing your vocabulary skills, you are also enhancing your fluency skills by noting their pronunciation for each word. There are so many English podcast you can find online, chose the best that fits you and doesn't bore you.

Watch some public speaking videos

If you are tired reading, then it's time for you to switch to "watching." Studies found that watching videos enhance our vocabulary skills because for every video we watch, there is additional word to be discovered. Still, it depends on what you are watching. If you watch some public speaking videos and professional journalists' reporting online, you will discover that they have a lot of vocabularies.

Writing

It doesn't mean that when you are only learning vocabulary, you only have to read or watch any materials that would add you any knowledge. You also have to write the vocabulary you have learned so that you will remember them. Writing is one of the strongest way to be fluent and excellent in your English skills. The more vocabulary you learned, the more your writing will become organized.

Create a list

We don't only create list for the things we need to do. We can also create list for every new words we discover. This is one of the technique in widening your vocabulary. Reread the list you created until you will totally remember them when you write. This is the simplest and effective way to familiarize a lot of words.

Vocabulary is the foundation of the English language. The more you know about it, the more you can elaborate your writings. It widens our comprehension and we will never run out of words to use. It is simply endless when you have a great vocabulary skills, there's no limit as to how much words you can express and write. In development an English vocabulary, you don't have to be perfect. All you have to do is to learn a lot of words as much as you can.

September 13, 2022

Like. Comment. Subscribe!

12
$ 3.78
$ 3.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 7
Avatar for Sydney2
1 year ago

Comments

Add new words daily. I started doing this my searching online word for the day and I would then use that word in my blogs but I kept forgetting doing it lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here. A while ago I found a new word and I told myself I will write it later but now I forgot the word. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To also add to the list which is important is to keep speaking and practicing your English. This can be done while interacting with someone daily or you can choose to record yourself while in your room to see how far you are doing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks Princess. Yes I am doing that. I am sometimes recording myself and I listen very well how I speak some words, this helps a little.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo yan Sydney through reading articles, mag i-improve yung English vocabulary kaya laking tulong talaga pag magbasa palagi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nagbabasa ako ng madaming articles dito sa readcash Ramona, pati grammars ko naaayos nang paunti unti.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo Sydney totoo yan kaya laking tulong ng pagbabasa Sydney.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Reading article from good writer indeed help you to add us in your words treasure. Listing the New discovered words can also be useful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks Zainab. Listing new words definitely help our vocabulary to widen. I hope this will encourage you more!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A very helpful tips in learning english✨

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you Kleah. I also do these things to broaden my vocabulary both writing and speaking communication.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Especially as students of English, we must be fluent in speaking and writing it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, that's the expectations of everyone. Are you also an English major?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed use the slight and hearing and touch hehe. Me too I know I have lot of error in Grammar and yeah I am still trying to do things to recover hehe. Wow English Teacher... The best writer soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks Eunoia. I am not excellence in English but just like what you said, I am also trying things to recover my mistakes and errors.

$ 0.00
1 year ago