Lost in Translation

20 61
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago

My brother had gone to Kerala for his studies and so I went to visit him. Now, if you Google, 'God's Own Country', Kerala comes up. The college and the hostel is built on a mountain and is surrounded by lush and green forest.

I lived in his hostel and knew none of his friends. So I befriended everyone from the working staff. The Security staff, staff help, hostel head, warden, professors, and professor's assistant too! People working at the mess- the head, cook, and basically everyone.

I am an introvert, but I am not shy. People often mix the two. I was a shy introvert earlier, but I came over the fear about talking to actual humans, I'm just an introvert now.

There was only one problem- Everyone spoke Malayalam, the regional language of Kerala.

They spoke broken English, and I learned few Malayalam words, it was really fun communicating with them. Lots of laughter and comedy of errors.

I'm a little late to the party, but finally, here's my submission for @JonicaBradley and @TengoLoTodo  's prompt #13, Language.

I can speak four languages at present-

English was my first language in school. All the subjects were taught in English. I speak English commonly with friends, and also when presented in formal conversations. 'Nincompoop' is my favorite English word, don't ask why.

Hindi is commonly spoken in the majority of India. I speak in Hindi at home and with close friends. My first words were in Hindi. 'Ji' is my favorite Hindi word. Adding the word 'Ji' at the end of a noun (mostly proper noun) adds respect. For example, 'Masterji', or 'Tailorji'.

I live in the state of Maharashtra, so Marathi was taught to us in school to promote the regional language of Maharashtra.

Sindhi, is my mother tongue, though I can't speak Sindhi fluently, I can understand most terms and can form basic sentences.

I read an article by @Eybyoung , She Speaks Three Languages, where she talks about her daughter being multilingual. I'm somewhat along similar lines.

I've been meaning to learn French for quite some time, and now that I have some extra time in my hands, why not? Though I can read and understand basic words, I can't, for the life of me speak any word other than, "Oui".

My progress report on Duolingo.com

My grandmother could speak 7 or 8 languages! I can only hope if it's in my blood to learn languages quickly.

So I planned on attending online interactive sessions, hoping it would help me with pronunciations (and confidence!). After my second session, I understood 2 things-

We do not agree on the meaning assigned to the word 'Beginner'. Some of them 'Beginners' spoke French so fluently, it made my head spin faster than a fidget spinner, thus making me forget all the words that I had previously learned.

Some of them mentioned I spoke English better than some of the native speakers. Of course, I speak decent English, I've been speaking English for almost 20 years!

But more on verbal communication later. Facial communication! That's my thing. I can almost speak entire sentences without using any words. Most of the time when I need to communicate with a certain person and not let the other people from our group know.

I have shitty cards!

You know this one. Either you're making them, or catch others making them.

What do you mean we're out of fries?

Are you seriously considering dating him? The ice cream machine at McDonald's is finally working? Did he buy you an actual star? And everything in between. But most importantly, when I see my grade sheet.

I know what you did and I'm going to secretly judge you for it!

I won't tell anyone, but you are a prime suspect, so you can stop lying to me.

I'm bored, let's leave right now!

Now that we've established that I have shitty cards, can we leave?

That's all folks, I hope it was fun.

A little something I wrote when I was attending a wedding, pre-pandemic, surrounded by a thousand relatives-

Do you tremble in fear? Does your leg shiver?

It happens to me quite frequently, I start breathing heavily.

Profoundly I sweat, almost like someone's given me a threat.

What am I doing, at a social gathering?

-Stea, 2018

Let's thank my sponsors for believing in me :)!

Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty

12
$ 7.61
$ 7.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 5
Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I hope I can learn other languages also.. as of now I am still studying korean and japanese

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow, those are interesting languages :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah, 4 languages! awesome. I mean how about me? 2 languages (English and tagalog) 1 dialect (my mother tongue). I like italian and french but I'm too lazy to start. lol (i prolong and procrastinate and I hate myself for that) Your grandma is sure a 'monster' with her 8 languages? Wow! send us some please hahaha kidding Btw, I haven't heard of you for some days good thing you are back!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehehe, I taught three languages to me compulsorily in school. Italian sounds so cool! Yes, I am back hehehe, already two articles in queue :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe I loved at nincompoop , I haven't heard that for years 🤣 I too love going to different places and conversing with the locals, and it is fantastic fun and challenging when neither of you speak the same languages! Awesome article merci, and I wish you luck and yes beginner has too many different levels.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehehe thanks :D I really hope to learn quickly :D

I think I tagged you again, because I didn't do it correctly the first time. Apologies for the unnecessary notification.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh no need to apologise to me! French is quite easy to learn and if you are wanting to learn, you will be fluent in no time :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gosh. Four languages? That's impressive. I can speak a good bit of Spanish, but I would not say I am fluent in the language because it is very difficult for me to understand it when it is spoken to me. I have a hard time with the verb conjugation.

As for Uno, I really don't like that game. lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Learning three languages is compulsory here hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I would imagine it is definitely more necessary there as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love UNO :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe, I don't understand the rules :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now this made me want to google Kerala haha. I'm curious what it looks like

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's very very green hehehe, you can search 'back waters of Kerala'.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, I've searched it already right after reading your article. And it is indeed so green, it looks like a paradise :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can also see back waters of Kerala :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope my daughter learns more languages as she grow up, good for you you've learned 4 of it. Keep it up.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thank you :)! I hope to learn more languages too :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to see a photo of the schools and the hostel and it's intriguing. I have to google Kerala later. And lucky you knew 4 languages and I only knew 2 and that's just English and Tagalog. You sound funny and playful I love it! Made me smile. Nice prompt!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehehe thank you :)!

'IIM Kozikode' is the name of the college. You can also search 'backwaters of Kerala'. It's a beautiful place to see :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago