Writing

30 53
Avatar for Silvia
Written by
4 years ago

This post is based on a particular comment that drew my attention.

So, you know how much of a writer I am and how I've written a few books that can be found online for now. Some of you have already read my books and left good reports.

This particular comment asked me why my character for Aiko: Rise of the goddess of war, wasn't black. And I cannot lie but I was pissed. Let me tell you why.

As a writer, it is very offensive to me when you tell me to stick to writing about my heritage or culture. It's just like telling me to only breathe the air that comes from my house and not the one that flows in another man's house. That I need to stop writing about other cultures that don't matter to me. That I don't know anything about any other country outside of my own. It's kind of annoying, to be honest. (When I hear these things from people).

My talent is writing and I've had this for years. My talent isn't a skill that I just picked up because it became a trend, just like I see so many people do these days. It's not a skill that I have to have a specific responsibility, it's a talent that lets me receive inspiration and ideas, more than those who suddenly picked up the skill.

I, Kaykay, love to write about every race, culture, tradition or country. I literally write stories that has white leads, black leads, Asian leads, etc. I do not in anyway, write only "african" characters because I am African and I should stick to it. That's bullshit to me.

This part of my life is my talent and each day of my life, more stories flows through my head. More ideas comes to me in different ways. I apologise but it's offensive to me if you tell me that I should not write about other races because you think I know nothing about them or it's not right. You're wrong.

I am well educated and learned on what to/not to write (especially being careful on racism). I have written books where my characters were white, blacks and Asian. In fact, my motto on my Wattpad account is; "your interracial plug."

Don't get me wrong, I have numerous books that I am yet to write, that tells a story about my culture/country.

I am only saying that, I can write whatever I want, for my audience. My dream is to go global and hit different target market with different stories. I have a lot of niches.

But the next person that tells me to stop writing about other races, will get a rude response from me. Especially when it's from people that know me or I am close to.

Sponsors of Silvia
empty
empty
empty

42
$ 0.00
Avatar for Silvia
Written by
4 years ago

Comments

Nice one here

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Writing is one of the skill that can catapult you from where you are to where you couldn't expect if you really know what you're doing, it's always good to be a prolific writer

$ 0.00
4 years ago

keep doing ur stuff jare

$ 0.00
User's avatar Ara
4 years ago

keep doing ur stuff jare

$ 0.00
User's avatar Ara
4 years ago

Believe in yourself mate, keep writing, and you'll see yourself in beautiful colors

$ 0.00
4 years ago

You can write anything you want, but don't act rude because you are annoyed at responses. Always try to keep a relationship even if it is a distant one, don't get promoted to get mad at anyone

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Don't be discouraged anyone and will make it

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Be good in every aspect of life

$ 0.00
4 years ago

its good to show how good you are to the world, and make use of it

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Nice one

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Don't be affected by anyone's discouragement

$ 0.00
4 years ago

talent isn't a skill that I just you picked up

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yes that right such person 🙏 needs to get a negative response from you

$ 0.00
4 years ago

True, as a writer, you should be versatile and not confirmed to a particular culture

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Let no one discourage you.. you know what you want, so go for it...

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Don't let anyone put you down bruh.... Write on

$ 0.00
4 years ago

It's a nice thing to be able to feed your audience with a powerful message. Keep up man

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Writing is an good aspect of English language we use it to express our feelings and emotion

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thanks for posting

$ 0.00
4 years ago