My adult acne experience(my Holy grail)

8 49
Avatar for Shyryl
Written by
2 years ago

Have you experienced someone was staring at you so intently? For example while commuting in a jeepney then after, their gaze and facial reactions showed disgust?

Or have you ever been receiving insults like someone is constantly making fun of your face?

Have you been hiding from the crowd or you have been concealing the unwanted guests in your face?

Are you desperate to go back to your old self, someone who has clear and soft skin without blemishes? Or will that wish be forever be hunting you, as you just stare at your old selfies on your phone?

Join me as I reminisce my journey of overcoming my adult acne.

What is adult acne?

I won't be defining it on my own just to look intelligent and all haha char. I will just let the experts explain it to you guysu. Below is my favorite youtube channel about skin problems and I learned a lot from them.

What causes adult acne?

How was my skin before having an adult acne

Growing up, I used to hear praises from people around me because of my hair and skin.

I am grateful to receive those while being confused actually. In fact I never took care of my skin the proper way. I just use a soap day and night in my face which is the same as my soap for the whole body. (Err I know, I never knew about skincare before.)

***I guess I'll be spoiling you with my pictures then, haha sorry in advance guys😃.***

So here, this is what it looks like from childhood to adolescence and some part of my adulthood. Haha

Peekaboo!

Ehem! Excuse my fishball and kikiam on sticks, I'm a foodie. Hehe

Maybe people around me just see my skin so unlikely as usual teenagers who are having a transitional hormonal changes in their bodies.

I never experience having a break out not even once in my adolescent period and some part of my adulthood.

How it started?

It started last 2016 when I was working in a batching plant of a construction company.

I just ignored it like mama will always say that we should never pick our acnes to avoid scarring.

For the hopes that it will eventually be gone, I continued with my usual soaping and pathing dry using my towel then that's it. That was what I usually did like "skincare" back then.

I believe it started with just the external factors like dust and cement exposure everyday from commuting and work space.

How bad my skin looked like after having adult acnes

After sharing that collage of pictures in my facebook account before with this caption below, many still laughed because they said I was desperate and trying to be a beauty blogger.

Actually this isn't the worst but I can't find those pictures anymore.

My acnes have gotten angry like it was super inflamed, painful, pus filled and irritated called cystic acnes.

Also my all time enemy is hyperpigmentation which made it looked like I have active pimples while in fact they already subsided-just left with marks and scars.

How long did I self- medicate it?

For about 3 years, I was searching for the right product for my face. I almost tried everything(almost because I didn't go to the dermatologist, I'm afraid they will just experiment on my skin and make it their source of living like stories from friends and vloggers). I bought drugstore skincares and topical acne gels. If you're here in the Philippines, you name it. I tried almost every local brands, watsons displayed, tv commercial products from other countries. They all didn't work and just wasted so much money.

I observed every single details on my face. I developed fine lines, acne bumps: whiteheads, blackheads, pustules; hyperpigmentation and scars even if I didn't squeeze it.

My skin is so sensitive that I can get hives even from baby powders. Some shampoos and toothpaste too are giving me acnes in the forehead and around my mouth.

I was so cautious with myself after having adult acnes.

Like why? What's up with the delay? I guess it's better in adolescence for skin to recover until adult stage. Char Haha

I knew that feeling when you just want to hide inside your room to avoid the judgemental world we have. The feeling when at your worst people secretly or vulgarly laughed about your situation.

Girl/Boy cheer up, there's hope!

What product/s actually helped me?

My holy grail

This one, after researching and finding what products would actually work with my skin type. I am super thankful with that youtube channel which I mentioned above. I almost give up but I knew I need to work with my insecurities. The product was made in Korea and I learned at that time that there was only one legit store here in the Philippines that sells that specific product that I need knowing that it was so gentle.

They have physical stores in SM north but that was far and with my busy schedule I opted to order them online instead. I was super glad they have a store in shopee and lazada.

  • It's P1250 for every 120ml of the product.

    I know it's pricey but its worth it. It lasted 3-4 month to me of every bottle. Upon using it for more than a year I can say it gives me more than the expected result that I want which is to exfoliate my skin in the most gentle way. It really helped me, after I bought that product I was so happy that I find it theraputic while enjoying the moment of soaking it to my skin. For the first time for so long I knew what is #Skincare hahaha.

Vibin' before sleepin' haha.

I used that super mild mandelic acid every night after I wash my face with soap, then after the mandelic acid, I put some moisturizer on. It's so gentle that I didn't develop rash or redness. It did work in exfoliating unwanted/unhealthy layers of the skin revealing the younger smoother skin. When I have active pimples I soak a cotton then leave it on my skin for 15minutes, it helps in drying out and soothing irritated pimples too. I don't need to buy topical gels because it helps already.


When I don't have a topic, it's time for me to read articles of other users here. Then when I paused from reading to cook for everyones food for lunch, this topic just came in mind out of nowhere.

I hope this article is helpful.

I still do have acnes from time to time because of monthly period, stress or face masks but now I knew how to handle them also to handle mean people. Lol

Always remember to say to yourself everyday "I am beautiful/handsome".

2
$ 3.55
$ 3.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
Sponsors of Shyryl
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shyryl
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Buti na lang at may nahanap ka na product na nagwork sa yo. Hingayan lang talaga siguro.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo tlga, kala ko hopeless case na pero nakahanap pa din ng hiyang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Karamihang reason ng acne sis is pcos, or mga oily food. Ako nagkakaacne ako kapag kumakain ako ng oily foods kaya masyado akong iwas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahy nice po na mindful po kayo sa food intake. Sa amin minsan lang naman po ng-oily foods pero kapag may fried nman di makontento sa isang dukot lng haha. Discipline talaga, pero ung akin po more on hormonal po sya kasi napakadami sa chin at lalo din sa kulang tulog

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pretty 😍 I like your first photo it's a cutie. Yong timr na parang di pa uso satin ang problema no UwU. Anyways good thing nakahanap ka ng solusyon sa acne problema na yaan. Nakakawala talaga sya ng confidence, ang dami kong kakilala na ganyan ee. And nakahanp din sila ng iba ibang product and in the end nakahanap sila ng hiyang sa kanila. Kuuu ito sana ang ayaw ko maranasan huehue sana naman si ko maranansan 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe thankie😍 sana nga po di mo maranasan talaga kasi ang hirap hindi lang confidence pati mental kung didibdibin(di ung literal😂) mo ang mga bullies. Aigoo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ang pretty😍 Ganyan din kapatid ko ang daming pimples pero ngayon wala na bioderm ointment lang gamit niya. Relate ako sa titigan ha ,ilang beses nangyari sa akin ya kasi na curios sigur sila kung babae or lalaki ako kasi sa shape ng katawan ko😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahy opo natry ko nga po un medyo malamig sa balat nkakakalma nga din po un pero binigay ko na kay kua hehe. Konte nlang n product gamit ko po pra hindi mairritate ulit

$ 0.00
2 years ago