Getting out of my Comfort Zone

3 12
Avatar for Shernafaith
2 years ago
Topics: Thoughts
“You never change your life until you step out of your comfort zone; 
change begins at the end of your comfort zone.”
― Roy T. Bennett

CHANGE, a five-letter word, but it would take a lot of courage and determination to make it.

A happy workplace is a workplace like you are not working at all. I worked in a certain Company for almost 10 years. We are all friends in my team, we started with the company, we grow with the company, and we see each other every day, we stay together in the office more than the times we spent with our families. We are like family; Everyone is familiar. Everything is under control. Office life has a low level of anxiety. So normal, So Steady.

The boss is manageable, repetitive works- like hello? I've been doing these for around a decade now. A few upgrades with the system, but we help each other with the changes. It's like a dream job.

But I realized Complacency is dangerous. Staying in one happy environment seems like I was Stagnant—isolated in a certain place where I forgot to look into the window and check the fast-changing world. I locked myself to the thought -

"toughy hard to find a place- a happy workplace."

Disregarding the just okay SALARY, the just-okay KNOWLEDGE, all are JUST OKAY!"

Because of the pandemic and because I was afraid to be infected AGAIN with the virus, I FINALLY decided to leave my team and say goodbye for good to that happy workplace I have. It's like breaking up with a long-term boyfriend. I get used to seeing them every day; I miss the bullying, miss the laughter, and miss sharing stories, eating with them in the pantry every day. Celebrating my birthdays with them for how many years and witnessing each other's milestones. I cried like a baby here.

Adjustments. Starting up and Stepping out from my comfort is just so hard as you can imagine.

How to find a new job? This is hard! - I can do my previous job "easily".

Stepping out of my comfort zone is the hardest, and I have already done one of the hardest things: resigning from work. I have to find the determination to step some more to see the beautiful opportunities waiting outside.

Because I was so comfortable with the job, I failed to check if I improved my skills. So, my first moved-I started to enroll in different courses to upskill. This world is indeed the survival of the fittest, so I need to equip myself with knowledge and skills to cope with this competitive world.

These start with my JOURNEY to FREELANCING. Brave Idea, right? Cause I need money to survive this pandemic. Afraid of so many things, but I need to keep going.

Challenges:

  • I am not a good English speaker in freelancing -clients are global.

  • My skills are not updated-technologies, apps, software. What's that?

  • How to start, doing things like 101. Basic. Back to BASIC.

  • Finding support Group.-Like my previous team, hopefully.

Try...Try...Try...

It would take a lot of courage to do the first try. Try and Failed and Try again.

I find the Solutions for the Challenges stated above. Everything was not easy, from studying, from learning to speak English, overcoming the Interview like my soul was escaping from my body. And throughout my journey, Prayer is my constant weapon. Every success begins with one tiny step. Keep going, keep trying. First times will always be the hardest, but no matter the outcome, remember there will always be second, third, fourth, and infinite tries. Just keep trying and don't give up.

Don't dwell in the Comfort Zone.. Step one, and two, and three.. and more--in there you will find the beautiful horizon full of opportunities. Just keep on believing. It all be Worth it.

3
$ 0.15
$ 0.10 from @bbghitte
$ 0.05 from @ZehraSky
Avatar for Shernafaith
2 years ago
Topics: Thoughts

Comments

Ay, I love it mars! I am so proud of you. We have become witness of each others ups and downs and I am happy that we've gone so far naman na. Nag-improve ta metten uray bassit-bassit..hehe. love you mars and I will always be here for you😊😊❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so sweet, mars, and thank you for always being there for me. My go-to person in times of need. I would love to share my Freelance Journey here, too, in my next article. Thank you for pushing me to be better and always believing in me. I love you always.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You are always welcome Mars! Keep inspiring us with your amazing journey❤️❤️❤️ turog tan la❤️😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago