Three reasons why you should be open for constructive criticisms

15 58
Avatar for Sequoia
1 year ago
Date: August 2, 2022
Author: Sequoia

I had my website blog post checked by my senior co-worker this morning, and a part of me wished that I should have just kept it quiet since my boss had already given a go signal and approval about that specific article to be published to the company's website tomorrow. By the way, I've drafted that article last week for just 4 hours and I am really satisfied with the outcome, even my boss commended me for the well-written article. Or maybe, it's just what we thought.

My senior co-worker serves as my mentor since he knows a lot of things more than I do. He's been in the company for 6 years already and I really trust his judgments and opinions with regard to content creation. Therefore, when he asked for a copy of the article, I sent it right away for him to evaluate and check if what I am doing is right.

At first, he asked me if the content was written by me, or from other sources. I got offended but flattered because I thought he was impressed. Well, it was really my content and so I confidently claimed it.

Well, he commented that it was good but later on provided the lapses of my article. I got puzzled because he clearly didn't read it since he failed to get my point and suggested things that aren't even related or connected with my article. I explained to him the content of the article and he went silent for a moment and then proceeded to give me negative feedback or better to say constructive criticisms.

I just listened to him since after all, his the expert one. Overall, I was able to understand him and even got some insights about the things that I should add to my article.

Now, what's the connection of this semi- rant article to my title above?

Well, constructive criticism plays a very crucial role in our growth in the chosen field we choose. If we don't open up ourselves with this, we will never taste success in the particular field we are in.

Sometimes, it may sound harsh and insulting but we can't do anything about that. People just have different ways of expressing their opinions. That is why, as much as possible, always be the bigger person and instead of their tone, focus on the point and meat of their criticism or advice.

Now, you are curious, what are the reasons why you should be open to criticism?

  1. It contributes to your growth

Constructive criticism make us to be aware about the wrongs, mistakes , and lapses in our work.

  1. Lessen your ego and keeps your humble

Constructive criticism for me isn't just about correcting or exposing my lapses and hiccups. It also made me stay on the ground and not be carried away by anything.

  1. It makes you better

Just because we feel like we've produced a quiality content, doens't mean that the otehr people would feel that too. remeber, we have blin dspot tht we can't see and hearing people's opinion will surely help us with that.

Overall, we should not feel bad if we are being corrected. Instead, we should celebrate and be grateful for we have gained something again.

18
$ 4.09
$ 3.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.04 from @Jane
+ 11
Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sequoia
1 year ago

Comments

being prone to criticisms will help you hone your skills and make it useful in the future...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Constructive criticism will help you grow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ano work mo sis? i hope that constructive criticisms are given in a loving way... also, if he/she gives feedback, sana naman binasa nya the whole article.. but maybe he felt triggered na super ganda ng article mo..hehe share mo dito! hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Without their feedback, you may walk right into problems you could have prepared for and prevented, While it's important that we shouldn't listen to everyone, we also do need to have a stable of critics you trust, just like you mentioned he was an expert that was why you listened to him. Without them, you may be running on optimism alone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree to this. Dapat tlga meron tayong mentor for growth eh kasi hnd naman competition tong buhay natin eh. Mostly ung iba minamasama kasi ayaw nila na may mas better sakanila. What a toxic trait. 💁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think the boss is somehow threatened by your ability. It he feels insecure. True successful people help others.

In another story, it's also awesome to accept constructive criticisms as they are avenue for our growth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok lang man yung ma criticized sis para din naman yan mag grow ka☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Constructive criticism it is indeed a way of our growth because we were able to look upon ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, in order to succeed we must be open to this kind of criticism

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know too na di naman masamang tumanggap ng no lalo if para sa growth mo um. Kaso ewan ko ba naiinis din ako ee hahaha. Pero mas naiinis ako sakin na immature ako sa part na un haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We cannot be a master of all in all areas. There are things we don't know everything about and giving room for constructive criticism is better as it would help us grow and learn more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's good after hearing him attentively, you gained some insights to make your article better. It's true criticism contribute in our growth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true langga. It makes you better. Listening those people who give you a feedback it will give you a realizations and a lessons to make yourself better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naalala ko nung chineck ng trainer ko article ko, criniticize nya rin pero oks lang masi may natutunan naman amo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for this reminder. Now I understand that not all forms of criticisms are negative. Like the constructive criticism as you've mentioned, it is something that inhibits our growth by being aware of our mistakes. Stay safe and see you around. It's nice meeting you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago