My Hammy gave birth

54 57
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago
Date: August 30,2021
Author: Sequoia

I've been reading articles today and still wondering if I should create an article. The fact is I have no idea what to write on. My mind is occupied by the informations that I have acquired in your articles but I can't still formulate my own topic. However, my mind just won't leave me in peace and here I am tapping my phone's keyboard without a direction again.

Have you ever experience going on a journey without having a specific destination in your mind? It just like, you just want to get away from the environment that's been suffocating you and take a big deep breath.

Anyways, I would really understand if you will skip reading this one since it will be just all about my hammies.

________________________

Hamsters

For those who aren't familiar with hamsters, I am gonna attached a picture about its description below.

Screenshot from google. Source: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hamster

________________________

Well, I am already a fan of hamsters ever since when I was a kid. I find this little creature very adorable and sweet.

Chang-Chang

  • Chang-chang is a female hamster that I bought as a reward for myself. She has this dirty white fur color and very chubby as well. She loves roaming around my room and sitting at my palm while eating her treats. She's a two month old Syrian hamster.

Look at that face.

Ham-ham

  • I bought Ham-ham a day after chang-chang. Actually, I don't have any plan to buy another hamster because I wanted to focus my full attention to the female one, but my niece wanted to have a hamster too. I have no choice but to buy her one. But at the end, Ham-ham ends up to be under my care because my niece's mother didn't allow her to take it to their home. Hamham is a bit thinner than chang2 ang he loves playing in their wheel. He is a male Syrian hamster and basically the father of my changchang's pups.

He is shy.

________________________

August 26,2021

Surely a lot of things happened that day. It was also the day that my hamster gave birth to her 10 pups. However, I wasn't able to take pictures since she's so aggresive and didn't want to be disturb. It was my first time to care for a mother hamster and I had no idea what to do.

That day, I constantly check her up and maybe that triggers her stress and ends up eating her 5 babies. I'm really worried about her cannibalism and ask my boyfriend if its normal. My partner used to have hamsters back then anyways.

He said that it's normal especially if the mother gets stressed out. I am so worried that she might eat all of her babies and so I decided to do some research.

Things that triggers mama hamster to eat their pups.

  • She feels unsafe or stressed.

  • The cage where too small for them.

  • She's hungry after she gave birth.

  • Accidentally stored them at her cheek pouch.

  • She feels that there's something wrong with her pups or it will not survive.

  • You touched her babies.

  • Father eats the pups. That's why you mus separate them.

Source: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hamster

How to handle mama hamster

  • Give her enough foods and clean water.

  • Do not disturb her and the pups for one week.

  • Do not clean the cage within 2 weeks.

  • Don't constantly check her.

  • Put them in a quiet place or room.

________________________

Closing Thought

It's never easy to handle a mother hamster but it's actually satisfying. I really need to master my self-control hihi. I am so excited to see how many babies survive. The babies were still 4 days old now and I still couldn't touch them. However, I am confident that they're still alive since I can still hear cries from the pups. Anyways, that's all for today. Ciao!

________________________

Shout out

I would just like to extend my deepest gratitude to my two amazing sponsors who renewed their sponsorship to me. You guys rock!

@Jher0122 and @Pichi28

22
$ 8.27
$ 7.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 13
Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago

Comments

oh kyudies! i rmember meron kaming hamster na nanganak.. the next day, patay na silang lahat.. may parang nagmassacre sa kanila..nakaka phobia tuloy magkahamster ulit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stress in animals can be more dangerous than us. I just bought a new cage for my budgie, it's much bigger and more flamboyant than before. One week after he got there, he deliberately stuck himself between the bait box and killed himself. When I researched it, I concluded that he might not have adopted the new cage.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am so sorry for what happened :(. Poor thing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Accidentally stored them at her cheek pouch. << I'm sorry but I find this really sad and funny at the same time. Hamsters are really cute but also scary at times. My friend also has a pair and I saw them eating their own babies...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha yeah, it seems like she forgot that it was her pups ahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It looks so cute

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like hamsters. We had a few while my son was growing up. Then we didn't buy any more of them. But I like to see them in the pet stores.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You don't have a plan to buy again?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pets....... I would have loved to keep them except that I had to use them for food purposes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They are so tiny to be used for food πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my!!! He's sooooo cute, I want to have one just to pet it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I could give you some but we are too far πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sponsor beke nemen pwede mo padala isa jan dito sa leyte hahaaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nako hahaha baka pagdating jan, matigas na haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh, penge jsa dun sa nanganakkkk.

But anyway, even ea cat kinakain din nila anak nila siguro dahil lang may nafifeel sila na kakaiba sa anak nola at ayaw lang nilang mahawaan ung other babies kaya kinain na nila.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sge ateee papadala ko ba? Haahha kawaw naman baka apgdating sa inyu matigas na ahhah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cute naman po ng mga hamsters niyo 😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I rear this once too but we don't give them leaves. When i started i fed them with Foods without salt but later gave them normal food. They give birth many children at the same time. I gave them out when i was going to school

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So you have no hamster anymore?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, only rabbits.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So cute and adorable. ❀️ I wish I could hold them in my arms.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They are so tiny πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cute cute nila.. Mabilis lang dumami mga yanπŸ₯°

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo ate mabilis lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can you send me one? Kidding! hihihi. Ang cute naman sis, pati kulay :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Would love to. Peri baka mamatay po hihihihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehehe, kidding :) Hope they will survive through your love and tender care :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halaaa ka kyut πŸ₯Ί Pero yes mars, normal lang ata na sa mga animals nga ila kaunon ila baby after panganak. Same sa rabbit pud sa akong friend, gikaon niya iyang baby 🀧

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gani mars, louy lang kaau jud

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder how small baby hamsters would look like. But they are all cutie I assume. My sister has hamsters but I have never witnessed her giving birth

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sobrang liit po. Parang 1 inch lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halla ang cucute. Gusto ko din sana mag alaga ng hamster kaso diko alam if paano 🀧 pati rabbit gusto ko din mag alaga. Jusko naalala ko sobrang busy pala akong tao. Hays

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nako mars hahaha busy ka naamn eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Luh cutiee ng hamster pinsan ko dati may alaga din hamster tapos nilalagay pa nila sa palaruan ba yon basta para daw sa hamster hahaha ayon hanggang tingin lang ako. 🀣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha ayaw mo ma alaga mars?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hshahah hindi naman ako marunong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow, cutieeeeeee. I remember nung elem days. Mahilig talaga ako mag alaga ng hamsters kaso nga lang, parating nakakawala; Siguro, buhay pa yun . Nasa loob ng bahay lang. heheeh

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wala namang pusa sa inyu?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This would've been a great response for the "pets" prompt. Have you had more babies since? I guess I should ask, has SHE had more babies since?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was her first babies πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why so cute???

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May hamster akong lima noon tapos ninakaw nyeta HAHAHAHAH

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nakooo bat naman ninakaw hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naiwan bukas gate e HAHAHAHA binitbit kulungan nla

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala gikaon diay niya bal,. Kalooy tunlon na nila dretso or imunch.x nila hqhaha kasyang hatagi kooooo

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gina munch2 nila bal louy kaau 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kalooyyy imo patung gilain dayun bwal? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am shookttt when you said she ate her 5 pups. I have no idea how to take good care of hamsters but I am planning to buy one soon. πŸ’—

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Research ka sis para maka pag ready ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will do sis, thank youuu

$ 0.00
2 years ago