Time of Refreshing -a Day with my Son

23 41
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: God, Life, Improvement

Words that carry grace are refreshing to the soul. Doing things for others is fun and is the type of leisure I enjoy. My soul and spirit were refreshed while taking Friday off.

An early morning deadline for a client was met with ease, providing me with an opportunity to spend the rest of the day doing whatever I wanted to do. I chose sacrificing my time and periods of leisure.

Doing

Since love is doing something rather than an emotion, a concept most people fail to understand, I did the dishes for my spouse, ran a load of clothes through the washing machine, hung them out to dry, and neatly folded everything later. This gave her free time to take our boy to the beach and afterwards hit up a mall to shop. She kept the spending to a little under $200. Whew.

I read some articles on read.cash and gave away more #BCH to worthy writers. Saw a new trend where spammers are posting short, under 1-minute posts with links to buy things. I hope those in charge of this platform put an end to the spam and boot these people off the platform. Users here need to be careful clicking on these links lest you find yourself hacked or your computer is used as a bot.

Seeing

We have a rather spacious porch and front/back yard. A cherry tree, a mango tree, a huge calamansi tree, and various plants and flowers are everywhere. My son and I explored everything and took some selfies of him. We then posted them to his Facebook account, along with his beach pics.

Teaching

I like teaching but quit the public schools years ago. The curriculum was lacking and the pay was not sufficient. Anyway, we sorted through his toys and I asked him to name each one, played some ball, and read a couple of short books. I believe in the biblical concept as stated below.

Though he is only two, I teach him daily. We work on his #vocabulary most of all. His vocabulary is impressive for his age - and I ensure he learns proper English pronunciation. We take breaks when he begins to lose focus.

We got on #Lazada during one break and searched for a #Halloween costume, but we never made a decision to buy. The mall later today will offer better results, as those costumes from China look like a fire waiting to happen.

We are planning a Halloween party with the neighbors on our porch. Food, snacks, candy, and games are in the works.

Watching

I spend time with my son daily. Sadly, there are many absent fathers in society today. I call these guys breeders rather than men. A man takes responsibility for his actions and nourishes his son. Children need both parents, a man and a woman to grow up healthy and properly with a right sense of all the important values of life.

We watched his favorite videos on You Tube Kids. It's ad free. He has a preference for animals, airplanes and race cars.

Travel

We tried to go to the new mall that had its grand opening yesterday but no kids were allowed inside. That's fine - we shopped where we were wanted.

A couple of his friends moved a few kilometers away so we drove over and went to visit them for a few hours. One of the kids is very undisciplined so we had to watch him carefully because he likes to hit others. Not good.

We drove along the highway and looked at the scenery and bought some snacks, then had lunch on the beach - bangus and rice.

Cooking

In the late afternoon he and I cooked for Mom. We put together a meal of niligang baka. Potatoes, onions, fresh corn, cabbage, fresh Australian beef and spices poured over Jasmine rice was a nice meal.

Plans for subsequent ice cream fell through because we were too stuffed.

Relaxing

After dinner, we relaxed, played some more and wrestled. He missed his afternoon nap so I had hoped he would crash early. Nope. The little rascal finally slept well beyond his usual 8:30 p.m. bedtime.

The refreshing words that made my day were "thank you's" and plenty of "Daddy's!" Yeah, my day may sound boring compared to your day, but it was nevertheless fulfilling.

Spend some time with your child each day. Even if you are busy, let your kids know they are wanted and loved by doing something for or with them.

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

14
$ 7.49
$ 6.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.54 from @MarielB22
$ 0.08 from @RazorFist
+ 5
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: God, Life, Improvement

Comments

Wow what I can say your a good father and husband,and also a good writer.. I really like your article . You inspired me ,I hope I can do it too God bless you more brother in Christ.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your kindness, Jay. I am blessed by God and He continues to transform me into the likeness of Jesus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Praise God

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First Time I visit on you're article someone suggested me to read you're article and learn something new from there so I decided to read it and give some more knowledge about get More energy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well thanks for stopping by to read, Abdul.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Spending time with family is good and sweet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is nothing more to say it very important for parents to have good relationship with their children it keeps the family going and give joy to the children

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That was really good advice that doesnt come around often!! Good read

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your repeated kindness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, no additional comments. That is what every parent needs. To have good relationship with their children.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep! The world would be a better place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sound plan and advice. Good on you for being a father that cares and provides.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Appreciate you, Razor. Have a good evening across the pond.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your day is one of a kind. A reminder of what parents should do. Parents nowadays had their eyes and heart poured at work having little to no time for kids.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Work or self-indulgence. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is right . My heart is happy and proud for my friends who are hands on fathers and are also in on disciplining and teaching their kids.

That's a cool time spent with your kid Scotty he will take that with him when he gets older. And hopefully does the same for his kids, too.

You have a great day ahead!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks, Pichi. My hope for him is that he will grow into manhood replete with all the responsibilities that come with in. You have a great weekend, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your day wasn't boring. It's huge fun having kids around.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it was far from boring and we had a lot of fun. I enjoy bonding with family because we never know what tomorrow will bring.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear brother, I salute your deeds. You made time for your family & you just made me happy. Thanks brother. Woke up & read this article. What a blessing way to start my day!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah, you're too nice. Thanks for saying that, really.

$ 0.00
2 years ago