Making Homemade Spicy Texas Chili (with pics and instructions).

19 28
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: Food, Health, Home

Everybody has a favorite warmup meal they prefer to prepare. For me, it's spicy Texas style chili. Okay, some folks don't use red kidney beans in their chili, but I do, so let's get that out of the way from jump street.

Prepping

The first thing I do is bring the Crock pot down from an upper shelf. Then I gather all of the ingredients and place them on the countertop. I crank the Crock pot up on high and pour my tomato sauce in to get it hot. If you don not have a Crock pot, a large cooking pot will suffice.

I then chop up my onions and jalapenos and dump them in.

Meanwhile, I am browning a half kilo of ground round and seasoning it with salt and pepper.

I have a preference for ground round over ground beef to cut out the unnecessary grease and fat.

I also open and add two cans of red kidney beans but I do not use the juice. You may if you prefer.

These beans are very healthy, as are the jalapenos.

I also add a tablespoon of jalapeno juice and a tablespoon of chili powder.

Rather than add a lot of salt, I substitute taco seasoning mix to the brew. Nevertheless, I do add a teaspoon of salt.

I dice up my SPAM (any flavor will do) and Hungarian sausages. I do use the entire can.

Cooking time

I leave all the ingredients on high for one hour, then turn it down to low for 2-3 hours, mixing occasionally. What's nice is that you can place any leftover chili in the ref and heat it in the microwave the next day or whenever, or you can freeze it to eat later in the week.

Eating

Sometimes I top the spicy chili off with a dollop of Cheese Whiz or a slice of cheese. At other times, I pour it over a half cup of steaming, white rice. Dependent on how spicy the chili is, I may add hot sauce.

Mind you, I have already added some while cooking so be careful before proceeding willy-nilly or will ruin the entire batch by making it too hot to eat.

Here is the chili cooking! Of course, more ingredients were being added after this photo.

Bon appetite, mon ami!

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

11
$ 6.01
$ 5.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.48 from @MarielB22
$ 0.28 from @RazorFist
+ 4
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: Food, Health, Home

Comments

Delicious looking! You made that?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I did make it. Nowadays my spouse occasionally makes it since I taught her how. My mother was a chef so I learned how to cook early on in life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah, your are a jack of all trades, then. Cool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your spice looks attractive. Enjoy your meal with it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just finished eating some with Sky Flakes. Working on some cookies and cream ice cream now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow...enjoy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can sense the scent from here. You've made want to taste it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That looks spicy. Invite me when you are done. 😋

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I believe this batch will disappear among the neighbors before the sun sets today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omyyy, perfect for lunch. For birthday and all occasions and for all the people who love everything spicy and nice.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And for the rainy days and typhoons! But yeah, any time is a good time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sending you a sponsor application and adding you to my sponsor list mate

$ 0.01
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
2 years ago

Much appreciated, Scott. I'll catch you later on Odysee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Spectacular pot of chili. I like to put venison in my chili and no SPAM. And I don't like it too spicy and not sweet. Now I'm hungry. Grrrrrrr.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love venison. It costs an arm and a leg here, if you can even find it. Backwards country. But thanks for the compliment.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Free venison for hunters here. Takes work but well worth it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I used to hunt when I lived in Ohio.

$ 0.00
2 years ago