If "if" was a Fifth

28 50
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

There's an old saying: "If if was a fifth, we'd all be drunk." Stop and think about this old adage. I'm rather confident you have heard it more often than not. There's a problem attached to this phrase and I want to expound on it.

Meaning

What the heck is the meaning of this oft-repeated phrase? Simply stated, it means that the world is full of “if’s”. If this, if that.

Where the rubber hits the proverbial road, what we have then is a situation where individuals waste their lives away wishing and dreaming and hoping things would or could be different. These people are drunk on one or more of the following three factors: 1) immovability; 2) living in the distant future; and/or 3) living in the past.

Are you immovable - stuck where you are and are you refusing to move forward and making wise decisions? Or are you dwelling on the past or are you indecisive about your future?

Assessment

It can certainly be humbling but nevertheless enlightening to assess which one or more of these above-mentioned factors keep us from making the right decisions. Wasting time mulling over what could have been or could be different is to wallow in regret or be indecisive about one's future direction.

It doesn't have to be this way, dear readers. What we need is a change of heart so we can move forward and begin to leave the what if's in the past and escape that horrific trap of regret. Worrying about past decisions we have made and what could have been is like rocking in a chair: it gets us absolutely nowhere.

When those thoughts pop into my head, I immediately dismiss them. I have no regrets about dismissing regrets. What has been done has been done, and all the worrying and wishing won't change what has been done.

But there is something we can change if we choose to do so and that is to change for the better.

Change is action

We will continue to remain stuck in the sand trap of regret and wishful thinking if we fail to have a change of heart. We have to "do" rather than "wish." Our future does not have to be dismal but rather it beckons to us so: Come! Come with me and dream, come and be inspired; come with courage and I the future will align with you and guide you!

Motivation

Let me encourage you to get motivated. Sleep is for the dead and listless, but you and I have an opportunity to be more alive. We must not be sluggards!

We all dream, but we need to put our dreams into action. There is something in this vast universe that inspires each and every one of us, and we have to determine what it is for each of us, because they are often very different from what inspires others. Don't be a follower, rather be a pathfinder.

Once we are inspired, we have to have the courage to act on our dream(s) and inspiration. If we do not, we are back to square one with the what if's. That's a veritable rut of life.

Finally, once we begin acting the future works with us. I like what one of my favorite authors has to say about this in his bestselling book, "The Alchemist."

"And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it” - Paulo Coelho.

There's our harmony and our motivation!

Escape tips

Let's get going today. Begin by making a list of what you value in your life and duly note which ones you are presently not honoring.

Take heart in knowing that whatever decision you and I make is not necessarily permanent, because you and I can always change our minds!

As mentioned above, take the necessary action on the things you do want and take note of what you have learned.

Move away from the what if's and move towards the what will be! Be encouraged today and going forward.

Images are free at https://pixabay.com/

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

13
$ 6.46
$ 5.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.74 from @MarielB22
$ 0.21 from @RazorFist
+ 3
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

Comments

The article you have been writing has made my relationship with God grow stronger and stronger day by day. May the good Lord continue to bless you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are always the best when it comes to writing and preaching , I thank God for life , your articles increase my fellowship with God, thanks so much

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for reading, Rosh. May Jesus be lifted up at all times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm encouraged. Well done 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this motivating article. Lately I've been bothering myself on an issue, but after reading this, I've let it off my mind. I'm moving on

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good to hear! Praise the Lord Jesus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every acts count. Our brain is only for remember many things. Hence not to forgets regrettable things. Just deal with the past and we should keep moving forward.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Correct. ALWAYS move forward!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Past can never changr at all but, it can lead us to brighter future if we use the lesson we learned and get.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have it right, Maryel. Good for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Pastor😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes, after worry what is needed is guidelines to move forward out of living in the past, well arranged guidelines.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, you're right. My life really changed when I submitted my life to Jesus as a disciple.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our past is just a ruined just our thinking capacity because you can't ChaNGe it and when you think about it it make you sad BECAUSE you doing a lot of many things which is not best our life so we change the future and we can do it if we have a strong We have a power and we have a source even we produce those source who change our minds thinking our Chang our Life

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So how would you change your life, Abdul?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't be too discouraged to keep pressing towards your goal

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am rarely discouraged! But thanks, Jerry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome sir. You're an encouragement to me sir, to keep sharing the gospel on this platform

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks, Jerry - that's my main purpose.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Excellent article. You're right: we cannot change the past but we do have the capacity to change our future.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes, correct. Unfortunately not everyone takes advantages of opportunities and some never get another chance.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nothing could be further from what truth you said.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Old Swedish proverb: "“Worry often gives a small thing a big shadow.”

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like this, hometown! Good one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sage advice. As far as I am concerned, the biggest rut in life is a 9-5 job and working for someone else.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I retired at 40. Best move I ever made.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome. I still work but I'm my own boss. Seems to me we never really stop working though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I retired early but I still work on personal things and get paid so there's that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago