How Many Times Must We be Warned?

35 59
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

Serious question: How many times do we have to be warned before there are no more warnings? Ever stopped to consider the question? Has your conscience ever spoken to you in that still, small voice to warn you and you ignored it? I know I have - more times than I care to remember.

Once I drove drunk on my birthday on the way home from a stock car race. I went through a late yellow light and turned on to a new highway. A highway patrol officer pulled me over and gave me a field sobriety test. I failed and was carted off to jail. Sadly, my little brother was in the car and my step-father had to drive 20 miles past midnight to pick him up.

A second time I was driving under the influence of alcohol (and plenty of it) and was arrested after totally destroying a car I had spent a month restoring.

After just these two events I still did not heed that inner voice and warning but instead did it again! That particular time I had my license suspended but also faced a year in jail. Fortunately for me, the judge went easy on me and I only spent a night in jail because I immediately pled guilty in court the following day.

I finally learned my lesson and don't drink any longer.

Warnings

God has given us all an early warning system. It is called our conscience. We know what is wrong and right and are allowed to make right or wrong choices. However, if we continue to ignore our early warning system, things usually don't go well for us.

I remember a bright young lady who had a very expensive car given to her on her 16th birthday by her father. She was attractive and had her entire life ahead of her: scholarships to university and the whole nine yards. She was always texting a mile a minute.

Well, Texas passed a law: No texting and driving. Of course, she like me, ignored this law several times. As for me, I had a hot, red Ford Mustang GT. One day I was driving about 60 kph and was texting while driving. My then girlfriend was in the passenger seat and screamed, "Watch out!"

At the last possible second I jerked the steering wheel hard to the right and missed a stalled car by mere inches.

Back to the teen. She was driving around 120 kph on a tollway. As we know, several hundred meters ahead of the toll booth we are warned to slow down and prepare to pay.

This teen gal was texting and blazed past the warning signs that were flashing yellow lights. It was estimated she never hit the brakes and instead hit the toll booth at the same speed she had been driving. She was decapitated. The car parts were spread for a hundred meters, the engine having been ripped out of the car.

By ignoring the warning she forfeited her life.

The ultimate warnings

Our ultimate warning comes from God. When speaking to Israel and Judah, He said:

"It shall come about if you ever forget the Lord your God and go after other gods and serve them and worship them, I testify against you today that you will surely perish" (Deuteronomy 8:19).

"Yeah," but that was the Old Testament," some will say. Need I remind you dear readers that it is also in the New Testament?

"Little children, guard yourselves from idols" (1 John 5:21).

Everything we put before God is an idol. Spending 40 hours a week in front of a laptop or a smartphone and an hour worshipping God is an error (unless that is our job). Money can be an idol, women and men can be an idol. Statues and gold and food can become an idol. Again, anything can be an idol.

Listen to what the Jesus our God says:

"For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also" (Matthew 6:21, NIV).

That's pretty clear to me. How about you?

Application

Nobody needs to tell us what is right and wrong. An inner voice informs us, warns us ahead of time. Yet we do the wrong thing and ignore the warnings time and again. How many times do we have to be warned before we suffer consequences?

Let's pay heed to warnings, from signs and laws, and especially warnings from God. It's for our own good, unless of course the warnings contradict God's word. Let us pray for discernment and wisdom, for the Lord will freely give it to us.

"If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you" (James 1:5, NIV).

All images are free courtesy of https://pixabay.com/

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

17
$ 7.59
$ 6.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.96 from @MarielB22
$ 0.21 from @RazorFist
+ 8
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

Comments

"The Light has come into the world, but humanity preferred the darkness to the Light," as the saying goes... Unfortunately. We could all be saved if it were that simple and everyone embraced light. Hello and good evening!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's morning here. But yes, all have an opportunity to be saved, but most are choosing to live in sin and ignore God's warnings and offer of salvation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reckon I remember how many times you and I ignored our warnings. I recall the time you crashed race cars and street cars and the one time you nearly killed yourself while drunk in a crash. Better you nowadays!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I remember but no longer glory in what I once considered "good times." When are you going to write more?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Understood, pardner. The past is the past is the past.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well " The Light has come into the world, but men loved the darkness rather than the Light "... Unfortunately. If it was all that easy and all loved light, then we all could be saved. Good morning!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good morning. Busy schedule here today. I am scrambling for a client and wanted to make a new post. Have a blessed day!

Yes, people love darkness rather than light, though darkness causes them to constantly stumble.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well business is good, while ur all busy, I'm all sleepy! Hahaha... Every one does stumble, let's just hope and pray its not too late to get up. Unfortunately, there are really people who love their inner demons and cultivate them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Warnings largely go unheeded, even when we are disciplined. Been there, done that, have several t-shirts.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too. I could have filled several closets with t-shirts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How about filling up Salvation Army or Goodwill bins? That's me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Funny and sad at the same time. Thank Jesus for forgiveness!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Concerning the laptop issue. The Holy Spirit once told me that we're the most privileged and most distracted generation. So much that should be used as an advantage has become the center of distraction from things that matter

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is very true. A world of distractions are able to keep our focus from the eternal things that matter most.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true, sometimes we ignore those warnings and let the wrong direction led us. We sometimes forgot to take the right action, until incidence happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oftentimes, people keep on shrugging off the warnings because we believe in the idea ghat we can do it later. We tend to take care of the matters at hand. We are more afraid of our bosses and deadlines than in God.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pretty much all true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the truth. The understanding should come from within. Yet we fail to fell it or see the other warnings too. I sometimes think, how the family feels who lost someone in these type of accident. It's very unfortunate.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was going to mention this very thing that figured I would leave it to each one to ponder it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Humans are stubborn and warnings can happen million times. I pray the time God gave us for warning doesn't elapse before we heed to him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Extravagance of the youthful life can be of consequences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes recklessness is accompanied by the rebelliousness of youth. We do not learn because we are told things, but because we live them. That is why God allows us to go through our difficulties. For our growth.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You have a good grasp and perspective with your comment. Unfortunately, some fail to learn when they become adults.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Those people will also have their moment in life to understand, because if they don't, someone with more power will get them out of their mistake.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is certainly true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, wow, warnings. They come in so many forms in all directions. Oftentimes we blow them off, like a funny noise in our car, thinking the warning will be resolved on its own. When the car breaks down, it is then when we realize we should have taken the appropriate action.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good analogy, Mariel. I've done that! What did I do but turn up the stereo to hide the noise. lol Fortunately, the noise turned out to be a stone inside the hubcap. Simple fix.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's funny right there! I bet you were surprised.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was. I thought it was a wheel bearing so I took the hubcap off to fix it and boom! there was the rock. Doh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just today I was commenting in another article about an accident that occurred in my country. A driver in a drunken state is projected against a crowd of people. The result was catastrophic. Dozens of injured and dead. The videos of the accident are impressive, very strong.

You should not drive when intoxicated and we must always respect the rules of the road.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely true. I am so glad I never hurt anyone but myself physically.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our conscience is like our police, the only way we won't be warned by conscientious is if the conscience has been destroyed... We should always heed to God's warnings because he knows best definitely

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes and no. Our conscience is never destroyed but it can and definitely will be hardened (like Pharaoh) if we continue to ignore it. Also, unlike the police, our conscience is always right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right tho... Thanks for the correction

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not a problem, James. Thanks for your humbleness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago