Don't Ever Befriend Evil

26 44
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: God, Jesus, Passion

We live in an increasingly hostile world where lawlessness rules the day. Everywhere we look there is evil. No matter what you believe, you should hate evil. When good people do nothing to confront evil it spreads like cancer and destroys economies and governments and lives.

Evil

Evil is the opposite of good. Evil is typically thought of as anything which is morally wrong, sinful, or wicked; and yet at the same time, the word evil can also refer to anything that causes any kind of harm, with or without the moral dimension.

Christian philosopher J. P. Moreland rightly noted, “Evil is a lack of goodness. It is goodness spoiled. You can have good without evil, but you cannot have evil without good.” His comment makes perfect sense.

But what is good and what is evil? That depends on your worldview. But yet that is not even true, because evil is evil is evil. I merely speak for those who say we all have the freedom to do as we please in this world or in our community.

Think of it this way: if it is alright to look away from evil, what will you say when evil does harm to your loved ones? Would you not cry out from the rooftops? Yes, you would! So why then turn aside from it when it is adversely affecting others?

We all live in a real world where our good and evil actions have direct repercussions and indirect repercussions not only us but on those around us. Therefore, we need to consider our actions: are they good or evil - and what is out intention(s)?

Hate evil

We tend to turn a blind eye to evil when we see it. We don't want to become involved in the affairs of others unless they are close to us. Otherwise, we merely go on our way and mind our own business. Personally, I cannot do it. Where evil persists, I speak up or take action, as it is my moral duty. I am not God but I am his agent, His representative as a Christian in a fallen world.

Do you not know that “The one who sins is the one who will die” (Ezekiel 18:20, NIV).

A couple of examples

One time I saw a man rob a person who was about to drop a large sum of money into an outdoor bank deposit machine (through a drop box). The audacity of this man was that it was only 75 meters from the police station! When he noticed that I had witnessed the theft, he quickly darted into a dark alleyway. I gave chase in my car and quickly caught up with him.

Not wanting to cause an accident, I alit from my car and continued the chase on foot. I chased him for 4 blocks in the dead of winter with no coat on. I never caught him because a police officer stopped me and pulled a gun on me. The thief got away. How's that for irony? Of course I was let go.

Another time a man was hitting a woman. Having grown up around an abusive father, I despised the behavior (I'd run my father out of the house with a loaded shotgun after he knocked my mother unconscious while drunk).

Anyway, the woman was physically handicapped. She was hurt. When the man refused to stop, I stopped him with several punches, blew a hole in his car with a shotgun, and chased him away.

Was I a hero? Not at all, I simply did the right thing to stop evil. Looking back, I shouldn't have blown a hole in his car, however.

Love good

Not only should we hate evil but we should love good. The root problem of why the world is continuously regressing rather than progressing is because of an overall spiritual decay.

We have kicked prayer and God out of our schools and courts. We have allowed abortion (murder) to proliferate; we have failed to uphold what is morally right. In a spirit of going along so as not to make enemies and "offend" others, we have given our consent to perversion in all its forms - underage sex, homosexuality, gay pride, radical feminism, political correctness, cancel culture, and more. We have said yes to drunkenness and recreational drugs. We have failed to rise up and say no to evil. Therefore, do good.

Government is not the answer

Governments can make laws but no country in the history of the world has even been successful insofar as legislating morality. Laws restrain evil but do not produce good and never will.

We have so many laws that do not address certain aspects of evil that thus allow the violators and perpetrators of evil to go free. But rest assured that God only permits evil for a time before He intervenes by bringing judgment.

Call it out

The reason our countries are in the dismal spiritual state that they are, and they are regressing rather than progressing, it is because we turn our heads to evil. Some say, "It's their choice; they may do as they please because it's a free world."

Is it really? What if the same evil you ignored falls on your family or loved ones? We'd all be quick to speak against it!

Paul writes about this very thing in his epistle (letter) to the church in Ephesus (now in modern Turkey): "For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light (for the fruit of the light consists in all goodness, righteousness and truth) and find out what pleases the Lord. Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness, but rather expose them" (Ephesians 5:8-11, NIV).

Application and solution

God’s is ever willing to give us the freedom to choose what we will which opens up the possibility of moral evil. Moral evil inevitably leads to physical evil.

God’s will is that for all of our sakes we would turn from evil and obey Him that it might go well with us. Obedience to God is the solution to evil. Not only do we refrain from evil, but we correct others and call it out as in the above example of Paul.

We must warn the evil people, the wicked.

"If I warn the wicked, saying, ‘You are under the penalty of death,’ but you fail to deliver the warning, they will die in their sins. And I will hold you responsible for their deaths. If you warn them and they refuse to repent and keep on sinning, they will die in their sins. But you will have saved yourself because you obeyed me" (Ezekiel 3:18-19, NLT).

Let us not turn a blind eye to evil but speak out. We who believe are the salt of the earth. We overcome evil with good. Choose good over evil "so that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth” (Ephesians 6:3, NIV).

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

14
$ 7.04
$ 6.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.53 from @MarielB22
$ 0.31 from @RazorFist
+ 4
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: God, Jesus, Passion

Comments

The plan of evil is to distract the good we must stand up against them through the world of God

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Good to know there are a lot of people that still believes in God. Thank u and God bless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We must all hate the evil and love the good, we also need to be so couaregous and smart that we can stand against evil and evil forces. Almost there were evil and good forces in all ages and the good always beat the evil somewhere we can see it took time but finally good win and evil defeated.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

One thing is for sure: we cannot remain silent when evil dominates.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't try to make friends with them. Causing trouble is all they ever think about.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very true. That is why we look straight and not to the left or right of truth and good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The world is wicked. Everybody seems to want to do their own thing and yet not allow others do do theirs. It's a twisted world and like the prophets tell us, judgment is coming, we just don't know when.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Послушание Богу - это решение зла.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Вы абсолютно правы.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's the new trend that people don't like being told the truth...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, it's been true since the beginning of time but it is much worse now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I agree

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The world is so corrupted and as well filled with evil people. Evil people has become dominant everywhere. We can no longer differentiate good people from the evil one

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We can know them by what they do consistently.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly why the world hates honest people and those who stand up for what's right. sigh

That's too bad you were the one they apprehended while chasing the thief. Tsk tsk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is peculiar and ironic at times but oh well. But you're right about people hating honesty and accepting evil.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is such a difficult world we are leaving to the next generations. There are some children who live near my house. When they need me they come and ask me very nicely. But when they don't need me they run by and yell such rude things at me that I don't even say them myself. I have talked to the children but they don't respect anyone. It's hard to help someone who doesn't want to be helped.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is the sad situation all over the world. What a shame.

By the way, did the solutions I sent you work to fix your computer?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, thank you! The Driver Booster seemed to fix my problem. I wrote this response from my now working computer, thank you so much!

At this moment my son has just finished doing everything you told him to do. I am very grateful to you, you don't know how much, really.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Excellent! I thought that would work for you. Oh, about my $300 consultation fee...lol! Great for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh oh, I think I'll have to withdraw from read.cash. I don't have 300$ even in a month... hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you can take a joke. Now get writing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will, yes sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, and I subscribed to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much. Me too. Thanks for the sponsorship you are very kind. May God continue to bless your noble heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for your kindness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago