#16 Unboxing a Balikbayan Box

16 85
Avatar for ScarletDoll
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story, Blogging, ...

I was surprised when a Balikbayan Box is delivered at our home today. It came from my cousin who is residing in the US for almost two decades. She have her own family there and they just visit here in the Philippines when they want some vacation. Even though they were away from us they still don't forget to give something to us. Yes, my cousin is a very generous person indeed and if we needed her help she will immediately reach into us with no hesitation. But sometimes I am shy for asking too much on her even if it's okay on her part.

Maybe some of you are not familiar what is a Balikbayan Box. Well it usually consist of different "pasalubong" (assorted treats or gifts). She sent us Balikbayan Boxes so many times before. I remember when I was still a kid I am very excited to see what are the stuffs inside the Balikbayan box. I am eager to look closer to find an item that would be suitabpe for me.

In just a few seconds after it was delivered we finally opened it with excitement. We carefully open the box to make sure that we will not damage anything inside. Unboxing is such a satisfying thing to do right. When it was opened I can smell the fragrance of everything inside. This is the time we need to put it out one by one to check what items are for us 😊. As you can see most of it was clothes.

I felt sad when those clothes doesn't fit on me because some are bigger in size and too small for me but its okay it's not my lucky day haha. In my mind I am still hoping that there is a clothe for me.

There are fragile items inside and unfortunately one of it was broken. It is a porcelain figurine display. Although it was wrapped in bubble wrap it ended up being broken. Maybe because it happened that the box is not handled with care during its transport. This is suppose to be given to her friend. I think a super glue can fix it. So it's not advisable to place a fragile items together with other stuffs because it may be broken like this one. It should be better if it was placed in a separate box inside so it is more secured. The good thing is the other figurines was not broken.

I am happy to see that there are pasta included in it. I just need some spaghetti sauce for these pasta. We can cook it for our snack or for special occassion coming right away. Unfortunately there was no other food than these. I actually expect some candies, chocolates or canned goods. But I am still thankful for what she had given to us. Maybe next time she will put a lot of chocolates because she know that is also my favorite treat.

My sister is very lucky because this Nike Air Max perfetly fits on her. Looks like as good as brand new. I like its sinple design and color combination. It is perfect to wear when jogging or doing some exercise. I think this is also an expensive shoes that is why it needs to be taken care off very well. It is very light-weighted and that makes it very comfortable to wear.

There are also some toys. A mini piano and three unicorn foldable mirror. These were the toys of her daughter which is now grown up. I am thinking to whom should I give these toys. I like the piano because it is very cute. Even though I am an adult I still want to play it hahaha. We just need to buy some batteries to play it.

I also found this cute black coin purse. It is a hat shaped which makes it a unique coin purse for me. I will use it because I like its color. I can put a lot of coins here. If I have an acrylic paint I will add design in it. I can also say it is still new as it has a tag.

My cousin is the most closest relative we have abroad that is why we only expect a Balikbayan Box from them. Some items are brand new and some are second hand. But no matter what it was we are still happy to received something from abroad because we can't afford to buy stuffs which are branded due to its very expensive price.

OFWs (Overseas Filipino Workers) will relate if they heard "Balikbayan Box". It contains every hardwork they have done working abroad just to give something that could make a smile in their family or relatives here in the Philippines. The sacrifices they are doing every single day tells a different stories. That is why no matter what the value of these items are it all has a sentimental value as it came from someone's hardwork.

7
$ 0.59
$ 0.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for ScarletDoll
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story, Blogging, ...

Comments

Oh pasta one of my best foodies but also my bodies worst enemy, lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Are you allergic to pasta?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh no just saying too much leads to :D lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have you tasted the Filipino Sweet Style Spagetti? That is my favorite pasta dish.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes delicious with cut up hot dogs in it πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pasta... I love it... πŸ˜† yummy.. I think they're lucky gift for all although there is no size according to your size 😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am still happy even though I did not get any clothes there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The urge to have toys, even you are a grown up, is permanent!πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think so haha, that is part of our childish personality.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Swerte naman may mabait na kapamilya sa ibang bansa.. May mga pamangkin din si papa na nasa NY kaso kapag nagpapadala walang umaabot samin😭. Ok lang naman, parang ang nangyayari kasi binibigay nila sa mas nangangailangan dito sa barangay namin o di kaya naman direkta na sa elementary school dito samin. Nangangailangan din kami pero walang bigay samin ehπŸ˜….

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pero dapat siguro mabigyan din kayo kahit paano kasi kapamilya naman nila kayo. Priority dapat kapag kadugo diba.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sanay naman na kami na wala. Meron din naman siguro para sakin pero may iba ng kumukuha haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa amin may mga pangalan kaya walang kuhaan pag di sa kanya hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dito hindi uso, kahit may pangalan hindi pa rin nakakarating yanπŸ˜….

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are lucky to have your cousin. Anyway, satisfying talaga magbukas ng Balikbayan Box hihi. Nakakaexcite ano.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang bango ng loob nung box hehe. Kung mas madami yung pagkain mas masaya hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago