Stage fear

1 11
Avatar for Sashaa
Written by
1 year ago

Have you ever experienced stage fear ? Most of us should have definitely experienced this once in life time.

Unsplash.com

Years before, when I was honoured with a decadian award on completion of 10 years of service, in the school where I was working, I was asked to speak few words before the dignitaries in the dias. To be honest, at first I stumbled.

I prepared my speech very well before the award ceremony. But when I saw the dignitaries on the dias, I felt something running down my spines. I was given the microphone. I prepared the speech, starting with a quote on children. But once I came to the dias and saw the people sitting right in front of me, my mind went blank.

It was a bitter experience. Working in an esteemed educational institution and not able to speak up few lines is literally not a joke, but a serious issue.

I just stood with the microphone silently for more than three minutes. By then I was totally blank and I thought I will fall down any moment. But then I took all the courage and started very casually with all the experiences I went through while working as a teacher. It was not that prepared speech, but a speech of real experience that I experienced.

I started narrating my beautiful experiences I had with the little ones to the higher grades. The most memorable moments I spent with them and above all, things I as a teacher learnt from them. This was it. Finally I concluded my speech with a big thanks to the Management for giving me an opportunity to work there. In response I got a lovely applause which I can never forget in a lifetime.

Our school took the initiative to introduce Toast Master session in our campus. So that most of the staff could speak in any stage without fear. This has definitely proved beneficial to most of us, including me. Every week 10 of us were given the opportunity to speak on any topic that interests us.

Some are born with ultimate guts. Give them a mike and a stage and there goes non stop speech without a shake. Presently I am able to see that in today's generation. They need no experience, they are an expertise themselves.

Children from a very young age should be given freedom to speak. It so happens, we as parents sometimes snubs them or force them to shut their mouths, when we find they are going over the limit. Honestly speaking, we should only guide them and correct them and not snub them. When they ask questions, we should be patient enough to answer them.

It was my stage fear that forced me to encourage my children to speak without fear in public. So they are happy when asked to speak among the audience.

Speaking in public ensures the depth of our confidence, determination and will power.

Lead Image from Unsplash.com.

5
$ 0.73
$ 0.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
+ 1
Avatar for Sashaa
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I used to have fear in public speaking too. I never felt comfortable even participating in school activities what more doing plays or going on stage for something.

$ 0.01
1 year ago