Old friends are the best

7 20
Avatar for Royaldiadem
1 year ago

Few years ago I learnt about this saying "old friends are the best" but I never give myself time to ponder on these words to know whether they were really true. When I left school, I was still in contact with most of my friends, we do talk about a lot things then, but as time went on things weren't the same again. Everyone gets busy with their lifes, some have seen another friend in their new place, some changed their phones and lost contact with their friends, alot of circumstances arose then that made one to forget their former friends and mates.

We are lucky in this age we are, we can easily get in touch with our old friends through the social media. Many school sets use to have a reunion party every year where all their mates will come for a get together. There, you see many of your friends and loved ones, thereby bringing the memories you have shared together in the past. During the time when phones and social media were not rampant as it is now. Those who can not afford to get a mobile device then communicate through letters but there is no probability of getting to the person you are sending the letter to. Anything can occur, this particular friend might have relocated to another environment, any situation can occur. Those people still miss their old friends but unfortunately there is no means of reaching out to the person.

In this age, we find it easy to locate old friends and mates, but are they of the same as they are then. We all have friends who have had a change of behavior or attitude from the ones we knew them for then. Due to some happenings things have changed for them. I still remember many of my mates back then, I take them for who they were then, the one at the top of the class, the gentle ones, the troublesome ones and the hot tempered one. It's disheartening to know that few of the ones I had come in contact with are not the same as they were back then. Most had a change in behavior, some are not as brilliant as they were back then, some are now chasing after money, some are behaving indecently and so on. Yet we still have the good ones, those who remain to themselves. Then it began to dawn on me that I cannot take people the same way they were when I knew them then. Some of them have changed which is unknown to us because we are no more together. They might have changed from good to bad, or from bad to good. That's one of the things I learnt in life.

I had a friend then, we were not that close in school then but she was my friend. After two years, we crossed paths again, our place was not far from each other. I don't really keep friends, I had none but I felt comfortable with her around since I have known her for years. So, I always keep her in mind, I would visit her occasionally, call her and did a lot of things together. Then I noticed that I have been to clingy, I will be the one to always visit her, she never did, I will be the one to call her, she never called, she began to distant herself, she never called back if she happens to miss my call, I challenged her one day to try and call back if she missed my call and reply my message on WhatsApp, that I was just trying to ask after her wellbeing, then she replied with "Mercy, try and understand that I am busy" then I realized that I'm at fault, no matter how busy she was, if she really have me in mind she will call back or check up on me even if it is once in a while.

I moved on with my life as I realized I can't take them for who they were then. The fact that we were ones friends does not mean we will be able to continue our friendship till date.

Even though I still keep in touch with many of my old friends, I mean there are still some of them that were still good and we keep in touch like we use to back then. We cannot take them for who they were then, so we need to be very careful with them. And yes, old friends are the best, those are the ones we have known them for years, we knew what they can do and what they cannot do.

Lead image from unsplash

Thank you for reading ♥️♥️♥️

4
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Kacy01
Sponsors of Royaldiadem
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Royaldiadem
1 year ago

Comments

Old friends are good really if they still remain the same as they were back then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm very good fault here when it comes to checking on People, yeah I lost that vibe long time ago,,, that's why I hardly keep close friends.

I can't see myself checking on someone and I'll be termed "disturbance" no!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, that's a nice decision.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes when we remember old times we wish we can just go back a bit to enjoy it once more, getting along with old friend is a bit skeptical because they might not be who you know them to be anymore,we just have to be careful

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, we have to be careful with them even if we are United again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Memories play vital role in humans life we sometimes miss our old friends who had left us

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes you are right😊😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago