I had faced many disappointment in my life

4 15
Avatar for Royaldiadem
2 years ago
Topics: Justwrite, Humans, Friend

I got to a point in my life, where I'm not moved when people couldn't keep to their promises. Why? I have faced countless disappointment in my life, I think that has made me stronger over the years. My family, friends, mates, I'm all surrounded with loved ones. At first I thought life was so unfair to me, but as times goes on, I think I'm at fault. I rely on people too much that I cry a lot when they couldn't fulfil their promises to me.

I'm quite loved by many you know. I grew up with the mentality that says "We need each other to rely on" I grew up learning that we need each other's support as a human. We cannot survive alone. I guess I was too extreme believing that. Or maybe I trust people too much.

As I grew up, my father was a business man, we never had to worry about money, my mum was a complete housewife, she stays at home, even when my brother and I had gone to school. My dad made a lot of promises to me especially, he promised to give me the best education so far, he knew how women struggled to survive in our society. I was so happy even though I was still young then, I had the best supporter I could ever had. He gave me a support that would last a lifetime.

My dad lost his job one day, even with that, he kept his smiling face, I was so confident then, despite him losing his job. All these came to nothing the day my dad left. Mum told us she is getting a divorce. She couldn't cope with Dad anymore, he has changed completely, he comes home late every night drunk. Then it dawned on me that dad is leaving us for good. My mum had no job. How are we supposed to survive? My mum was a fighter, she wouldn't give up on us. Though we had to move to our uncle's place, she tried everything she could to support us.

The first disappointment in my life was my dad, then my uncle. When we first got to his home, he promised to support us with everything he had, we started paying for our school fees, my brother and I went to the same school his children were going to. Few months after we had started living with him. His generous wife begins haunting us. My mom dropped us with them for just a little time. She promised to come back for us after she had settled down. My uncle was a great disappointment on his side, he told me to drop out from school saying I'm a girl, I don't need it. He told me he couldn't cope with our school fees anymore. My brother couldn't stand it. He dropped out instead.

We kept enduring all these till my mum finally came back for us. My brother resumed back to school, even though it was hard for him, he couldn't meet up with the class he was before. Well, that's the life I grew up in.

Single parenthood was quite difficult for me. I faced many criticism in school, if my dad was here, all these wouldn't have happened. I wasn't moved by that actually. What makes me sad was the disappointment I have faced over the years. Some of my mates had promised me one thing or the other which they couldn't fulfil. I can remember I made friends with Kate at first, her parents were rich. She picked interest in me at first. I didn't know why but she likes me alot. She asked me why I keep wearing a torned uniform to class. I told her everything about me, she felt pity for me. She promised to bring me one of her uniform the next day. I was so happy, I told me my mum about it, because she had been planning to get a new uniform for me. I told her to use the money for something else. I knew that money will used for something useful. What happened the next day? She told me she couldn't bring it again. Why? She changed her mind. I couldn't believe that. I had trust her too much to bring the uniform for me. I couldn't bring myself to tell my mum about it. But she knew, I guessed she had been in my shoes a lot.

Thanks for reading. I will be completing the story in my next write-up. I hope you have enjoyed the story so far.

Sponsors of Royaldiadem
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.28
$ 0.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.02 from @Deeepensiverse
Sponsors of Royaldiadem
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Royaldiadem
2 years ago
Topics: Justwrite, Humans, Friend

Comments

I sympathize with you dear, people disappoint a lot, that's why I try not to expect anything from anyone.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. I have start doing that also. Not depending on anybody.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You've really been through alot, being raised by a single parent is really not that easy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes dear. It has not been easy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago