A lifestyle I can barely imagine.

3 31
Avatar for Royaldiadem
2 years ago

Lead image from: unsplash

Hello! Fellow writers, how are you today? I hope we all had a great time here today? I haven't been able to read any articles on this platform since yesterday. Electricity in my area is challenging. They just restored the light this morning. I am able to write and post something meaningful thanks to that. First and foremost I would like to thank my new sponsor @ellawrites. Thank you so much. I really appreciate your support towards my writing.

Today I would like to share my experiences about a lifestyle I didn't think of.

Everyone has a dream, a big dream, aspiring to become a great and better person in life. As a promising child, you have a lot of aspirations and it always look so challenging while growing up.

I have been through that a lot, apart from disappointment, I faced some challenges while I was a child. Everyone has a story to tell. As I grow up, I have been a child with a lot of imaginations, but things got really difficult.

At first, I dreamt of becoming a Medical Doctor, but all of a sudden, I changed my mind to be a lawyer. It's funny how I have always imagined my life to be sometimes. There was a day at home, my family and I were sitted watching a program on the Television. It's a program for the NBA (Nigeria Bar Association). I can see many of these lawyers dressed in a black suit. Wow! They are so many. I thought within myself. Then I changed my mind. Why did I change my mind?

Well, growing up in a country where the chances of survival is very slim. I have always imagined how I will survive when I graduate from the University and couldn't find a job. Growing up is hard enough for me. I wouldn't want to go for a course where getting a job after graduating will be very difficult for me. I don't think I can cope with being a lawyer. When I was still young, I allowed my thoughts to get control of me, whenever I decided to do something I always get discourage immediately a negative thought had crossed my mind.

I guess I didn't know what I was doing then. Apart from ambition, I had always discarded some thoughts I had imagined or dreamt to do.

Back to my point, growing up is quite challenging because there are so many responsibilities linning up for my mum, raising four children on her own. It got to a point where I have given up on life. I finally decided to accept whatever life has to offer for me.

When I finally got admitted into the University, I discovered that so many people didn't get what they want as their choice to study. There are forced to settle down and study whatever course the school they picked has given them. Why? You know as they always say "half a loaf is better than none". Getting admission is difficult, after spending years at home waiting for admission.

I'm actually lucky, I was giving the course I want. At that time I had redefined and decided on what I really want to do in life. The struggle continues, where a lot of my friends got a chance to change their shoes, clothes and buy new things, I never got a chance to do that. I decided not to be moved by all those things, though I have always imagined that I will have all that I wish to have one day. But I later decided that not everyone is destined to become rich.

During my second year in the University, I was chosen among few others for a competition in another school. It's an individual competition in another school. To my greatest surprise, I came first in the competition. It's a lifetime opportunity for me. I was given a price of 2.5 million naira. Alongside with a brand new laptop. Nobody realised how huge this competition really is. It's changed my life in a way I can barely imagine. I have never thought I will have this kind of money in my whole life. I mean not at this stage of my life right now.

Another competition surfaces and I was part of those that was chosen again by our lecturers. We all prepared hard for this competition because they told us it involved the top universities in the country. On the day of the competition, the lecturer picked some other students who were totally different from those of us he had told to go and prepare before. After telling us to go and study hard, he changed everything in a twinkle of an eye. I was so furious and disappointed, I really studied hard for it.

Later that same day, I was in my department when one of my coursemate told me to that our H.O.D calls for my attention. Guess what happened? An Ex Governor who's actually an alumni from my department came to visit. I was chosen among five other for a scholarship. He has promised to sponsor our education till we graduate. I was so happy, everything worked together for my good. I later got so many opportunities I can hardly imagined. Even after I graduate I got another scholarship to study for my masters abroad. Everything was actually a blessing in disguise for me.

Thank you for reading. ♥️♥️♥️

Don't forget to subscribe and leave your opinion on the comment section.

3
$ 0.07
$ 0.05 from @Merodypals
$ 0.02 from @Tomi-Ajax
Sponsors of Royaldiadem
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Royaldiadem
2 years ago

Comments

Wow this is amazing ,there is a saying and I quote "the patience dog eat the fastest bone" determine,self -encouragement,patience ,believe and prayer are the key to success and I'm happy it worked for you .I love your article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much.😊😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago