Socially Free: Not minding others what they say to you

5 24
Avatar for Respa
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Lesson

A little gloomy weather today at our place. Bead weather indeed but I need to get up to do some works.

My routine since I started joining read.cash is to read articles form otger users, leave some comments and write something up for others to read as well. This routine makes my brain prepared for my review on occupstional english test. Speaking of OET, I've got a notification from this little green robot that my article "OET my gateway to reach my dreams" has been upvoted. Yehey! Thanks randomrewarder.

So what to write now? Haha. You can say that I was just typing while thinking of what to write. So expect that this isn't good as much compared to other article out there. But I'm doing my best to think to make this more interesting to you.

It's show time. 😆

I've got an idea now what topic to write. It's about the secret to not caring about what other people think of you. If you understand this secret dynamic, it is going to help you massively when you interact with people in the outside world. Let me tell you a story first.

The other day I was working at a hospital and they asked me if I could pick up some medicine from the local doctor's office and the pharmacy on the high street, I said "all right, no problem." It was a nice sunny day, so it was the perfect opportunity to get some fresh air and visit two different locations. The first place I went to was the doctor's office and as I entered the office, I was greeted by their receptionist or in other words the secretary. The second I made eye contact with this lady and spoke to her about the request to collect some medicine, I was greeted with massive hostility - rude, eye contact attitude, standoffish behavior, no manners, disrespectful tone. And you could just feel the anger coming off them. I don't really care because I'm aware of this secret dynamic that I'm going to tell you about. But just from an observation perspective, you could tell this person had the mindset of the world's a horrible place everyone's out to get them and it really showed in their bad attitude. Anyway, once I collected the medicine from the doctor's office I made my way to the pharmacy on the high street just down the road. The second I entered the pharmacy I was greeted by the staff in that location and they were friendly. They were polite, they were well-mannered, they were smiling, they made good conversation, they were respectful. I appreciated that and I enjoyed my time there. I collected the medicine from the pharmacy and I made my way back to the hospital.

So why is this story so important and why does it relate to you?

It's important because no matter who you are, you're going to encounter both types of people in your everyday life. It's inevitable. It doesn't matter who you are, what you look like, what type of social status you have, you're going to encounter both types of people and you need to be aware of that. A lot of you who have anxiety issues - self-esteem issues, depression etc. - make the common mistake of associating the angry person's bad behavior towards you. Okay, you make the mistake in thinking that they're responding that way because it's you who's talking to them when in reality they're responding that way to everyone that they come across. It's not just you. You think it's just you but that's due to your self-esteem issues and anxiety. On average, this person is going to be angry, frustrated and miserable towards most people they come in contact with. It would be nice if we could follow them around all day with a camera so you could see that I'm teeling the truth.

Don't make the mistake of believing that they are responding badly specifically towards you okay? This is what some people are like because it's ingrained in them and they will continue that behavior onto other people they come in contact with. In other words they were gonna behave like that whether you were there or not and it's really important you understand this because this is something the angry person is dealing with internally. It has nothing to do with you. On the flip side when you encounter someone friendly and positive, what tends to happen is you will minimize those interactions because something that is negative stands out more and is focused on more by the brain naturally. Let's go back to the angry people that you encounter because those are the type of people that will cause you emotional distress and add to any internal issues that you're dealing with. You see when someone presents you this behavior, you can't take them seriously because what you need to understand is there's a lot of angry and messed up people out there especially in the social media age. There's also a lot of good people but you know they're easy to deal with. We're focusing more on the angry people because this is where the issues come up. Whenever you come across these people in real life, don't take them seriously and don't interact with them any more than is required. Get away from these people as soon as possible. Don't reward these people with your precious time, manner, energy, all responses. Keep it to a minimal. Save all that good stuff for the nice positive people who are respectful, well-mannered and who treat you right.

Essentially you have to come to terms internally with this social dynamic that some people are going to act really positive towards you, some people are going to act negative towards you and some people will be indifferent. It happens to everyone that's really important. You draw this internally because sometimes you might go out and about in your daily life and you might come across four to five of these angry, miserable people before you find someone positive. You can't take them seriously because if you take the behaviors of an angry person personally, you are going to suffer emotionally. And the ironic thing is, that has nothing to do with you. They were going to be angry regardless of whether you were there or not. Do not associate or interact with these people more so than you have to.

You're gonna have to deal with these weirdos at some point because they're out there and there's no escaping them unfortunately. What we can do is keep our interactions with them to a minimal. Don't let them infect you with their toxic, negative energy and also just bear this in mind with an attitude like that they're going to have a very rough and bad time in the future. To be honest, you essentially attract what you are. Bad energy attracts more bad energy just the same way as good energy attracts more good energy.

Let me just summarize the key takeawYs of what I wrote.

  1. You're gonna have to deal with these weird people at various stages of your life

  2. Do not take them seriously, they're weird and you don't associate with people like that. Leave them to mingle with other angry, rude people and let them be miserable together. Minimize as much time as you can with these people

  3. Their behavior is a reflection of them not you, so do not take it personally

  4. Don't let their energy infect you

  5. Be okay internally with how this dynamic plays out in real life because it's always going to be there no matter who you are

  6. Stay awesome and focus only on the good people. Dismiss the bad people from your life as soon as possible and don't give them much attention.

I do hope that you have a good time reading this article of mine. And let us all be socially free.

image source

https://unsplash.com/photos/TyQ-0lPp6e4

3
$ 1.79
$ 1.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Sergee0213
Avatar for Respa
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Lesson

Comments

Congrats on getting the attention of rusty (lots of users calling the randomrewarder like that)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks. I hope that it will notice all my article and your articles too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Im praying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. It isn't always about you. Don’t overthink and your life will be socially free

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago