OET my gateway to reach my dreams

7 26
Avatar for Respa
Written by
2 years ago

It was a sunny day here and I was just done reviewing some notes for my OET exam and now I got time to write something to post here.

So I'm getting the hang of it how this platform works - write anything to your hearts content as long as it doesn't attack anyone or explicit, engage to other users and make friends, and have patience to get the attention of the random rewarder. 😁

I've posted yesterday about a short introduction of myself and I got 11 views, 4 likes, 3 subscribers and some comments. I also got upvote from users @renren16 @Sergee0213 @Kraine sorry for the tag but thank you from the bottom of my heart. A warm welcome indeed.

So I just want to share why I'm reviewing for OET that stands for Occupational English Test. OET is one of the requirements you have to pass to be eligible to work as a healthcare professional in United Kingdom. So it is noticeable that the reason why I'm reviewing is because I want to work at UK. So why do I want to work at UK instead here in the Philippines?

For my fellow Filipino here in the platform, I knew that some of you might have an idea of the reason why. Nurses here in the Philippines are exploited - overworked but underpaid. Sad reality it is. I used to work on a government hospital wherein tha nurse patient ratio is 1:50 with few resources. I remember before that I need to buy my own mask, syringes and gloves from my own pocket just to be sure that I am safe and can give care to my patients. And you know what? We are underpaid, don't have any health benefits, and sometimes it took 2 months before we can get a fraction of our salary.

In the Philippines if you are a nurse, you can't reach all of your dreams - a house, a car, savings for future family, etc. So I decided to try my luck at UK if ever I passed all my exams. Good working environment, benefits and a good working salary.

Don't bash me for this post but this the reality. Filipino nurses don't have a future on their own country. We are unappreciated so we are looking for other countries who can see our worth.

Image source

https://unsplash.com/photos/yo01Z-9HQAw

5
$ 0.54
$ 0.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @renren16
Avatar for Respa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks for the mention

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im yhe one who should be giving thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You hit it bro. If not because of my business I already left the Philippines to work somewhere else

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope that I could succeed on this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the tag though.. :))

Hmm... I really noticed that too. I mean Filipino nurses really want to work abroad now a days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Compared to the salary there, its 10x or 20x more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, God bless to you my friend. I really hope that you become one very soon.. 😌 Fighting!💪😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago