“I was on a battlefield yesterday night”

34 57
Avatar for Raheela
1 year ago
Article # 48
Date: May 20, 2022
Friday

After a week of scorching heat, yesterday the weather suddenly got cloudy and winds started blowing. In 5 to 10 minutes slow blowing winds adopted the form of a very strong windstorm. I got up quickly and shut the drapes and windows of my house, otherwise, such kinds of windstorms leave the entire house full of dust. After some time, the windstorm stopped and it started raining cats and dogs accompanied by a cool breeze. I thanked God for such a blessed rain as because of it weather is still moderate and enjoyable.

Self taken

I have noticed one thing that after every rainfall, lots of mosquitoes gather around in my house and don’t let us sleep at night. The strange part is they bite me the most. Everyone would enjoy their peaceful sleep and the only person lying awake would be me. So yesterday night, the same happened. When I went to bed, to sleep, I couldn’t. All I could hear were mosquitoes buzzing in my ears like they had nothing else to do.

I got up and started searching for mosquito mats but couldn’t find them. In the storeroom, I found an old half-used mosquito coil. I was not sure whether it was going to work or not. But I had to give it a shot. So I lit it and placed it in the hall, which opens to my room.

Actually, I couldn’t place it in my room because I and my mother share the same room, and the smoke of the mosquito coil suffocates her.

So I lit it and kept it outside the room. But it didn’t seem to work and even if it did, it was not in my room so no mosquitoes in my room seemed to die. I decided to keep the coil in my room for just a few minutes but the coil was almost finished by that time. 

Now I was only left with one option. I covered the exposed parts of my feet and hands with a shawl. Actually, it worked, I could no longer feel mosquitoes biting me. But as my face was exposed, they started teasing me again. I was so fed up by that time I started killing them. I kept my hands ready, as soon as a mosquito would come between them I would just clap and they would die. So I kind of was on a battlefield last night, mosquitoes being my opponents. It was almost midnight and I was sick of killing the mosquitoes and scratching my itchy hands and feet at the same time.

My sleep was gone anyway so I decided to get up and watch what I love to watch. I made a cup of tea, brought myself the leftover pizza from the fridge, and started watching “Harry Potter: The Philosopher’s Stone”. That’s how I spent the rest of my night.

Self taken

I know those mosquitoes are going to come back today to take their revenge on me. But I am ready this time. I have bought lots of mosquito mats today and before sunset, I am going to turn on the mats.

Hopefully today I will get to have a peaceful mosquito less night on my bed instead of being on a battlefield fighting those clingy little buzzy creatures damaging my eardrum and making me scratch my feet and hands like mad.


Disclaimer:

Every word written in this article is my own and doesn’t involve similarity to someone else’s article. This entire article is checked by Grammarly and is plagiarism-free.


Thank you for reading this article! Stay happy & blessed!

Lead image is from unsplash and the rest of the photos and GIF are self taken

17
$ 0.97
$ 0.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 8
Sponsors of Raheela
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Raheela
1 year ago

Comments

I watched the last movie of James Bond last night. Bond dies at the end of the movie. I was very surprised by this. I can't believe they killed this character.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

your blood is sweet that's why mosquitoes bite you. Godbless you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes that’s what I keep hearing😃 thank you’ God bless you too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

you too dear. Take care of yourselves

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was thinking you are selected in Army for battle. But after reading article, actually there were attackers named mosquito not human.hahha.. Sometimes they bite us not to suck blood but to suck our deep sleep. You planned it very well through tea and a movie. Hurry Potter is also my favorite movie. Have a good night sister.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha they are no less than real life human attackers 😂they are much worse. By the way thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are always welcome for your story. Put more positive vibes here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Looks like you enjoyed the movie night with that cup of, is that a coffee? Anyway, I think the mosquitoes felt sad 😭😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It’s tea. I love tea.. 😃

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe your blood is sweet and that bring some fragrance to mosquitoes. They says mosquitoes has favourite blood type and so they would definitely risk their lives just to taste your blood 😅. But whatever, mosquitoes are really disturbing and we also have mosquitoes here in our house. They really come out when its rainy days. However I wonder what is that mats? And how it works? I haven't heard about that here, as we only used mosquito coils and net to skip from Their bites. But hopefully you can have a better sleep with that mats. You should protect your self from their bites as sometimes they also bring illness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahahah! It means you have a warfare with mosquito army last night hahaha. Their buzzing in ears just irritates a person. It's too hard to sleep with their buzzing. Just take care of yourself coz you know their is also a dangerous mosquito dengue.so we should take care of ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Never heard of mosquito mats. May I ask how they work?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure! They are rectangular pieces which you simply have to place on an electronic mosquito repellent machine and turn the device on

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same was my condition and mosquitoes always attack me the most, my mum used to say that you are their favourite one and the issue is that i can't even lit a coil nir mosquito mat cos my sis is allergic with then so i used to apply mospel but i really don't like it's smell so just like you i start killing them when the irritate me the most (lol).

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha we are quite same in this regard😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't use a coil, their smoke isn't good for you and your mother's health. Use an electronic mosquito repellant machine. I am using it for ages.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes we often use that too.. thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mine is every night, Lol. I get tired of fighting, at times, and just resign to fate. I might consider buying one of those too

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It means you are a brave person if you let them bite you. I seriously can’t !

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's pure sleeping off dear, try it. Although I fear malaria might come calling anytime soon 😥😭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May God protect everyone from such diseases

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen🙏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha Oops you have Done halal murders. By the way here in my home i faced the same issue. I want CDA to spray all areas, so we better sleep without any trouble..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha yes halal murder 😂Keep coil and mats until CDA comes to spray

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahahaha it was a real war and glad you won the battle with so much bloodshed hahahaha. Whoever says that the simple things in life don't matter has never been in bed with a mosquito. Let's face it, these mosquitoes are crazy about you. Your beauty and blood must be striking them 🤣🤣😂🤣🤣. So sorry about that.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That’s exactly what my aunt said to me, actually I am fond of eating cakes, so she was of the view that those cakes have made your blood so sweet that even mosquitoes want a taste of it now 😂😂😂 But I am all prepared now I won’t let a single mosquito touch me😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂😂🤣 I hope they have not grown resistance to your weapon for them tonight. I hope they allow you sleep.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha yes I slept well. Actually i used another weapon last night! Guess what? Mosquito net😃 slept like a baby😃

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣😂 you are getting so good with these weapons and I think you deserve the good sleep. I like that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣🤣😂🤗🤗🤗🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha. When I realized you weren't fighting on a real battlefield, but rather against mosquitoes, I burst out laughing. Haha. We're also struggling to deal with mosquitoes so we keep the electric fan on even when it's cold from the constant rain.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha yes believe me it was not less than a battle! They really gave me hard time you know!

$ 0.00
1 year ago