Adèjárè: Narrow escape from death

0 22
Avatar for QueenRaay
2 years ago
Topics: Convulsion, Health

January 25th, 2022.

Who is Adèjárè?

Adèjárè is my neighbour's son whom I love so dearly as my own child. He is a very cute two-year-old boy who is so easy to love.

I went to work as usual this morning, moved from one class to the other and returned home around 5 pm after the school lesson to get good rest when I got home without knowing that fate has something else in stock for me.

I got home and as usual went to say 'hi' to my cute boy Adèjárè, only for his mother to tell me that he is strong and couldn't go to school, I carried him and played with him as usual before leaving their place.

I decided to buy 'ewedu(Jute)' and prepare 'asepo(concoction)' with it, I was waiting for the fish seller to hawk by so that I can buy when Adèjárè's mum came to me with Adèjárè strapped to her back. She said she wants to stay with me while I cook.

It wasn't even up to 5mind of standing when she called me to help her check Adèjárè, who was stretching on her back. I stood up to check, but on getting there the baby started convulsing. I was so scared and do not even know what to do.

The mother shouted at me to put the spoon in his mouth while she asked my sister to keep hitting Adèjárè hard. I was so scared and started shaking while holding the spoon. There was no elderly person at home since they've all gone to church.

We were doing this when the mum said I should go and call our next-door neighbour who was in her shop.

"Mind you, at that moment we weren't thinking straight again talk less of thinking of carrying him to the nearby clinic"

I ran as fast as my legs could carry me to the woman's shop, she was making hair for a customer. But when she noticed was talking almost out of breath, she knew it was something serious. She ran after me, and we started racing down to the clinic. My dad who could have picked us up in his car has gone to church with the car, there was no bike in sight.

We kept running down to the clinic, one of my hands was holding the spoon in place, the other was hitting the boy.

The next thing I knew was that a bike man stopped beside us and told us to hop on it. I was so relieved.

The next-door neighbour I called was running behind us, she was obviously tired as she stayed back to catch her breath before continuing after us.

On getting to the clinic, the first thing the nurses asked was " how long has he been running temperature?" to which we replied that he wasn't running temperature but just a little weak, and has taken drugs(self-medication though)

The nurses were angry at the mother's carelessness, they checked his temperature and he was 47.89 degrees got. On the spot they gave him 3 injections, we took his bath and he later took other connections as well.

After he got relieved, we started getting various congratulatory messages from friends, neighbours, well-wishers.

Some of the things they said are:

  • Oluwaseun oooo(thank God)

  • Nkan to see le gba emi lo ooo, tori ara e ti gbona Ju(what happened to him could lead to loss of life because he was too hot)

And many more.

I was so glad and grateful to God that He healed Adèjárè. I don't just want to think of what would have happened if he wasn't revived.

When I got home, I read about the meaning and causes of convulsion.

A convulsion is a medical condition where body muscles contract and relax rapidly and repeatedly, resulting in uncontrolled shaking.

Convulsions are the result of abnormal electrical activity in the brain. The specific cause is often not clear. Convulsions can be caused by specific chemicals in the blood, as well as infections like meningitis or encephalitis. Other possibilities include celiac disease, head trauma, stroke or lack of oxygen to the brain. 

Source: Wikipedia

Link

Moral Lesson

Let's be sensitive to little things about our children, as you notice anything just take them to health workers who will treat them and let you know what is actually wrong with them. Little ones can't talk, hence they can't express how they feel in words. Take care of your kids. And may we not lose our children.(Amen)

To God be the glory, Adèjárè is doing fine already. We have returned all glory to God for the great thing He did for us.

#truelifestory

#howmydaywent

#25thjanuary2022

4
$ 1.00
$ 0.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Abhay
$ 0.01 from @EstilRoyce1
Sponsors of QueenRaay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for QueenRaay
2 years ago
Topics: Convulsion, Health

Comments