Stop the assumptions, meet people first!

22 52
Avatar for Queen001
2 years ago

10th of January, 2022.

Assumption can also be termed as a guess, when we assume, it's always used when there's uncertainty or there are no correct figures about something or someone. Assumption has really eaten deep to the extent that people just take a guess about anything. You find a situation whereby, someone is asked about maybe his/her colleagues, and the response will be like "I think he/she had gone out", whereas, the person is probably in the restroom or somewhere else.

Even in some crucial sectors like in the Mass media, for example journalism. We all know journalism requires some certain and special skills to avoid guess work. Unfortunately, we now have different journalists who do not find the truth about incidents, but are quick in taking a lot of guesses. In which this causes a lot of havoc or serious misunderstanding and thoughts in people's minds.

I have heard and encountered different situations whereby someone kept acting and behaving to another because of how the person looks. For instance, a friend once told me about another person she hasn't met or engaged with that she knows the person is arrogant and is also not friendly. Then I asked how she found out. She then said can't I see the person's face and how the person walks. I was angry and at the same time laughing like are you for real?.

Another one is behaving to a fellow human based on what was said or heard about them. There was this incident that happened to me not quite long. This person is like a school friend and senior colleague, he will always talk down on his coursemate, and will always want me to react to them based on that

So smart of me, I ignored him and actually got close to all the people he talked bad about. After my dealing with those people, I found out that they are nice people and very opposite to what I was told about them. I was so happy that I didn't react badly or conclude just like that. I later found out this person painted them badly because of an inside issue they had.

It will never cost you anything to go and meet any one, instead of you assuming and concluding in your mind that a person is this and that. In fact the majority of people that always seem unfriendly in face are always very friendly. Some people are just like that in appearance.

Let's be practical, it's just normal. A person you don't know or have never met before, you cannot expect such persons to start cracking jokes with you or behave like how your known friends do. You will need to meet them first, study and later on engage. It's always a process, it may be a short one or a time taking one. In a nutshell, let's all try as much as possible to stop the assumption!!. There is a saying that says seeing is believing. Find out from the person yourself.

It's very bad to conclude or react based on what you heard or were told about another person. Try to meet the person first and engage them, even if it's for the benefit of doubts. They might not be a bad person but just a misconception.

Thank you for reading!

10
$ 1.77
$ 1.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 5
Avatar for Queen001
2 years ago

Comments

As for me, I believe making assumptions or drawing conclusions abut someone we jabe only met or only heard about is quite selfish and outright insensitive. We shouldn't always judge a book by it's covers.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very insensitive. Thank you my dear friend ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

its true we shouldn't always judge a book by its cover. Sometimes its not folirst impression that matters more... Am new here queen, and its nice meeting you too.โ˜บ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, books should definitely not be judged by it's cover.

Oh my, I'm happy to have you around, and welcome to this wonderful platform

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We shouldn't actually judge books by their covers, it's necessary meet people before you say what you think about them

I'm guilty of this tho

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of the times we get misinformed and we develop a negative idea about people which is very wrong.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very very wrong. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know I totally agree with you in every aspect and I also believe that sometimes we don't know someone's past or history so we shouldn't be too quick to judge just because someone is not how we expect.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is so true, that's why patience is also key. Thank you so much for this nice take

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In fact, we do a lot of guessing and think a lot. But that's not right. You just have to look and talk, then you have to guess.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you my friend for sharing your thoughts,๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed my friend,I interact with a variety of people, personalities, in this community as well, but some of them are cruel in their responses to me, which I don't mind because they may be good people in their social lives

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's it. And such encounters or dealings should never stop one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was very true mate, it was like we shouldn't judge the person by its physical appearance or how other people described them, unless we saw the truth. We should know, we should ask for assurance for ourselves, there's nothing wrong for knowing the truth than by judging the person wrongly.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is brilliant, you just said it all. Thank you friend ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree! You will never know what kind of person they are if you will not go along with them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

One will never know! Thank you for your comment๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true my friends, in this community too, I interact with different kinds of people, personalities, but some of them are harsh in responding with us but I didn't mind them, cause maybe they are good people in personal hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the point. Never mind, but keep engaging. It's better than rather having a hasty conclusion

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kudos to you for not assuming but actually finding out the truth.. world needs more smarter people like that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the way my darling. We actually need to do this rather than jumping to some hasty conclusions

$ 0.00
2 years ago