You can't conquer what you don't confront

3 44
Avatar for Priscybaby
2 years ago

As a little girl, I was like most kids in the sense that I was afraid of the dark.

I would be all happy and excited until it was bedtime and my parents had to turn off the lights in my room.

Of course, all the scary “Goosebumps” characters I had read came alive then and my curtain always looked like there was a ghost behind it.

Anyways, on this particular night, I was jolted awake by the sound of a sharp thunderclap.

It was about to rain and if you grew up in Nigeria or live in Nigeria, you understand what that meant - there’ll be a power cut.

I was terrified to open my eyes.

Then came the howling of the wind, curtains flying up and down, and lightning bolts.

Nothing was going to make me open my eyes. 😂

Now, that would have been great if I wasn't pressed -Talk about bad timing!

I contemplated wetting the bed but then I wouldn't get chocolates.

You see, I made a pact with mom that I was done wetting the bed and for every day that I kept to my promise, I got a chocolate bar.

Then came the ultimate test. (was I willing to pass on the chocolate because I was scared of the dark?)

Of course, not! I was going to get my chocolate come rain come shine.

And so, I opened my eyes. It took about 2 minutes for my eyes to adjust to the darkness and then I gradually made my way to the bathroom all the while waiting to hear that ghostly growl but nothing happened.

I relieved myself, got back in bed, and for the first time, I thought to myself, well there's no ghost after all.

I felt liberated.

I got up again, walked around and I think I did a happy dance. 😂

And that was how I overcame my fear of the dark.

There's no sugar coating it, having a head-on collision with your fears is one sure way to coming out victorious.

I mean, how will you ever know whether or not you could have won the fight if you don't step in the ring and fight?

I'm not saying be violent. I'm sure you get the drill? 😌

You can't conquer what you don't confront.

Are you ready to confront your fears?

I did as a little girl and I continue to.

Here's me wishing you a blessed week!

Content writing is me.
Subscribe to see what I have in store for you next
and also to see many more amazing contents
Sponsors of Priscybaby
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 0.09
$ 0.05 from @Priscybella
$ 0.02 from @Slimydee
$ 0.01 from @Brianhill
+ 1
Avatar for Priscybaby
2 years ago

Comments

Hahaha that's so me when I was a kid, I'm so afraid of many things and thinking that I will see a ghost haha and because of that I don't like to go outside when it gets dark but right now I like it when it gets dark because the moon and stars are beautiful and it's quiet. I totally agree to what you say that, "You can't conquer what you don't confront." To conquer our fear/s, we need to confront it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You understand my point dear.. even me, I now prefer to go outside when it's dark

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have to confront or face your fears to overcome, this is very important!

$ 0.00
2 years ago