A childhood game that I treasure a lot; is "Pogs & Teks"

15 62
Avatar for Princeyahwe
2 years ago

Upon going home, I saw this item in the sidewalk store

Do you know what is this?

IMAGE SOURCE: Google.com

When I do research it is called milk caps according to Wikipedia

Children love to play this game due to the rules and processes are too simple and fun. It is made up of a circular board. The children who plays this were going to file and each took turns slamming the object.

I reminisced the way I used to play during my childhood. I am going to this article share the one of my favorite childhood game

before that please allow me thanks my sponsors who deeply support my article, you can read and support them also;

Sponsors of Princeyahwe
empty
empty
empty

Do you have a childhood game that you really treasure a lot? I am going to present the childhood games that I used to play when I was a child. How about you? please share the childhood game that you really enjoyed playing before, feel free to comment section below.

As I research from the internet I found out the history of "Pogs"

Origin of this game?

According to online source, it was started in Hawaii during 1920s and 1930s based on history the milk manufacturers distributed milk caps to promote their items. In 1971 haleakala dairy and orchatds hawai their food drink called pogs it is used as caps inside the market

How to play:

The goal of the game is to flip your pogs over or by landing on the right side. These milk caps have images of the cartoon characters like dragon ball, street fighter, sailer moon or pokemon. This game was popular among children during the early-mid 1990s.

It has two types of playing discs: milk caps and slammers. Milk caps are typically flat circular cardboard discs that are decorated with images on one or both sides. Traditional (or traditional-style) milk caps are made of rougher cardboard are printed with limited colors, and often have a staple in them (as they appeared when used as actual POG bottle caps), while modern commercial pogs were stiffer, thicker and are often printed with colorful glossy imagery.

They use another thick milk caps which is called a slammer: a heavier game piece often made of metal, rubber, or more commonly plastic, which come in various thicknesses and weights. They are typically similar in diameter to milk caps. Metal slammers are not allowed in some games because they are usually heavier than other materials, giving the player with the first turn an unfair advantage, and having a tendency to damage the milk caps.

Based on Wikipedia: β€œThe brand name "Pog" is owned by the World Pog Federation. The name pog originates from POG, a brand of juice made from passionfruit, orange, and guava; the use of POG bottle caps to play the game preceded the game's commercialization.

Children in the Philippines playing pogs.

image source: Google.com

Rules vary depending on the agreement of both players. but the game variants generally have the same gameplay features. Each player has their own collection of milk caps and one or more slammers. Before the game, players decide whether or not to play "for keeps", i.e. players get to keep the milk caps that they win during the game and must forfeit those that have been worn by other players. The game can then begin as follows:

The players each contribute an equal number of milk caps to build a stack with the pieces face-down, which will be used during the game.

The players take turns throwing their slammer down onto the top of the stack, causing it to spring up and the milk caps to scatter. Each player keeps any milk caps that land face-up after they have thrown.

After each throw, the milk caps which have landed face-down are then re-stacked for the next player. When no milk caps remain in the stack, the player with the most pogs is the winner.

The materials used are only the pogs and they should be placed inside the classroom with a clean cement floor. You can play this outdoor but the floor is plain and solid cement.

Personal experienced

During break time at school, we hurriedly go to a certain area in our classroom and play pogs. Usually, it was played by two people but the more players will join the better and It is exciting to play more players you have a high percentage of winning.

I am not a good player in this game I always cry and go home without pogs left in my pocket. My allowance is only 5 PHP (0.097$) in a day so I spend 2 pesos (0.039$) to buy pogs so that I can play again. Even if always lose still I am enjoying and I am very satisfied bonding with friends.

Strategy/lesson learned

  • Full force in stammering inclined position so that it will flip easily.

  • PATIENCE IS VIRTUE

  • You must hit the bulk park so that it will flip.

  • Full force but the proper timing in hitting the cards

Philippines

We have also a similar game in the Philippines played by children is known as teks. There is a picture of an anime or famous movie character in the teks. It involves small collectible cards, At first pictures of popular actors, and then later on of popular comics and cartoon characters. It started around the 1930s and involves flipping cards with a thumb and forefinger. The same scenario happens to me while playing this game, I may lose always until I find a strategy in winning the game. The tricky strategy is not suitable for young adults that's why I need to keep it to myself.

What is teks?

Teks is a card game played by children in the Philippines. The objective of the game is that the player makes a bet on which side of the card will show after flicking or tossing the cards in the air. Once the cards hit the ground, they are flipped upwards through the air (using the thumb and the forefinger).

source: Google.com

image source: google.com

How to win?

The winner is whichever card lands face up. The loser has to give one of his collectible cards to the winner. They take turns in flipping until the other cards will be flipped up while the other is flipped down. It could be played by two or more players. Two players were okay but more players were fun due to you can win more cards by just one flipped. Rules are varies depend on the agreement of the players.

It can be played indoors and outdoor but preferably outside without distraction in tossing the cards and easily identified who is the winner.

Writers personal quote:

These two popular childhood games were very famous in the Philippines. I used to play this one with friends. Childhood Life before was very simple, I spend my day hanging out with friends, playing "teks and pogs" were our past time during a break at school and during weekends. I really miss the simplicity of my childhood before we created games that were full of activities that can exercise our mind and body as well, away from the radiation and near to exposure to the green environment.

I sweat a lot neglecting the heat under the sun as long as we enjoy running, talking, and playing with friends. That's how my childhood and I am very happy about such a one-in-a-lifetime experience.

How about you what kind of Childhood memories did you really enjoy when you were young?

In my next article, there are more exciting and amazing other childhood games that I really treasure a lot, Again my deep thanks to all people who upvoted this article and feel free to leave a valuable comment below.

πŸ‘¨β€πŸ’» My deep gratitude to those who spared time again by reading this blog. Hope you have gained something from this article, especially for those who enjoy playing their childhood games

πŸ‘¨β€πŸ’» Disclaimer: All texts and information are based on my experience and the facts are copied from different sources mentioned.

Any similarity to other contents is unintentional. The article is not advised to follow. It is made for educational purposes only. Make some research before adopting or using my opinion.

Blog No: 28//Date Published: March 21, 2022//Time: 11:25PM//Autor:princeyahwe

6
$ 0.14
$ 0.05 from @ZehraSky
$ 0.05 from @BCH_LOVER
$ 0.02 from @Micontingsabit
+ 2
Sponsors of Princeyahwe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princeyahwe
2 years ago

Comments

I have seen it before but I think wala pa na siya during my elementary days. I can only recall Chinese garter, slipper game and even jolen. We can clearly understand now how those games help us develop physically, mentally, socially and emotionally.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It made me flashbacks about my childhood days sir. I love playing teks during my elementary days. For me, teks are better than pogs. I often cheat in that game and always win. I would say that i am proud batang '90s. Please make More articles like this one.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dle ta ka cheat sa pogs sah? Hahaha lisod sa daugon ky knahnglan kusog, nya sa teks dghn cheating startegy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha mao jud. Malingaw ko cheat sauna sa teks. Labina bago pa nakat on anang dulaa. Wala na jud na run nauso ng dulaa run.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm only familiar with "teks" sir, as it has been our hobby with our classmates after classes way back elementary days. hehe, the good old days.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Really good old days compared today, it is much better before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a group name I remember, we played jackston with cousins. Since there was no internet. And electronic gadgets were still not existing that time. So we played, ball games, slipper games.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutelt fun, collaborative activities before rather that today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg I suddenly remember my childhood haha. Especially all the ways we each try to cheat the game by gluing two pogs or texts together.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaa thats the trick in text no one defeat me because of that cheat hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eee-sa, da-la-wa, tat-lo, a-pat Namiss ko magbilang ng teks style

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nakakmis itong mga larong hndi muna nakikita sa mga kabataan ngayon puro celphone na inattupag

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay, addict kaayo ko mudula ana sauna. Bisan ug ingon nila nga mostly sa mga boys ra daw na nga dula pero apil-apil gihapon ko ana. Makalingaw kaayo tong panahona

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Iyakin kasi nga girls sauna bsta mapilde mahurot ilaha cards mao dle me paapil mga girls heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, niya kay di man ko iyakin sauna, mao naka apil jud ko hahaha. Naa pay cheat moves para makadaug, hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago