Who is my neighbour?

21 55
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“The only way we will love our neighbour as ourselves is by getting to know our neighbours, even in our differences.”

Eric Overby

Yesterday was the start of a new week, but I decided to take a break from social media as I noticed, wasn't in the mood at all. I came back from Church, found something to prepare, and was on WhatsApp all through. I think it's better because I know such a long moment wouldn't be spent on WhatsApp starting from Monday. I need time to grind more this week and achieve my target.

I was excited by a friend to open up to me about his problem, and I was glad I could help because he didn't know I could until he approached me. I told him you don't know someone until you move closer to him or her. We were only just friends and greeting each other, but it went formally yesterday, and I enjoyed our chats. At least, it made my day and took my focus away from online activities.


So, let's slide into today's article.....

Love your neighbour as yourself. Whether you are familiar with the Bible or not, you must have heard of this phrase before, because it is very common. This particular command was first written in the old testament (Leviticus 19:18) and in that scripture, we were told not to seek revenge or hold any grudge against people.

What comes to your mind when you are being told or commanded to love your neighbour? In the literal sense, a neighbour in this context would mean someone living next to our door right?

The word neighbour in the Hebrew means “plesion” and this means friend or any other person. We are supposed to love everyone! Not only that brother or sister living next door to yours. So, to put it this way; Love every person as yourself.

How do you love another person when you haven't even shown yourself, love? How do you love when you haven't shown love to your heavenly father?

The first commandment which comes before that is to love God with all your heart, soul and body. Then, the second which looks similar to it go the way like the above one.

How do you then show love to someone?

The argumentative family member

The frustrating lady or guy down the street

The cheating partner

The murderer

The friendly man at the grocery store etc

That's quite a lofty command, isn't it? But with all sincerity, it's essential and required of us to love everyone regardless of their actions or behaviours. At least, God has loved us unconditionally, and we are to extend such great love to our neighbour.

It's such a challenging command and it feels unattainable when we have to weigh or judge people's actions to measure up to our love for them.

It might appear more realistic when the Bible put it this way; “Love your neighbour, only when they are being nice to you” and “Do not love them when they do bad to you.” At least you get a pass for that.

But Jesus was pretty clear and specific in His command, “Love your neighbour as yourself and at all times.”

So, how do we love our neighbours? It's simple! We love God first, then ourselves second. When we love God first, it means we receive and accept His love because He first loved us. God's love for us is unconditional and sometimes, it difficult to explain, and harder to display such kind of love.

His love is unfathomable. This is why sometimes we often sink to the level of loving other people only when it's convenient for us.

Learning to love ourselves because of the value we see in Jesus which is indescribable will help and enable us to love our neighbours.

Thanks for your time

Image by Johnny Gios from Unsplash

[August 22, 2022] (No 234 articles for the year)

18
$ 3.51
$ 3.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
+ 7
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Love is a universal language. Is a matter of how you want people to treat you, you also do same, this may be difficult a times considering the circumstances, but obedience is better than sacrifice

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We can't claim to love the person we cannot see which is God if we fail to love the people we can see. God's law is supreme... I love how you put this post, KP.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you, Darling 😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anything for my sugar boo boo KP na

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our neighbours are always the people we said we care for, it doesn't have to necessarily be our friends living beside our house.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmmmm sis I loved my neighbor as myself and that same neighbor ended up shooting arrow at me She came as a friend and I welcomed her with all my heart only to find out that she's my worse nightmare

The Bible says it but in real life people get hurt because they love their neighbors Have been there and it cost me more than a lot though I don't hate her still but hmmm

$ 0.01
1 year ago

In our society, we live with our neighbors. Neighbors should always be well behaved and loved. Nowadays there are many people who talk bad about others. Neighbors are our best relatives,Many people also investigate.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We shouldn't bother about what they say but our own duty is to always love them always without having any hatred in us. God is always pleased with such lifestyle.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

[spam]

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Neighbors are the people that we can find some help in times of need. I'm so thankful that I have my wonderful neighbors who got our back when we need something and in case of emergencies.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We can't live on the earth alone, so we should try to make our relationship good with the people around us, in which neighbors come first after the family.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for your reasoning on this topic. We all would need each other in different ways. So, let's love them all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Princess our neighbors they change already. At first I thought they are all so kind, friendly and caring but now they are always spreading fake news, they like to gossips.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You know what? Just act on what God says. Remember that the Bible says we should also love our enemies? Keep loving them, no matter what they do.

The truth is that, they will learn from your attitude and behavior soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my princess. You're right. We should love our enemies because I know the day will come they will change and start a new.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Neighbors has so many rights in every religion and I read in a book that one of the followers ( companion) of Muhammad (Peace Be Upon Him) said that I doubted once that may Prophet orders us to keep share of your neighbors in your property as well , because He preached us so keenly and in fundamental way about the rights of neighborhood. We must care our neighbors and like for them what we like for ourselves.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

He is right. We ought to love everyone around us. Love should be preached everywhere because with it, there would be great moment together with ourselves. Our neighbors are the same with us. So, let's treat each other equally. Thanks for your contribution.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It takes a lot of courage and kindness to do so. One must be obedient to God. I find loving the cheating partner the hardest at first but I realized that some still love their partners even after being cheated.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's hard at first, but when we love God, it will be easier to love them despite what they have done.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. You can't claim to love your neighbor when you can't even show yourself love

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is it. Yourself first, then you will be able to love others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago