Something I find comfort in?

44 63
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

"I'm O.K. having a comfortable life. I don't have to live in a mansion and drive Aston Martins or Ferraris".

Mya

Okay, guys, it's day 2 of the "Gratitude Challenge" by @Jane. I am wishing you all a wonderful week again. Once again, thank you for always showing up on my articles.

If I may ask you, what do you find comfort in? What makes things at ease for you? We all want to live a comfortable life, we don't want anything that would tamper with our daily lives and health. If it is possible, we can just sit down and order things to appear in front of us, without having to stand up, take your money, head out and chase the last bus on the road.

Those who live in Lagos do not have a choice but are already used to such a life, just to make ends meet. Many aren't happy with the job they are doing but they are doing it just to keep food on their tables. Who wouldn't want a stress free life? Who wouldn't want to live in a comfortable home? For me, something I find comfort in is a home with everything being provided in it. From the tank bringing in water inside to a complete bathroom and toilet that is neat and sparkling clean, stable electricity, if not, there should be a generator or solar light, different foodstuffs in the kitchen cabinet, fully loaded GOTV/ DSTV/ STARTIMES subscription etc.

Let me flashback to the life I lived in the school, compared to my hometown and how I find comfort and do not want to leave my village.

When I gained admission three years ago, the house we (me and my roommate) were lucky to rent was very close to the school and also the money wasn't much $50-$60 per year. It wasn't convenient staying with someone, as I wanted to be alone. Thank God she relocated to a room that was vacant in the same building and I was left alone, which was what I wanted, still, the house was a mess.

The house has 13 rooms, some had roommates and we were more than twenty living in the building with two tattered bathrooms and toilets (if you are not careful at night, rats would jump on you) Sincerely, I would describe the house as a poor man's house and a low budget one but when we first got to school, there wasn't much we were given from home, so we had to settle for the ones that were manageable.

Though we don't fight like cats and rats, the only problem is that many students fight over who is to wash the bathroom and toilet which is always stinking and the water does not go easily. When it's my turn to wash the bathroom, I feel sad and irritated because I would use a packer and a broom to pack the water into the closet. Many of us would pee on the floor and the water we used to flush it still wouldn't go through the pipe. So, it was like living in hell. The doors of the two bathrooms are already rusted and if you place your towel on them, just make sure you dust it well before placing it back on your body. I will have to carry my water through the rooms before I get to the bathroom (my room is number 4, while the bathroom is at the end of the thirteenth room) and many times I have queued to take my bath unless I wake up very early at 5 am before anyone wakes up.

Water too is a big problem. If you are lucky to wake up by 4 am, you would fetch water from the well in front of the house and if not, get ready to start looking for water wherever you see it because many houses are always stingy with their water. I lived a bad and uncomfortable life during my studies but I didn't have a choice.

I would carry water on my head, and many times would go like five times just to have more water for myself.

I never found comfort living in that house. I remembered last year when I said I wanted to rent another apartment that would be more comfortable than that. When I tried searching for an apartment, I couldn't find one that was to my taste and so, I gave up. Since it was my sister who wanted to pay the rent, I decided to use the money for a laptop since I needed one. I spoke to my sister and explained things to her and moreover, I would be graduating soon. She agreed and used the money to get a laptop for me.

When I graduated, I was happy because I knew I would only be travelling and won't be staying much in the house. When I got to my village, I lived a comfortable life there. I don't need to fetch water, just turning the tap in the bathroom would make me do whatever I want to do. I used to take my bath more than twice a day because there was running water everywhere. My room has its own bathroom and toilet where I don't need to struggle with anyone. I go whenever I need it and wash it when it's dirty. The water closet was always sparkling clean that one could even eat in it.

This is the kind of comfort I want for myself. I don't like stress and anything that would disturb my peaceful life, I don't want it.

In fact, I have decided to get a good apartment when I am posted for my service. I want a home that has everything without me going to fetch water outside or carry a bucket to the next building to take my bath. Everything should be provided in my home. I want a peaceful home and environment where people don't need to know I am indoors. I would make sure I keep stocking my house with foodstuffs so that I wouldn't have to keep going to the market always. I want to sleep without cockroaches or rats disturbing my sleep. I want to be in my room without being afraid of insects coming to harass me. Lol

Seriously, I don't pray to live such a life I lived in school again.

I want a simple life for myself and wouldn't like disturbances. I have tried guessing the amount to rent an apartment and I hope to get one around $500-$600 per year. At least I have saved up to this for the home I would be renting.

A friend suggested that I should go for Corpers' lodge so I don´t have to waste my money, I quickly rejected it 😁😁 I don't want to live a low life and I believe God will always provide because I am always aiming higher. I don't want to share my bathroom and kitchen with anyone. I don't want people to know what I am cooking or what I am up to in my room. I love my privacy and I would make sure I give myself such comfort.

Thanks for reading.

Images by Amy Pandu and Curology on Unsplash

[May 23, 2022] (No 143 articles for the year)

17
$ 6.03
$ 5.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @LeticiaFelize
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 14
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Having all our needs provided easily is one of the greatest comfort in life. Not having to stress yourself to go somewhere else to get something you need is a huge blessing that many people have failed to realise. Not having to worry about those things gives you room to worry about more important things, and the less things you have to worry about, the more comfortable you become

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes oo, it's a great comfort to have all things available in your house and you don't need to wake up early in the morning, start finding where to fetch water or other things that should be seen in the home.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life in hostels sucks most times , different things goes on and on and someone just got to do with what they have. Comfortable life is the best for one's peace and mental health.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, health is important and we must live in comfort to have healthy living.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's good to live a comfortable life oh! Uncomfortable living is full of stress. At this time, i'm still living uncomfortably, there are many times i would have to carry Two Jerry cans filled with water from far distance to my house, due to the fact that there is scarcity of water in the place i live. I believe things will soon change.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sure. Things would surely change. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think I can carry weight on my head. In the past, the houses in the village were not supplied with mains water. I used to carry it on my right or left shoulder, but now every house in the village has mains water.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

My hands and shoulders would pain me, so I prefer carrying it on my head to be comfortable with it. It's really tedious though and there's nothing as having water running in the house.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Where are you hoping to serve that would cost $500-$600 for a year's rent?

School teaches you patience and tolerance too. I have been in the same place since my 100L, and I can say it's fairly comfortable. Any rat moves in, it dies πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. I have their time. But I think that only happens because the house is old and has a lot of crevices where they can hide in the compound.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I can't kill rats πŸ˜…πŸ˜… yes, there are lots of crevices in the compound and it's so old house.

Do you mean the rent is cheap? 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I were to put up with have the things you did during school I'm sure my parents would have come to carry their child home cos she has fainted.

Like you, I like comfort but I can manage discomfort tho as long as it's for awhile and it should be to a reasonable extent.

You have endured that life enough, you don't deserve to go through it again in the name of youth service

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I don't oo πŸ˜…πŸ˜… it is enough. God will help us all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God bless us all the time. I grew up in a comfortable environment in the village. There was no such thought, now all the thoughts are coming to mind. Everyone is looking for a comfortable and peaceful place to live.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, that is the prayer. May God keep blessing us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

After reading I am surprise how you manage and survive Princess. I grew up in the countryside but I felt life is more comfortabe rather than what you have mentioned. Maybe because it is clean. If there is a place a place in the house I am particular is the comfort room. Yet, if ever I am in your situation for sure I would do the sameπŸ˜‚. For better life and to finish my education. Sometimes we really need to do some sacrifices... I will endure the place too till I graduated at least

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly! We would need to sacrifice and even taste a bit of challenge first before leaving the life we want. May God help us all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Every one's dream is to live a comfortable life, no one wants to suffer in poverty. To live comfortably in life is every man's prayer topic. But before we can get the comfortable life we are aspiring for, we most first work for it, it will not just come on a platter, like what princess had said, I think she has first experience the hardest part of life before aspiring for comfortable one. I am sure that there's no man that will get the comfort life without passing through at least a little challenge. Be it the governor or the president, even Jesus Christ himself before the father gave him the name that is above every other name, it was after he has piad the price on the cross with his blood before he enjoyed the throne..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are very right and thanks so much for this comment. We would surely work for what we want and need and it's not with mere talk but action. Thank you so much πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's my pleasure friend..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nothing gives comfort to someone like a good apartment where you have all the necessary things in it, from water, power supply, space, etc. I could remember the last time i visited my aunty who is married to a rich man for the first time. My stay there would have lasted for just a week as planned, but i ended up staying an extra week and some days. Why because of the comfortability i enjoyed there. I did not want to travel back to my house, but i had no other choice. Personally, there are a lot of things that gives me comfort, and one of those things is seeing someone else being happy.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, that was how I felt in the village too, I didn't want to leave but I had to since I wouldn't be there forever.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Everyone want a comfortable life , you made me to remember last section while I was still staying in my hostel, life was hell for me because it's not easy for four people staying in a room. This section i can not but go and rent another apartment in other to find the comfort that I want .

There's nothing as good as living a comfortable life.. but at times we have to face discomfort before we can life a comfortable life...

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is it. The discomfort life would give us experience to tell when we finally get to live comfortably. Thank you dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just trust God and he will provide everything that you need in able to find comfort in living.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, I will. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are lucky not to have a room having tiptiptip during rain. Moreover many things are common problems in each hostel so we should make compromise. I also love to live alone and didn't want to share anything with anyone. After all you should thak to God you have more comfortable life now. Have a good night sister. Nigerian people are beautiful by heart.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hehehe! I am lucky that my room doesn't leak though because it would have been more than hell 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You should say Thank to God who provided you comfort zone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, you are right. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cleaning a toilet that lacks water is indeed very tedious, especially when I have to breathe air that pierces my nose because of the strong smell I remember when I was in elementary school.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🀣🀣🀣 Strong smell indeed. It's not easy having to clean the toilet and you will still be looking for water everywhere to wash

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love privacy so much. I once paired a room with someone during school days but I vowed not to try that again. It's not like the roomie was bad, nah, I just like to do my things freely.

When it was time for service, I didn't stayed in corpers lodge, I rented apartment with my money even though I was entitled to stay in he lodge. I like this comfortability so much

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, I Iike comfortability too and my privacy should be my priority always. This is why I am trying to work hard and save money not to be stranded.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember living in a dorm before when I was studying and the bathroom stinks especially that the people there tend to move hurriedly always. Glad that the problem has been solved as time went by.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The worst place to be is somewhere that has a stinking toilet and bathroom 😬

$ 0.00
1 year ago

13 rooms ? Ah I dey come live with you we go enjoy all these things wey you like together

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hehehe! What do you want to enjoy? Living in hell is enjoyment? 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No it’s just that me I like a lot of space πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So you can be going to every female's room abi πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahhh my princess πŸ˜…πŸ˜…you don shade me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, this article was truly a wake up call. It's a shame that landlords would rent apartments that seem almost unlivable. They should have a duty to maintain a certain standard. After all, rent must be paid. It is good though that despite the discomfort, you persevered with your education and made the best of your circumstances so that you have graduated. I wish you the best in your house hunting.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Some landlords do not care about maintaining a house because they are after money. Yes, I endured and I am not living such a life. Of course, I need to work for it and God will help me. Thank you so much πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also don't like to share my bathroom but in future when I will be married I need to share it with my wife haha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sure, that is definitely not impossible 😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago