Some taboos in Yoruba land

29 78
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

"Cultural differences should not separate us from each other, but rather cultural diversity brings a collective strength that can benefit all of humanity."

Robert Alan

I am proud to be a Yoruba lady and also its culture is exceptional. In all parts of the world, Yoruba is known for its obedience to some taboos and how to maintain them so as to live a fulfilled life. 

Nigeria has a lot of cultural practices, which a lot of it has gone into extinction because they aren't considered powerful as it ought to be. Yoruba being the largest ethnic group in Nigeria, its people are so proud of the culture in it. 

Yorubas are rich in culture and tradition, which most if not all, practice till today. Every ethnic group saw the need in bringing up some rules to protect the society and there are sanctions and punishment to whoever go against them. Every rule in all ethnic groups is there to be respected and to be followed. The rules are also laid down to sanitize the society from cultural abuses and this led to the establishment of taboos and abominations. 

Several information is being passed across to all young and older ones on how things should be done for them to be protected and this emanation of these taboos are a result of an event that has happened in the past and also a way to make the people be cultured. 

These taboos must never be done or trampled upon, else, you are invoking the anger of the gods and the higher authorities. 


One thing I cherish most in my culture is that we hold high esteem to these taboos because they are what speaks about our identities and also a way to protect everyone from calamities befalling them. 

So, let's take a look at some of the taboos as I have researched on;

Sitting on a mortar: I remembered my mom cautioning me when I was young never to sit on a mortar again after trying it one day. It's dangerous among the Yoruba taboos, and when I try asking why it is so, and what would happen if one sits on it? I wasn't given any reply on that until I researched it recently. Mortar is used to prepare meals and so, it is disrespectful when you sit on something used in making meals which should be considered as personal hygiene. This taboo is used to strike fear into the hearts of people, but seriously speaking, it is not ideal to sit on a mortar. 

Killing of vulture: Vulture is a scavenging animal that is not common in most places. Therefore, a serious warning was being made for anyone not to kill an animal that feeds on dead animals because if they do, such a person will die. I still do not know if it is still effective till today but as it is, one needs to obey every warning made for taboos. 

Carrying a ladder on your shoulder: This was shunned and made everyone realize that it is wrong for a person to carry a ladder on his or her shoulder because it symbolizes a coffin. If you observe how a coffin is being carried when a dead person is being placed inside, same thing with carrying a ladder on one's shoulder and we are told not to because it is a taboo in the Yoruba culture. 

Talking while removing chicken feathers: This has always been a warning to us even till today. It is said that when removing chicken feathers, you must not talk because if you do, the feathers would keep increasing, but funny enough, we are only taught to be fast in doing such things. 

Collecting rain with the hand: I know this is very common to every child because I have done it before. When it's raining, we would all stay outside while we collect rain with our hands and then drink it because we believe rainwater is always sweet in the mouth, but it's among the taboos as they say thunder will strike one´s hand when in the process. This isn't true though it is just to teach us in practicing personal hygiene. 

Beating a male child with a broom: Why do mothers usually use brooms on male children and not female ones? They believe that when you do that, his sexual organ will disappear. I still do not believe this because I do use broom to beat my brother and his sexual organ never disappears. Lol

It is a form of avoiding physical abuse and protecting a child from it. 

Pregnant women walking in the sun: It is a taboo for a woman who is pregnant to walk when the sun is out because it is believed that such an unborn child will be possessed by demons or spirits. Is this really true also? I think it is a way of protecting the pregnant woman from staying under the sun too much. 

When a dog or cat cries: This is very common too because we believe when any of these animals cries, they have seen a spirit or someone has died. Also, when these animals cry, something bad is about to happen to a relative who keeps them as pets. Then, according to the Yoruba, once these animals are killed, the evil will be averted. 

When a king looks into his crown: It is a taboo for a king who is on the throne to look into his crown and if they do, they are calling upon death. This is the reason you don't see a king removing his crown from his head except if he wants to relax or sleep on his bed. There are many more taboos in all ethnic groups but we should understand that these are just there to protect and maintain our lifestyles.

Thanks for reading

Image credit by Shutterbouy

[March 11, 2022] (No 70 article for the year)



16
$ 4.71
$ 4.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Amazing-grace
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 14
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

These are indeed some interesting superstitious beliefs indeed. I guess a lot of them were designed to maintain order and, as you said, hygiene, to make sure that you are hardworking (no talking while removing feathers), and to protect against abuse.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Culture and traditions are our identity and we have very rich costumes & rituals in our communities. A true thing is Nigeria is multi blended land in Tribes & Thier traditional Values. Some things forbidden in Tribes becomes a faith by time passing. The Taboos you mentioned really I enjoyed by reading all . Stay blessed Yorubain girl!!!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Not Yorubain 🤣 It´s Yoruba girl. Or you are trying to use the idea of an Indian way

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Living place added in verb , I am living in Punjab so we called punjabian , graduate from freed university so we are freedians. In this pattern people living in Yoruba island can be called Yorubain . Yes it is an Indian language term. Ok let me call you Yoruba lady only . Stay blessed !!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The taboos in Yoruba land are still taken seriously. It funny though when we ask our mothers why this is a taboo and they end up telling us nothing. Though some are real, the rest are just made up to instill fear in us for maintaining our personal hygiene and stop us from physically abusing people just like that of the broom.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. our mothers do not want to give us the reason behind those taboos because they know, if we know the reason, we might not take it serious again and so, the fear are always instill in us every time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a pleasure to read and learn about your Yoruba culture.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I´m glad you did ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of them are myth, but they are created just to warn people, because if we look at it well, those things mentioned are not ideal.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you. They only want us to maintain good morals ni

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That broom taboo is very popular across alot of cultures in Nigeria...in our side, allowing a broom touch a boy's leg while sweeping will make it difficult for the boy to figure be a wife when he becomes an adult. Lol, Africans and superstitious sef

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe, another superstitious belief 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My region is fond of some of these restrictions also, but they're Gradually fading. There's one I'm still caution in my place, we don't whistle at night unless you want to bam bam with the spirits

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The whistle! I do this every night and they will shout at me that I am calling the snakes out. Till now, I haven´t seen any snake come out oo 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That beating a male Chile with broom, even if its a flux, I don't want no one trying that shit with me, and the talking while removing chicken feather, when I was young and I tried it, it was like new feathers were growing again, tiny ones, so since then I don't really do that

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, though it´s not good beating a male child with broom on a normal day. I haven´t seen the feather increase too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Try it, you will see some tiny feather growing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also a yoruba guy sister mi and those taboos are also very peculiar with us too and the truth of it all is that they still exist and never you underestimate the powers of our shango

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No, I can´t underestimate the powers oo because I know they exist and effective.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The taboos are when more than thousands in Yoruba land ( our land ). I never want any girl or boy to hit me broom due to the taboo because I’m afraid of my sexual organ to disappear. Lol though it’s not jokes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Though I haven´t seen where a guy lost his sexual organ as a result of that. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have not seen it also but haha it might be superstition but prevention is better than cure o.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are a lot of things I didn't know before until after reading this article. Though, I knew some before

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also do not know all until I researched about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really don't had any idea about it.By your this article I can know about you more.Thanks for sharing it my friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never seen cats and dogs crying 😅.. We also have a lot of taboos in our country

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There used to be a cat that cry at the back of my window at nights while I have seen a dog cry too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago