Rush in and regret.

29 55
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Marry in haste, repent at leisure”.

Samuel Johnson

I saw a chat last night which I also sent to my KP. In the chat, the young girl just clocked 26 years and celebrated her birthday. Her sister, I think sent a message to her wishing her a happy birthday and reminding her that she is 26 already and the next thing is for her to bring home a husband.

Do you know what the young girl replied to her? According to her, she told her sister she is still patient because she wouldn't want to select wrongly and in the end beg her siblings to help take care of her kids just like her sister. She said to her sister that she can't listen to any advice from her because she is an example of a marital demotivating factor.

Wow! That word is too much to say to her sister. Maybe the sister rushed into marriage and now begging her siblings to help take care of her children. Though it was not right to insult her like that, that's too much from her. I want to ask a question “Does a certain age determine when to get married actually?”

Well, this topic isn't new to us anymore as we have seen and heard many stories of people who rush into marriage as if it is something interesting and easy, but they realized how they expected it to be isn't the way it is and they start to regret.

My parents gave birth to five of us, and I would tell you that we all lived with different Aunts to my Father. Though we were doing fine, their capacity couldn't take them to train us for higher education.

I have a friend we both graduated from the college of education. Though I graduated before her and the next year in 2016, she graduated too and the next thing I know was that she was pregnant for her fiance. She would always say once she graduates, she would go and marry.

Was that the next thing for her then? She has her decision and it's her life.

A few months after getting married, her father died. Till today, she hasn't balanced herself.

Every time she chat me up, she would always demand some money from me and I would give it to her on some days but right now, it's getting too much and I see that if I don't stop and give my limit, she would always come around to ask for more.

When I see her picture, I felt for her but what do I do? I have my own problems I am dealing with too. She has two kids now and many times, she would tell me to send her money to get some diapers, baby's food etc and I would be like “Is your husband not working?”

Her husband's work isn't that stable again while she is working in a school. Right now, she needs my help as she is planning to own a school. What do I have? Is that even another next thing to opt in for? Just like I said, it's her life and decision.

What am I trying to say here? Remember I told you how my Dad and maternal grandmother were pestering my life to bring home a husband just because I have finished school and also become 28 years old? I simply told them to wait for God's time and besides, we aren't in a haste.

They will not come to live with me in my husband's house and I would be the one carrying my cross there. So, I should wait and choose rightly than rush to get married when I have nothing to help me survive.

Questions we should ask ourselves are “Am I ready for this new beginning and the journey I am entering into?” “Do I have all resources to keep me going in my matrimonial home?”

If you can give a reply to these questions, then I think you have gotten the right direction for yourself.

Just because you are getting older and past the 20-30 years of age doesn't guarantee the time for marriage. We need to be patient and open our eyes to choose rightly and make sure we have all it takes to be in a marriage because it is not an easy journey.

Once you dip your feet into it, there's no going out again except if you want to divorce which doesn't speak well.

I think God is taking His time in my life so I wouldn't suffer in a man's house and while doing that, I should continue to work hard and imbibe good habits and attitudes that will make me the best woman.

I don't want my children to be scattered everywhere to the extent that I would always receive the worst insult of my life. I don't want to start begging all my life to survive in a man's house. I need to get it right now before it's too late.

There is no age limit to getting married. You aren't in a haste. There will never be latecomers in marriage. Wait for your time so you don't regret it.

Start working on yourself now as a single man or lady especially, and gather as many experiences to aid your journey to marriage. Above all, put God first in all you do and you will never regret it.

Thanks for reading

Image by Liza on Pexels

[July 14, 2022] (No 195 articles for the year)

22
$ 2.07
$ 1.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 12
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

marital demotivating factor

Savage! 😩 That was actually too much nitori olorun.

I guess the main reason why women are generally advised to get married quickly is because of menopause. And from what I have heard, a woman's fertility tends to decrease rapidly from the age of 32 but then again I don't think a lot of African parents know this and they might just be pressuring their daughters to get married quickly so they can have grandchildren or maybe some other reasons (probably selfish)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So much words from her to utter from her mouth to her sister.

One thing I believe is that if we believe, there is nothing God cannot do especially with menopause.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The decision of marriage shouldn't be taken lightly. Rushing into marriage is just like getting on the wrong bus while going to the office, it will be full of regrets. Outside marriage it is never advisable to rush into things that involves a lifetime journey.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are very right with the description of entering into a wrong marriage. People will say a wrong courtship or relationship is better than a failed marriage.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Major isn't something one rush into. It's a life contract so one need to be careful before taking the step.

For ladies the reason why some rush in the late 20s and early 30s in that -What society expect -They believe the older they get the less attractive they are to men

  • It's good to give birth early and grow with their kids -Fertility reduces with age

But i believe one just need to pray for God's direction , that's the most important. Because if one hastenly chose wrong,it can be the end of one's life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right but when we believe in God, there is nothing too impossible for Him. Age is nothing to Him.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Marriage to some looks so simple, but on the inside of it is another different world entirely. If you rush in, you will definitely rush out with regrets. No one decides when I should get married, not even my parents. When it's the right time I will do the needful.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes oo, some thinks it's that simple while others, it's hard and should take time. Yes, no one can decide for me because it's my life and no one would go with me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seriously, even if she's right it's still to harsh to say that to her sister. What if her sister is really having a hard time and she just put more pain to her already wounded heart. Aigooo. But I agree to you, we shouldn't rush anything, specially if it involves something your whole life. As for me I will turn 28 next month but I am really not rushing coz I know I am really not into marriage lol.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, she has just added more injury to her sister's pain which is so bad. Yes, there should be no rushing with marriage because it's important we take our time to understand and learn. Happy birthday in advance 😍😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's the best advice. And to those who are eager to get married, let's give them the benefit of the doubt. It's their life. It's just that they have to be responsible for their actions and not demand money from people around them to sustain their needs.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly my point. This is why you must be ready in all areas so you won't end up begging in your home.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Marriage is not a race and there's nothing to hurry about. However with the case of your friend I think she's being dependent with your help and I think you have already give her too much. Allow her to stand by her own feet and let her do her responsibility with her choices. Anyway, your doing great dear, the right guy will surely come to your life when it is already the right time for you to get married. For now just focus on your career, family and to your self.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I believe she will understand me too as I also have things to do on my own. I won't continue giving every time. I hope so too. Thank you so much for your advice and encouragement.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm already 26, and I'm in a relationship for almost 10 years. We talked a little about our marriage already but we are not in a rush because we have still goals as an individual. And as a breadwinner, I need to settle things first for my family before entering a marriage. And for your friend, your decision is good, because helping a friend too much sometimes can lead them to abuse you and take it all for granted.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! 10 years relationship? I love that you both are taking your time with it. Once you are into the marriage, you won't have enough time to help your family again because you would have yours to help and cater for. So, take your time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was the reason why I didnt married early. Just like you I came from not well off family. Imagine we are eight and my parents doesn't have a stable source of income? We were deprived from lot of things. I don't want my future children to experience what I had when I was a kid..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is one reason we should always remind ourselves. We don't want our children to go through what we have gone through.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is no age limit to getting married, I love that advice.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, Danfoster

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Marriage is not a place to rush into, if you do you will definitely rush out, test any relationship with time, give it time, don't rush.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Time is important. Be patient to look through it before you jump into a life contrast with your partner. Thank you, Ayo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's it. Both parties concerned should be ready for it, and not the other way round where the family is ready that you should get married outside your own will.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always say it, there is not such specific. time for marriage. It's only right when you are FULLY ready and equipped.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is it. When you are ready, then it's the right time. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Even while there are rushed marriages that succeed, it is still preferable if you don't rush your relationship because doing so can have numerous negative consequences, including a toxic marriage or even divorce as worse it can be. There may be a variety of reasons why someone rushes into marriage even if they may not be prepared to do so. It's possible that pressure from others is one of these causes. Like you said about Family members, they play major role into rushed marriage and it's because they may be impatient for you to get married and establish a family, which might play a significant role in this.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. Friends and family pressure could be the cause of many failed marriages and that's so bad. We all have our decisions and should do what is right especially in this century we are in.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I was a single mom I told myself I want to get married at the age of 25 but no man or I don't have any boyfriend at that moment I reach that age. I was engaged twice but didn't got got married to the of them. Until I meet my husband right now. We just had a relationship for 3 months and then I got pregnant and got married.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Great! It worked for you meeting such a good man at the end.

$ 0.00
1 year ago