My Experience With My Aunt (Continuation)

40 95
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Lead Image

"My Aunt is a nice woman and loves to give. In fact my family loves to give which I took from my lineage. But you know we can't be perfect? You can't have all the beautiful traits in you without having a "But" in your blood. My Aunt is good though, but her bad attitude ruined it".


I will always iron to the extent that my body would start having high temperature, my hands would be paining me due to the big iron I carry still I can't complain because she doesn't give a damn. She would always appreciate when we do the right thing and insult when we do the wrong thing. I never heard the word "Sorry" from her even when she has accused me and at the end, she was at fault.


I have never seen a human being who claims to be perfect in all ways and sees no mistake in whatever she does but always seeing same thing committed by her from other people as not being perfect.

My Aunt would always find mistakes and blame me for things I do but when she repeat same thing, she sees it as normal thing. Why can't she forgive me too with same mistake? We are bound to make mistakes but my Aunt would never agree to such.

Many times, I have complained to my elder sister and my parent. It got to a point, they taught I was being wicked and bad not until they started seeing it themselves to the extent that our neighbors knew my Aunt and they would always encourage and calm me down to be patient.


Both of you would smile and gist in the morning but when it is evening, she turns to something else. It got to a point, I decided not to involve myself in gisting with her. I will always frown my face everytime but it doesn't last because I still find myself coming down to talk, gist and laugh with her. Those moments do not last for a day because she would find fault anyhow.


My mom wasn't happy the way she was treating me but she couldn't say a word because my father had the final say.

I couldn't go back to my parent because they couldn't train us to school. We were already becoming something else living with them and since I know what I want to achieve, I was enduring it.


I will be sincere with you that my life did changed from how I used to be. She tried her best. I always thank her till today for that.


WHEN I GAINED ADMISSION

I was then seeking for admission as this was the only way I could free myself from the torture and all night ironing without resting or even complaining.

Even when I am having menstrual cramps or sick, she doesn't look at my side. I must do her work or else, no food for me. She doesn't want to hear me sick because she feels she would have to do the work alone and I will still have to eat. She doesn't want that. Do her work and you will eat.

She did the same thing to everyone who comes to her including her twin brother. She would engage her brother to iron for her and at the end give him money for the work.

Getting admission to the University proved abortive and so, I was advised to go to College of Education for my NCE. My cousin was in that school and she would always help me check if my name was out.

I was always praying for the admission to click. On this day, we were both washing outside when her phone rang. It was my cousin and she told her my name was listed on the admission list.

You should come and see the happiness in me that day. I jumped for Joy, I screamed. All these, I did for one thing.

"Finally, I am free".

She once told me she will never miss me when I leave her place. Her eyes turned red when I was going. Lol


Despite that I was in school, I was still visiting her house. She was the only one I depended on then for money because it was my mom who was trying her best to send little money to me.

My Aunt will never send you money without you helping her to work. I will always come on Fridays, wash and iron and when I am leaving on Sunday, she would give me money for foodstuffs.

I called my Aunt in school one day to send me little money, she didn't give me. Not until I went to her house and did help her with washing and ironing, that was when she gave me money.


I wasn't capable of taking care of myself then even when I graduated from school. I still found myself leaving with her again in year 2015. I endured those moments and I was determined to be independent.

Along the way, things happened, my mom died, she sent me out of her house because my Dad refused to heed to their calls in the village. I stayed with my Dad from 2016-2018 and finally I gained admission into the University in year 2019 for my degree.

My Dad still couldn't help my journey in school. My sister advised and encouraged me to go back to live with my Aunt. She said she understands me that I should go because of what I needed and once I get it, that's it. I never wanted to return. This time, my Dad refused me but when he saw he wouldn't be able to train me in the University and her sisters were the only source, I went to stay with her.


I would always go to her place during holidays. At this time, my younger brother had started living with her. He would always complain same thing but do you know what I do tell him? Same thing I was told then "to be patient".

My brother is always happy when I come visiting because he knew we are now two who would always gist together but when I am leaving, he would be sad because no one to talk to in the house. He doesn't enjoy sitting with my Aunt because at the end, they will still fight. Lol

Whenever I am leaving for school, I would pity my brother because he would be the only one with her problems.


I gained my full Freedom late 2020 and stopped my frequent visit to her place when I saw that I have something to keep me busy especially when I started doing these online work from home. Ever since I started Noisecash and Readcash this year, I stopped depending on any of my Aunts. I started giving the little I have to support my Aunt.


My sister told me that it is time to be on my own. She said to me

"whenever you are on holidays, instead of going to her place, stay in school and work on your phone. You are a writer, keep to that and make money for yourself".

Now, I am independent and do not wait for them to send me money. My brother who always complained before is now happy because very soon, he will be leaving her place to his own school.


Things I learned while with her

  • No matter where you are or living with someone, someday you will leave. It may take years, you will eventually leave such place.

  • Be patient and endure with People like this. Endure till you achieve what you are looking for.

  • Take all lessons with you and when you are on your own, apply them and life would be good to you.

  • While you are with someone, work hard to be on your own. Never depend on people except God.

Today, I can say I am free. We do talk on phone often and even if I need to visit her, a day or two is okay because I have learnt to live my life and never to look up to anyone except my God.

Thank you for reading my story. Everyone has a story to tell.

|August 02, 2021|

22
$ 12.02
$ 10.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.15 from @Jane
+ 16
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Hmmm, you had learn something with your aunt, we should spend over with our relatives and Elders. They sometime feel harder natural but they care us they always try to make us to be perfect version of ourselves.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is a sad but at the same time, an encouraging story. You are a model worthy off emulation. Patience indeed pays. I'm happy with the kind of lady you turn out into. Strong and independent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't begin to say I understand what you went through but I must admire your strength and your desire to pick the positive out of everything. She played her part in shaping you and steering you towards your goal even though she didn't do it easily. I know your brother will soon gain his freedom and he can draw strength from how you went through it and wait for the right time.

Your story is that of strength, resilience and determination. I admire you even more for that.

$ 0.08
2 years ago

I am even happy for him too because I keep thinking of him. It was really tough but thank God for where I am today. Thank you so much

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am super proud of you, darling. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your aunt reminds me of one workmate I had on my first job after Uni. She was an old maid and always complains about her nephews or nieces. After spending some months with her, most of us believed she was the one doing wrong yet she insists her nephews or nieces were. And we named her "Ms. Perfect"

I am glad you have finally broken free from your aunt's claws and you've had your lessons when you went away from her roofs. I believe you can make very well as you face life :) Cheers to you!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They thought I was framing things up too but thank God they saw everything. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am just so amazed how understanding you are and how you brace those challenges in life. you've been a good sister too. such a kind heart

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Challenges are part of us and we must face them too. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

definitely. welcome, princess. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I adore you for enduring Princess. You are amazing and you truly deserve that freedom. Your heart is so big, you still managed to support your aunt despite of what she have done to you

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, endurance is the key to something you want to achieve which I did and I couldn't repay her badly because of what she did. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i like that you chose to be understanding. I am sure she has you close in her heart. God has plans of mking you a stronger person through this experience. Thanks a lot for sharing. ♥️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, thank God I was strong too. I appreciate you for reading too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course. My pleasure ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are one incredible lady! For you to endure all that all those years and still kept going back. In the eyes of many, she has taken advantage of you but I admire you for despite it all, you are still nice to her. I'm glad you have found noise and read.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, at least I am on my own now and anything I have to support her, I will for God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Patient is the key 👌 They means in anything we do , we should always be patient

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly. We need patience to walk through success in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so sad reading your life story. After all of those thing she did to you, you're finally out and free from her cruelty. If your aunt keeps on doing that kind of behavior, I bet no one will come after her when she gets old.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are right. No one wants to live with her after hearing of everything she did. They are afraid going to stay with her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're so strong to come through it all, friend. You are correct. We should be independent in our ways. Maybe it will take time but we must be patient for our time will come. This is beautiful ❤️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for stopping by. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so sad princess despite of everything you overcome it. I'm glad that you're in a freedom now princess. God has a purpose with it and I know your aunt will gonna miss you too.

God bless you princess..🙏

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, I am free and I feel good about it. God has been helping me too here. Yes, I know she will miss me but I have to be on my own now. Thank you very much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sacrifices you need to do to be able to continue your studies.. Despite the hardship you became independent.. 💪

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yea, it was really hard then but here am I today. All thanks to God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its a matter of not givinf up and trusting God, im sure your parents and siblings are proud of you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One good thing about tough experiences is that you learn valuable life lessons from them. Even though my dad never liked the idea of letting his children stay with other people, I still had my share of doing so. I've lived almost a year with a pastor who wasn't anyway related to my family, I've lived almost a year with another family whose children I was just friends with. The thing is, I got to learn a whole lot about life, especially the importance of self-dependence during those times. There's nothing like standing on your own feet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, living with other people including your own parent would make you learn some lessons alongside and we must be ready to accept Everything that comes around. The best is to work hard to be on your own. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your life story is even sadder than mine 😥 but at least you gained real freedom now .. But is you Auntie living alone and don't have a family? Once she gets older and sick, she will surely remember you..

$ 0.11
2 years ago

Yes, she does not have husband or children and according to her, she is fine. We are her Children though and yes, when she is old, she would need us again but it won't be like before spending years with her Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What is your story, ma'am Jane, can you write about it? I would love to read it 😌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that her experience has made a stronger woman for any reason, she wouldn't want anyone to go through what she went through.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's great that you finally found a way to leave everything behind and that you ensured them while you stayed with her

I am sorry about your mum.... accept my heartfelt condolences

Sincerely, all the things she did to you proved to help you somehow right?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, she helped me which I can't deny that. She made me strong to endure all hardships and here I am today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy for you 🤗😊🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read the first part yesterday and didn't know today would make be emotional, you have really been through a lot to be here but the good thing is that you are finally free.

God sent the platform your way bedside he heard you cry, you are going great places. This is just the beginning of your success in life

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, I believe God brought these to my way so I can have something for myself. Thank you so much George. We all would go great places together.

$ 0.00
2 years ago