How I knew she was plagiarizing

50 85
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.”

Stephen King

There are so many ways to find inspiration and design your ideas. Want to become a blogger or writer? The truth is that, you have to read and write much, without copying someone's work or idea. This is no originality. I have known the importance of reading and writing whatever that comes to your mind, you could make up the little idea into a full-length written content and you would appreciate yourself for doing that.

And if I don't want to be stressed?

Oh! Cut the crap because you're not going anywhere when you don't take the time to get creative about what you're doing. The number one truth, someone would ever tell you as a beginner in the world of blogging is that, you need to bring in your job and not someone's job. This is known as plagiarism.

The word is not new because we have heard it repeatedly on any platform. Plagiarism is about copying someone else's work and doing it without a reference or source. This is likeable to an act of theft. Stealing is an assault on your personality.

We all want to make money, but when you take the wrong way in blogging, you place your account at risk.

There is one thing I am good at, and I am quick to acknowledge. It's the ability to keep an eye on your writing style. I will know if you are the one writing this or if it was copied somewhere, and once I try to play on my curiosity by running a check through the plagiarism detector, my instinct does not deceive me, except I haven't known you before.

This friend thought it was easy to simply copy and paste online without anyone finding out. I boarded her on Blurt last month because she wanted a place that's not difficult or stressful. I knew her and her enduring abilities, I gave her blurt, to begin with, because I know she might start to accumulate Blurt tokens since the Blockchain is still an early project.

She signed up and posted very well until one day, I clicked on a new post of hers, going through it, I knew it wasn't her writing. I am not saying that she could not write a good phrase, but I have already observed her previous writings.

I decided to play around with her post through a check and found out it was 95% plagiarism. I did the same for another post, and it was the same. This means she plagiarized twice, which is against the blockchain as plagiarism is shunned.

I screenshot my proofs to her and chatted her up. She denied at first that it was her work. I smiled and had to explain to her. She had to give up when she knew she was defending a really obvious thing.

She apologized and said, “I had no idea they were going to detect. Writing every day is a challenge to me.”

Was that why you chose to plagiarize? I made her know I could have reported her if not that she is my friend, and I know it's her first time writing on any platform. I made her realize that the system would detect you are plagiarizing, and you could lose your account, including your earnings.

Writing doesn't come easy! This I can accept, but it becomes easy when you decide to concentrate and devote your time to it. Though, there are times you would experience writer's block due to laziness, lack of energy, etc., I can guarantee that you can write an experience of your day, how you ended up making that meal or finding time to have a bath after a long hissing, murmuring on the bed, and complaints about life. There are things to write about.

Don't try to steal other people's artwork because you wouldn't be happy if someone stole your creativity. How does it feel to step into their shoes? How would you feel about someone like that stealing your stuff? Something you took the time to make it suitable for people to read, and someone, somehow, decided to highlight all the words and copy them to their blog. I think you'd be angry. Learn to put yourself in other people's place when thinking about plagiarism.

Thanks for reading

Image by Andrea from Pexels and edited on Canva

[August 12, 2022] (No 224 articles for the year)

30
$ 7.69
$ 7.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 15
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Plagiarising is a bad habit. Give her another chance, she have learnt a lesson

$ 0.00
1 year ago

“I had no idea they were going to detect. Writing every day is a challenge to me.”

Oh writing is kinda difficult but it's not the best reason to plagiarized.

Let her learn from her mistake. You know, I was doing the same before (years ago) and I learned a lot from that experience.

Now, I'm against with it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great writers value their own writing and respect the work of others.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lolz of people get lazy with writing, I am glad you put her through so she could know the consequences of what she was doing.

I hope she improved with her writing

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, she is doing well now. If I hadn't caught her, I believe she would keep doing it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Writing everyday is challenging for her 😂😂🤣🤣. The way she said it made me laugh. It's never easy but it's not an excuse to steal someone's work and pose it as yours. Someone I invited to blockchain just last week and was posting only pictures o, sent me a voice note today telling me he hasn't posted for two days and he doesn't know what to post. He said he is tired and asked me how I've been doing it daily. Writing is not easy. Everything isn't about the money...you have to love what you do.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😅😅😅😅 We still talk about you yesterday. I told her how you managed your account on different platforms and you never miss a day writing and they are all different articles. She opened her mouth.

It's not easy though but when you love what you do, you will find pleasure in it, even without thinking of the money in it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. It's about loving what you do. There are still some platforms that I am not earning much on, I still post there. I see it as a way of creating visibility and broadening my horizon...so I don't get worried. I hope she changes her approach and get to love what she's doing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She even came to me yesterday and asking how she would sell her blurt 😂😂😂 Ask me how much blurt she get? 100+ liquid blurt 😅😅😅 She hasn't used three weeks there. She is complaining of Data. I told her, for this kind of thing, you have to make sacrifice for months first, then you can think of making money. This was how I started too. I explained to her. She went calm. I just hope she continues. What if she comes to Hive nko?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 I think they all have the same trait. The person I mentioned earlier too asked me how he can sell and if he can send to me to help him sell. Ask me how many? 17 Blurt 😂😂🤣😂😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If writing is not fun for someone, they should not be blogging. When it is done with love, what you write makes sense and gains value.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is it. Everything done in love brings perfection.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess she thought that the system works like the assignments in many of our schools..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😂😂😂 No one will penalize us then. Everything we did was a freewill.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂 And we did quite a lot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Copying someone's work and claiming the full right is never a good thing, that is someone's hard work there, at least giving them the credit is still something

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They would even be happy if you had credit them. You wouldn't like it if someone steals your content, right? This is what people should always think of before taking such a step.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They don't ever afraid of consequences they made from copycat, lol. They could be imprisoned if the writer or originals is much strict...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. It's really a wrong thing to copy what isn't yours in the first place without sourcing or referencing it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like people like that 🤣. When i know someone has done something wrong and i have the evidence with me I'll ask them and watch them lie to cover themselves. I love watching them make a fool of themselves before showing them the evidence i have. Some people don't learn, they just want the easy way.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😅😅😅 A big disgrace for them. Wouldn't it have been better to come out truthfully than making a mess of yourself? It makes me laugh sometimes because of how they keep circling around with lies.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is stealing. Writing might be a bit stressful and inconvenient for a beginner but with time, it becomes easy. I'm trying to develop myself too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is it, Prisca. We all should strive to develop ourselves to become better instead of being someone we are not.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I salute you for doing the right thing my friend and warning her about her actions. Anyone who does this kind of crime should face consequences. Though it's very challenging to write, you must always do some effort to have your own style and originality.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. We must be original and there are different ways we can do that. We need to be our own and not copying someone else's work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If someone wants to be a blogger he or she must be ready to learn more from anything she sees and not copying people's post for herself Though writing is not easy but as long as you want to be a writer then you must learn how to create yours

It's good you didn't report her and am sure she must have learn her lesson by now

$ 0.01
1 year ago

She already did. She is now making her own content. I hope she continues that way. Writing isn't easy truly, but when you are consistent and keep persevering, you will be better at it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh that's good

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is not good. I hope people should stop doing that for plagiarism is easily detected. I like the approach on this though. We have to let others be aware about plagiarism and not doing it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This is why I don't give it low for people who involve in such act because it makes the real ones think they are just wasting their own time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you did a nice job since you didn't report her immediately. You even pity her by saying it's her first time. I would believe if she is a type of person that really wants to learn she will learn a lesson from there or may be take correction from there.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, that is how some people learn their lessons and would still stay to improve.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember my first days on my first Accounts here, it wasn't funny at and chopped spam well lol🤣. This issue of plagiarism is simple to avoid,if thersi nothing coming up to write, skip the day if you can't write random stuffs that you experienced that day

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. We all have been in this before. I remembered mine too some years back and when I was warned, that was the last day I involved in such. Thank God I stood my ground to change.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She shouldn't have argued when see saw that there was proof for it. Plagiarism is something we won't take with levity hand. Though you said, it's her first time Engaging in such writing

$ 0.01
1 year ago

She thought I was joking and haven't heard of a plagiarism detector. She thought I wouldn't know but I did. She wanted to prove smart at first 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seriously, she really say “I had no idea they were going to detect. Writing every day is a challenge to me.” instead of saying sorry. I mean, it's really unfair to the one who originally wrote it. And she will just steal it. She knows how hard it ks to write and yet, he did it. Aigooo, good thing you discover it. And good thing you say an piece or two to her. I just hope she wont do that again.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Some people won't want to admit their mistakes and it's so sad for them. At least she saw proofs, and that should have made her say nothing than “I am sorry”

I have been monitoring her articles and she isn't doing something of such.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Which platform did she got and paste it sister? At least you gave her guide and warning, sometimes people don't know that and this and 1 or two warnings will surely give them sides of boundary.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It was on Blurt Blockchain. I think it's because it's still new. This is why she wasn't detected immediately. Hive would have detected automatically.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same Princess. I could tell as well if what I was reading was his/hers and if it was not. I struggle with my writing too but it never crosses my mind to copy and paste someone's output. Thank you for letting her know in a good way in advance. I hope she learned from it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, even if one isn't good now, with constant practicing, he or she would be good at it. I knew how I started too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes but you don't writing is preferred but sometimes some people are not able to write by themselves they just need a title for their writing and they have to gain some knowledge about it I am also against plagirise the content but for knowledge just it is okay? Isn't it?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am definitely against plagiarism too because it doesn't bring your own creativity but others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Copying from others is not a good. It's a big mistake. Those people who did that kind of thing is having no conscience. They don't ever feel scared what will be the consequences at the end.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Definitely! If they had conscience, they will never try such a thing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes that's true princess. They are shameless people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will know if you are the one writing this or if it was copied somewhere

Totally true! I can also tell if an article isn't written by someone, especially if I have been reading the person's articles for a while. Everyone has a style of writing and if that style suddenly change, you will know something fishy is going on. That your friend was lucky that she didn't do that on a platform like hive, blurt is still new and probably doesn't have a lot of security to check against plagiarism. It's better if the person doesn't write anything at all than to resort to stealing other people's work

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hive is stricter than blurt. The system would even detect themselves especially the admin of each communities you post into. They do not tolerate such act.

You are right! Everyone has different styles of writing and a little change, especially when you keep observing them, you will definitely know.

$ 0.00
1 year ago