Come, let me reveal my mentor to you.

43 70
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Lead Image

I couldn't do much yesterday as I was sick. I woke up yesterday morning with a high temperature. I was feeling hot inside of me and I couldn't eat anything. My hands were shaking while typing and I couldn't come online. I went to get some drugs which after I took them, I got better. I slept and sweat while awake. Thank God He answered my prayer when I told Him I don't want to be sick. Thanks to those who checked up on me.


Okay, enough of that. I wanted to let you know what happened for not coming online.

Today, I want to tell you a little about my Mentor and how I came across him.

But let's define who a mentor is. Okay, do you know there is a difference between a mentor and a role model?

A mentor is someone who is wise, knowledgeable, intelligent and have experiences about life and success and is ready to guide you.

A role model is someone whose behavior or success is looked up to by you. Their way of dressing, talking, acting, singing etc attracts you.

I can say my role model is "Kate Henshaw" because of the way she acts and perform on stage. I can also say my role model is "Salman Khan" because of his actions especially in the movie titled "Tiger". These people I have mentioned are artists who I so much admire them and might want to follow their footsteps.

Same with a Mentor, there are different scholars, professors, those who have made it in life, those whose success didn't come easy but have to go through different stages to make it in life. These mentors are people whose books we read had great impact on us. Their manners of sharing Experiences are captivating and we keep walking in their lines to also be great.


The difference between a mentor and role model is this:

A mentor wants to see you succeed either you see them or not. But a role model may not even know you or if you exist.

Having said all of these and understands the difference between both, let me now reveal my mentor to you. He is no other person than Joel Osteen.

Image Source

The very great man whose purpose with his wife Victoria Osteen is to inspire and help people discover their purpose in life.

The day I decided to follow this man and made him my mentor was when my younger sister some times back uploaded his motivational talk from Twitter and since then, I have been following him and his wife and even kept listening to their podcasts from YouTube until I downloaded the app "Spotify". A day will not pass by without listening to their podcasts, both him and his wife.

Whenever Joel wants to speak and on his stage, I have mastered him and there is a statement like an affirmation he used to say and would make his congregations speak it after him.

He will affirm that;

"This is my Bible. I am what He (God) says I am. I have what He (God) says I have. I can do what He (God) says I can do. Today, I would be taught the word of God. I boldly confess my mind is alive. My heart is receptive. I will never be the same". JOEL OSTEEN

I so much love this words that I am already filled with his sermon and I have always seen myself on a different perspective.

About Joel Osteen

He is an American Pastor born on the 5th of March, 1963. Joel is married to Victoria Osteen with two kids (a boy and a girl)

His focus was focusing more on the goodness of God and living an obedient life.

His father (John) was also a great minister before he died. He had always encouraged his son Joel to take over him and also preach the gospel but he declined and was doing his own career.

He later accepted his Dad's request on 17th of January, 1999. His dad died six days after. He took up from there.

That is all I can say about him after getting to know about my Mentor.

You know you can't make someone your mentor without knowing who he or she is.


I was listening to his podcasts for yesterday titled "Discover your Greatness". I must say you need to listen to that podcast because you will be inspired (that is Joel's aim though).

He shared a story about his grandfather and his father and relating to Jesse and David in the Bible.

Jesse is David's father but didn't see his greatness until the prophet Samuel came to anoint him as instructed by God. David was taking care of his Father's sheep when Samuel came.

Jesse only showed his children and forgot about David who was the last born of the house. Samuel was looking outwardly but God decided to look what is inside.

People do not determine your destiny. Your gifts, talents, the key in you comes from God. Joel Osteen.

David had greatness in him through God. He was anointed thereafter.

Then Joel Osteen told similar story about his father. His grandfather was a farmer and he made his son (Joel's father) a farmer too. He never saw his greatness until one-day, John went clubbing and was coming back around 2am, that was the starting point of becoming a pastor. He became a great minister of God and transferred it to his son Joel who is now taking the step of his father.

Everyone couldn't believe John could be famous. His own father limited him to be a farmer but God has a better destiny for him.

I hope with all of these, you would start listening to his podcasts. He is my mentor and you can choose other people as your mentor.

I just decided to reveal the great mentor I have and will continue to make him one as I am always inspired listening to his daily podcasts on Spotify App.

Thanks for reading

|July 19, 2021|

22
$ 22.33
$ 21.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Davinchysax
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
+ 17
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Good to have a mentor and someone you look up to, I don't have any one for now. I will go through his messages on YouTube later..thanks

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I've read some books written by him. He is a great man of God. I on my part how numerous mentors 🀣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's good too. At least you don't want to settle for one sided knowledge na πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Greetings dear Princess. Thank you for letting us know your mentor. I will surely listen to his podcast. 😍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's alright. You will definitely enjoy him

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the recommendation. I will just look his name in Spotify right?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, his name Joel Osteen

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am listening to him now as I reply to you. I am loving it. Thanks for this. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are always welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am actually watching his preachings in facebook and I could tell that he is a great man.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Many people are already blessed under his ministration. That's great

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm shocked you are fan of salman haha mostly peoples make fun of him like he's out of physics logic in his movies but indeed I'm also one of his fan

$ 0.03
2 years ago

He has this perfect way of showing his skill in acting. He is in fact my crush tooπŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is always good to have a mentor

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, we need someone to guide us into making it great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always believed that mentor and role model are the same but you have clarified that for me in the post.

I think I have heard is motivational talks before, it is good to have people who have a spiritual guide and lead as a mentor because they wouldn't just help us grow our physical life alone, they will also inspire our spiritual life as well.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, it was long I have understood the difference between mentor and role model because I also took them for the same. If we need to grow physically and spiritually, we need someone to guide us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing your story whose your mentor and who he is into your life Princess. I have a mentor, my uncle he's a pastor also.. ❀️

God bless you Princess. πŸ™β€οΈ

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is good. At least everyone of us have a mentor who will look up to. Thank you so much for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome princess..❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its fine to always find someone to emulate and whose footsteps you want to follow. That's how successful people thing and act.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly. We can't get to the top alone, we need someone to guide and support us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing about your mentor 😍 will try to check his podcast ☺️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I almost forgot about the article I want to write about the lessons I have learned from someone I considered as a mentor. Thanks for this. 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope you will write about it soon and I will be waiting for it then. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you are from Nigeria but how you know about Salman Khan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He has always been my number one fan in the Bollywood movies, Indian movie. I have watched many of his movies and I admire him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

did you try Sharukh Khan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I like him too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

cheers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great that you have found a mentor. We don't know all so we need someone to guide and teach us. We choose someone we can relate to.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, we aren't island of knowledge. We need someone to explain and guide us on things we don't know yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a list of his podcasts too. Hes such a great choice of mentor. Mine is Joyce Meyer.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I also say her too but I haven't taken time to listen to hers. I will do that when I am chanced to. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is always someone who inspire us and guide us to the way we enjoy.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well! You clearly break the gap and explained better the different between mentor and a role model, I like it. I also have role model which they happens to be my lectures, my mentor are my business partner and I adore them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Very good. At least one needs to listen to them and follow their footsteps to make it great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's just it .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone who has a vision of becoming great in life must have someone to mentor them. But one needs to be very careful when choosing a mentor

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I agree with you. Not all person is fit to be a mentor. We need to open our eyes and be careful who will choose to be our mentors

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, princess! sometimes I listen to podcasts but yeah, your mentor is such an inspiration so I will listen to his podcasts and ping you to tell what have I learned. Hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

No Problem. I shall be expecting your article. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago