As a mother, what will you do?

25 51
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Lead Image

It's so sad that the way things are done in the past is different from now. Should we say technology and civilization has made everything turned upside down? Children aren't brave to face their parents and parents too do not have time for their children to see how they are fairing. It's such a pity that some children and parents do not see it needful to confide in themselves that they want to do things on their own, taking experiences from friends outside. So sad though.

Just last week, I saw in the news published and the question was asked that "if you are the mother, what will you do?" Actually seeing the heading;

"A mother burst into tears reading her daughter's chat with her friend".

I know some mothers are here and seeing such WhatsApp chat, you will cry imagining how far your daughter has gone and even trying to influence someone's else child. Before I show the screenshots of the chat, I would like to narrate my own experience then and what my mom did immediately.

I was twelve years old then, and do not know what menstruation (menstrual period) is. I believe we all understand what that means? Perhaps there might be some guys here who knows what it means. Don't you have girlfriends? πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Don't mind me.

Menstruation according to the English Dictionary is "The periodic discharging of the menses, the flow of blood and cells from the lining of the uterus in unfertilized females of humans and other primates"

Photo Credit: Gettyimages.com

When a girl reaches a particular age, she starts her menstrual period and it comes every month where blood flows from her private part and it stops mostly after 5-6 days. It would shock you that mine took 12 days before it could stop. That was my first menstruation at the age of twelve years old.

I was sitting outside with my mom while she was selling nylon as her business. I sat on a pavement while opening my two legs since I was a small girl. Then my mom looked in my direction and saw something in my pant. She quickly called me to her side and asked me "What is that in your pant?" I also checked it and saw red blood. I wasn't feeling any pain and I was like "I wasn't injured in anyway. How did blood come into my pant". Still shocked, my mom already knew what it meant and she grabbed my hand and took me inside. It was then she sat me down and explained what menstruation is to me. She bought pad for me and directed me on how I will be using it.

Photo Credit: Gettyimages.com

For those twelve days, my mom never left me alone or allow me move closer to a guy. There was this lie she instilled into me then "if a guy touches you, you will be pregnant and that's the end of your life". Ever since then, I am always scared of moving nearer to a guy especially when I am on my period.

I don't think many parents even have the time to nurture and teach their girl-child what menstruation is all about. Many children are now opened to having boyfriend that they prefer to open up to them or their friends instead of meeting their parents to teach them. Mostly, it is the cause of the parents because they make their children get scared of going to them.

I wrote an article sometimes ago titled "Your Girl/Daughter should know this"

In the article, parents should make sure their girl-child should know the difference between Love and Infatuation. Truth be told, many children because they have grown to the age of having some changes in their body, now conclude they are big enough to choose for themselves or even engage in the "In love experience" without having the knowledge of what it takes to be in a relationship.

You see many children being impregnated at a younger age and with that stop their education. Their parents failed to give them the right education on some things like letting them know what sex education is all about.

Same thing with menstrual period of a girl. They need to understand how it is, be their first friend they will come to whenever they needed help instead of seeking help from their friends.

Photo Credit: Gettyimages.com

Now, take a look at this chat here, we would see how the girl was being influenced by her friend who probably has been in it for so long. Trying to lure another parent's child is unheard of at all. This is because she trusted her friend more than her mother. So sad though.

All screenshots taken from the news published here

The mother have seen the chats and burst into tears seeing how her daughter is being misled by her friend. Is going to meet a guy the proof to show that you are a woman? She is already going to the verge of being destroyed, putting her education and career at stake. What if the mother didn't see this?

Okay, let's see it this way, "what if she had already gone to have sex with a guy or man, what do you think will happen?"

First of all, I will have to cut ties with such friendship and warn my daughter. I will also go to the girl's family to let them know what has happened, to make the parent aware of who their daughter is.

I will then take my time to teach my daughter the real meaning of menstruation and let her know what she needs to avoid and be careful of at that stage.

It is very important to bring our children closer to us. As parents, it is our responsibility to lead them in the right way and monitor the kind of friends they keep. Most importantly, you need to trust your children at some stage to release a mobile for them. Even if you need to give it to them seeing everything is now done in the world of technology, you must always monitor their chats and what they do with the mobile.

Shun any immoral videos they might try to get into their mobiles as this is a dangerous way to get them influenced negatively.

Nowadays, children now know more than their parents that they would wonder how they knew all those things. Children are to be monitored if you want a better future for them.

Thanks for reading

|July 7, 2021|

17
$ 17.70
$ 17.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
$ 0.10 from @Idksamad7869
+ 8
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

You're right parents should monitor their children no matter how busy they are they should give time to check what and how their kid is doing. Too sad, there are still kids who lost their path because of misleading by some friends influence. Your article serves as a warn and awareness to everyone not only to parents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really appreciate this article. Most of the girls we see nowadays are the way they are because of lack of parent monitoring. Our females really need special attention but many parent don't know. This article needs newspaper publishing. Thanks for sharing,i really love it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lack of parent monitoring! You are right indeed. Many parents prefer their business than their kids that they don't have time to teach them in the right way. Thank you for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parents always taught and put eyes on their children but nowadays generation kids are going way far without fear of anything and some so called law which cause these things

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. Some laws have been abused and it is really causing harm to them and they don't know

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so sad. :( Imagine being the mother seeing this.. I have no words for that bad friend. This is why communication between parents and children is really vital. When a child does not find anything to learn from the parents, he/she would resort to learning on his/her own, thus a big tendency to go the wrong path. :(

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Good communication is very important to every Children from parents so as to make the children understand themselves and know how to deviate from things that could cause them harm.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is what leads to some unwanted pregnancies in all the young teenagers out there on the streets. Because their mothers we're too busy to look into their affairs.

Parents should endeavor to give their children their time and attention especially the mothers.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. That is what can save this children. Thank you Zanoz

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a pleasure Princess

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think there should be a proper education of this which a mother can teach to her daughter.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. Proper education especially from home first. They say charity begins at home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What kind of friend is that sef? Na this kind thing dey vex me, nonsense and ingredients. Well, thank God that the mom got to see it on time. What a bunch of rubbish folks we call friends. I am vexed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣🀣 e don pain zellypearl oo "Nonsense and Ingredients" got me laughing πŸ˜…πŸ˜… I was also angry when I first saw it and quickly I gave my judgement if I were to be the mother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know e pain me na😏 No problem o

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Charity begins at home. Parents should feel free to teach their children particularly their girl child about basic things in life. It's better they confide in their parents than others out there, who might lead them astray. They know lots of things and opening up to them will help them cheer up and ask questions.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You are very right. Parents need to have a good relationship with their children so they can feel good coming back to them again. Thank you for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am totally in short of words after reading this. It’s quite disappointing and also there are loads of lessons to be taken away.

I don’t blame many children out there that are just as bad as they could be, I am so much sure that they got influenced by their friends and most never knew the right way to do things before they never got that knowledge at the right time and at the right place.

Charity begins at home, at child birth parents should have it in mind not only to discipline their children, but to show them love and make them their first school where they would surely come to ask and learn anything strange about life. This would give room to the closeness and also make the child feel reliable and outstanding.

Parents of nowadays are just too shy to teach their children the basics and let them get aware of the pure tilting Abd reality about themselves and life in general, instead of lying to them to get them curbed of those throng that could harm them, why not tell them the consequences of doing so. So when they get out there there won’t be confusion since they already knew the reality.

Great write up and have a nice day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am really impressed with how you summarized everything here. Sincerely, you are very right. Many parents are shy though but some find it dirty to talk about those things to them because to them, they feel the Children are too young to hear those things but the truth is that, it is the right stage for them to understand this.

There is a way to teach them these things and they will understand and make sure they are careful not to go astray. Thanks for your time.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You gave a summarization to a summary. πŸ˜‚ Then now I am left with no words again πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… See you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uhmmm really parenting this present moment is really challenging, normally our parent are trying to use the method used in training them for this present time, which doesn't work. What they need is communication and good relationships with their children

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly. Good communication and Relationship. With these two, both parents and Children will flow well and will learn many things from their parents. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of things happens on the internet that most parents will be shocked to know what their children are doing over there. A lot of them have been misled by their so-called friend just because their parents were so busy chasing money which made them not be a part of their children lives. I wonder what the mother would do at this stage but I believe that God wanted to save the girl before it is too late.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I believe God made her see the chat on time because if she had done it, who knows what might happen. Parents need to monitor their wards and help them where they needed help. Thank you Davinchysax

$ 0.00
2 years ago