An act of volunteering.

27 45
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.”

Gandhi

When you have gone out of your way in helping others without expecting anything in return. It is called Volunteering. This means doing things of your own free will, even when they do not ask for it.

Many people will never speak out until you extend your hands to help them, and that, I can say is the best volunteer ever because it will come as a surprise to the one you are helping and with that, in their conscience, they pray for you and bless you.

Ever since I realized that we need each other to grow and progress, I have always been happy doing things of my own volition and never expecting anything from you. I believe that when I do things for you, I have spared some time to do that and definitely, it can never affect my schedule.

I have in many ways volunteered for others, and I could remember this particular one when I was still a teenager, very young. My elder sister taught me.

There was this old man in my village, he is late now. He couldn't see well anymore and with his stick to aid him in walking, he will always come around to say Hi to my grandma. This man was nice to the extreme and this made me love him and would be happy to see him. I also do check on him every day whenever I am around in the village.

Once a week, I and my siblings would go and pack his clothes and take them to the stream to wash and get them dried. We also go to his house to clean up everywhere and this continued even when my sister wasn't around.

I found Joy helping old people then because their prayers are always important to me. I grew up to love helping people around me who needed it and this has given me Joy and happiness in doing it.

I also did volunteer work where I lived with my parents then. After my mom's death, it was I and Dad at home plus five more tenants apart from the landlord. These tenants were lazy that they do not take care of the surroundings.

I took it up every week to do this because I don't usually have time during the days as I go for my teaching Job. The big gutter in front of the house is what I do most every Saturday and I never felt bad seeing other tenants not doing it.

Anytime I am washing the gutter, I am always happy when people pass by and shower prayers on me. This is something I love about helping others. I don't do them for something in return, but for the peace you feel when people pray for you willingly.

I am also a volunteer in my church as I joined the children's department. This is something I have ever wanted to do because I love children and want to teach them things from my experience.

Since I joined the department, it has been exciting for me when it's Sunday because I know the children would want to learn from me. I feel happy when they are happy too and that is the greatest volunteer one can ever do without waiting to be rewarded.

There are so many things I have volunteered to do for people which I cannot keep explaining, but the ones I have done recently are giving others the attention to explain what earning platform is and how it works.

I have brought some interested people on board recently on platforms like Readcash, Hive and Blurt and I gave my time to explain to them so they don't make mistakes. I am glad they are doing fine today.

Volunteering work is a good thing because there are people who need our help and it's something great when we can allocate some time to help them out. It isn't all about money alone, but your service to humanity.

I would love to keep being a volunteer in different ways because I enjoy it and it makes me happy putting smiles on other people's faces. When you help someone, God is always pleased because that is what He wants from His creation.

Thanks for your time.

Images by LFBI from Pexels

[September 27, 2022] (No 269 articles for the year)

18
$ 2.03
$ 1.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 12
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

The first volunteer I did I guess was when Pope John Paul visited our city.. I was one of the first aiders in the place.. And I felt happy seeing him in person..he really looks angelic 😇

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! Such a beautiful moment for you then. You can never forget such a day. Volunteering could lead us to getting something so special.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Volunteering is such a great thing to do. I think everyone should get out and do it. It such a good act for humanity and I can attest it makes you a better person.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It doesn't take anything from us, but our willingness to do it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So true and it builds a better community!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is always a sense of fulfillment in voluntary work, especially if you do it with all your heart

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. You are right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One thing about a selfless person is that opportunities would always abound for them even though others might be denied of it. This is because a service to humanity is a service to a God. If one always allow God to use him to touch people's life, God never forgets they person

$ 0.01
1 year ago

God will never forget such person oo. That is the greatest blessing for someone who willingly volunteer himself or herself to the service of others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have also tried in my little way to render volunteering work when I was still very free then, it is that prayer and happiness on their faces that keep me going. It always good to stretch out helping hand to people cos they will always be happy with you whenever they remember.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love prayers and this is one reason I love to volunteer myself in the service of others and it's very good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! Your like a superwoman my friend your heart is to help your fellowmen and giving a service without hesitation I am proud of you friend!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, we should keep helping everyone who needs it. Thank you very much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww sister you are really doing great by helping the other people. In this hot weather it's difficult to go out of home or work under the sun. But you are doing this Allah will give you the reward of this✨

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you so much 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Volunteering is a good way of making people have faith in the existence of humanity.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nice! Thank you for your feedback 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Prayers are the best gift we could get. I love it when older people would pray for me. There's an authority that goes with age.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This is why I feel great when old people pray and wish me well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really love your gesture how you go to visit the old man in village that is so love of you

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Volunteering to the service of others is a beautiful and selfless act to do . Not everyone would do such...you have a large heart🤍

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you sis 🤩

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whether to volunteer at home, outside or at job, whichever your hearts want to and it makes you joyful too, go for it. We honor you for volunteering princess. Those experiences we will always love to tell and see in the future if needed.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much. I am glad to read your comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are very few people who present themselves voluntarily for humanity services. I respect these people because they are preaching humanity in true sense.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I do respect them too and they will always be loved.

$ 0.00
1 year ago