My first year in the University: Second Semester

10 53

This is the concluding part of my first year in the University.

"I ended the first semester with a poor GPA πŸ˜“ and I concluded within me that I was carried away with too much sport and social activities but it didn't end there I was ready to fight back and do better in the second semester πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. There was even more drama in the second semester πŸ˜‚. Do you want to know what happened in the second semester??"

That's my last paragraph from the first part. If you haven't seen the first part, go through this link ;

https://read.cash/@Preshdan/my-first-year-in-the-university-first-semester-3c12370e

The second semester finally began, I was ready to do anything to make sure I have good grades this time around.

Sponsors of Preshdan
empty
empty
empty

I reduced the time I spent on social activities and tried to increase the number of hours I spent on reading but then, the effect of my first semester failure started eating me up. I started to feel bad and saw my self as not being smart or brilliant, I started feeling inferior amongst my pairs.

Gradually,I started getting into depression but only few knew about it because I always hide my problems and I would always put on a fake smile . Even those that knew about it could do little or nothing to help.

The semester went on, I was still feeling depressed all along, the first test came, I failed some of my courses again; so sad right? I began to prepare for the second test. Trust me it's not easy to study when you're depressed. I would read all night at lecture theatres. Alas when the results of the second test was out, It was my better than my first semester's results.

That was what boosted my confidence and I also did well in my exams but the damage had already been done in the first semester, I didn't meet the minimum requirements in Chemistry, but who needs chemistry when computer science (my dream course doesn't need it).

I applied to change to computer science and I was accepted. I was very happy, I'm now in the department of my dreams. Though my CGPA is low but I'm in a department where I'm happy, so I should do well.

Besides I'm no longer depressed, I'm now in a good state of mind. I'm in my second year and everything is going well.

My first year served as a lesson to me, now I know what to do and what not to do.

A lot of high school and college students are facing depression and many other challenges like being broke (.

Conclusion

In life we might be going through a lot but let's keep striving, though it's not easy but at the end of the day, we'd be fine.

I hope we all learnt something from today's article.

Have a nice time readers, till next time.

Peace ✌️

Image source: pexels.com

9
$ 3.09
$ 3.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Roojoroojay
$ 0.02 from @Mofif
+ 1
Sponsors of Preshdan
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Congrats on your department, I wish you well on your studies. Grab that degree soonest.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What you narrate in your two written chapters (I read your first part as well) is a stage that is repeated a lot in the first semesters of university careers and is motivated by the fact that students find it difficult to adjust emotionally and intellectually to the new educational system. They still come with a mental framework from high school. But after they get into the rhythm, this episode remains as a learning experience. Keep up the good work. Congratulations my friend

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to hear that now you are in your favourite department and also your results getting better than the 1st semester. Hope so in next you will again get good result. Best Of Luck and also welcome on readcashπŸ₯³πŸŽˆ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grind more n more.. My first year result was also bad but i tried so hard and got a good result in 2nd and 3rd year.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's fantastic

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not going to act judgmental here, I believed you did your best but just didn't flow well to chemistry but it's never too late to start trying, regardless of the state of your GP it wouldn't disrupt your chances when you graduate, just build a skill you know you are good at and continue to work on that, the industry is after what you can offer them exclusively, a skill not many people have, work on that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah... thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago