Writing for Dead Air

19 175
Avatar for Porwest
1 year ago

Looking around here I am reminded of the ever-famous Johnny Fever on the hit TV show from yesteryear, WKRP in Cincinnati, when he used to speak into the mic proclaiming he was talking into dead air.

"For anyone actually out there," he might say.

Or the Congressman many years ago who asked a series of questions for which he received no real answers for. He kept tapping his microphone and looking over at the Committee Chair asking, "Is this thing on?"

Who is the audience at read.cash? I mean, is there one left?

Sure, a handful of us have stuck around absent Rusty's generosity. And some, including me, have continued to foster some sort of hope that the site can do fine without the free money flying around.

There was a bit of activity post Rusty. But nothing like it was. And it seems to be getting even quieter now.

Maybe it's the holidays and everyone was just busy. Maybe that's it. It's hard to say that couldn't be the case. The timing sure fits. Yet, at this time last year it wasn't as dead as it is now.

So, it probably is not the case at all.

I want to keep the "faith," and I will. For the time being. And I will continue to do my part to play a role in at least providing a modicum of incentive for anyone still left here who also has the "faith."

I should note, it is not about making money right now. I mean, yes. There are a handful of people who are keeping the bells ringing. And frankly, to a much higher tune than I am. People like @Pantera, @Telesfor and @Coolmidwestguy.

Right now, I am keeping my tip amount right around the 3-cent mark. It just works for me. Like anyone else around here I am sure their banks are all dwindling down just like mine is. I don't think they are concerned whether or not they actually make any money any more than I am.

If their thinking is similar to mine on this issue, it's that we simply want to keep the site going and that is what matters more than making a profit at this point. It's about maybe even adding a few of our own bucks to the coffers to keep it going.

Maybe some of you are already doing that.

At the same time, is the dead air a bad thing? I mean, think about this another way. How alive was the air when Rusty was around? Were there a lot of people here committed to the site? To its success? To making a contribution?

Or did people just simply want the free money, all else be damned?

What is left in the air that remains are more dedicated people, passionate about the site, interested in making a contribution, and sharing and helping each other. And perhaps even still committed to what one of the main purposes was for any of the sites that Simon and Marc were involved with.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user Lost-Places-World-com. Quarry Open Pit Mining Promotional - Free photo on Pixabay

Promoting Bitcoin Cash.

Look, the bottom line is I will remain here for as long as it makes sense for me to be here. And I will take what time I can to try to enlighten people on why I think the site still has life and why I think it should. And why you should too.

But, like most things, there may come a time, and I am well aware of this, when it won't make sense. I am going to have to seriously weigh in on that at some point. Luckily, I really enjoy writing, and so I don't feel like spending the time putting together a 3-10 minute piece is a waste of time.

I am still honing my craft and plying my wares, and I am good with that come money or not.

Right now, for whatever it is worth, and for whatever time it makes sense for me to do it, I'll be Johnny Fever talking into his mic, whether or not there is anyone actually tuned in or not to listen. I will continue to check in with others and see what they have done and contribute my 3-cents here and my comment or two there.

I may even up the ante a bit.

Because again, it's not about the money right now. It's about the investment. And it's taking sort of a business idea approach to the whole thing.

That is, often in business one must spend money in order to make money. I am not sure why the same would not apply to something like this. If no one spends any money, there is no money to go around. No one gets anything. And at the same time, I have to put some of my own money where my mouth is.

There is either a payoff at some point or there isn't. I am not willing to toss it all in right from the words "Rusty stopped tipping." Because I also know that Rusty didn't start with us—in fact, he was only with us for about one year of this idea. If the site was able to grow and blossom before Rusty, why would it not be able to continue to do so, and perhaps more so, post Rusty?

Because let's look at just one more thing here. About that dead air. In a way, wasn't that kind of what we were potentially writing to when Rusty was around? You could either call it dead air because no one is here to read a single word, or you could call it dead air because no one who was here actually read a single word.

While we all want to get a little bit of loot for our time spent here, at the same time I want to write to you because you like what I have to say. I want to have an audience of real people who like to read my words and enjoy it. And if I am to be compensated for doing it, I want it to be earned.

Not from a robot who technically can't read and frankly doesn't care. But from real people who can read and potentially do care.

You know, when Stephen King sat down to write his novels, he did not do it because he hoped the publisher would like his work and simply send him a check. He did it because if the publisher liked it and put it in print, real people would go to the bookstore and buy his books—in that way the compensation comes both in terms of money and a happy audience who genuinely cares about the words.

So, dead air be damned, I will write to it now. For whatever that's worth. If you are out there, I look forward to hearing from you.

You. Dear reader. Dear fellow writer. You are out there, aren't you?

Tap, tap, tap. Is this thing on?

Lead image courtesy of Pixabay, user paulbr75. University Of Georgia Football - Free photo on Pixabay

Sponsors of Porwest
empty
empty
empty

12
$ 1.05
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.25 from @grey23espartinas
$ 0.25 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 8
Avatar for Porwest
1 year ago

Comments

We are still here despite the absence of Rusty. In fact, I'm already here even before Rusty shows up. Maybe there are times that I'm inactive due to personal reasons but I come back from time to time.

I have a lot of memories made from this place. This is where I also honed my writing skills and was able to interact with the other authors around the globe. Truly, the platform thrives way back pre-Rusty because of the people who are determined to make their readers happy. How much more on post-Rusty? Let's hope for it to thrive more which I think is possible.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

"I want to write to you because you like what I have to say. I want to have an audience of real people who like to read my words and enjoy it. And if I am to be compensated for doing it, I want it to be earned."

Exactly the same thought i have. It feels good to have real audience , i enjoy reading a lot that's why i enjoy my stay here from the very start with or without the earnings. Of course i need money but Who does'nt? It's just that i value the people i encountered here . I only have a few subscribers but just like in my real world , i only have a few but all of them are special and worth to keep for life. That goes the same with some virtual friends i have here.

I don't actually earn much in here but i appreciate the little amount i acquired. I hope the remaining us will go on , will continue writing with or without the reward. I will continue reading all your articles from the first word to the last .

I am truly impress on how you perfectly express your thoughts in writing. I am a fan now. ☺️

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I am glad to have you along for the ride. That's who I write for and write to. People. I mean, to me, what's the point of taking the time to write words nobody reads or cares about? Just to make a buck or two?

Like you said, the money is an incentive to keep doing it. It offers something in return for the time spent doing it, and maybe even offers one more time to keep doing it. But it is not the ultimate aim.

Even if I write a song and release it. I write the song because I enjoy the process. But I also record it and release it because I want an audience to have fun with it and enjoy what I have done.

Part of the personal satisfaction from writing, or doing anything for that matter, comes from people liking and enjoying, and maybe benefiting in some way from what you've done.

I hope that this site continues to allow me to do that, as well as for others to be able to do it too.

Thanks for your thoughtful comments. I really do appreciate it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

After all the "workers" have left read.cash, it has become lonelier here. However, I don't miss them. They are now working on other websites writing inferior articles that are not worth reading. Some are still here, they probably haven't noticed that Rusty is no longer active. I don't think Simon has given up on the website yet. He will look at how it works without Rusty and decide what to do with the site.

By the way, when I'm logged in and click on "new", I don't see any new posts. If I'm not logged in, I see them. Is it the same for you?

$ 0.08
1 year ago

That's one of my hopes, that Simon is still "considering" what read.cash becomes next, and I hope you are right about that.

In part because I think read has a presence that can actually work if it is done right going forward. By the people behind it, and by people like you and I.

And let's be frank, I think noise.app is a failure. I know that sounds harsh, and some will not like me saying that. But it just doesn't work IMO. It looks wrong, it feels wrong, it lacks the fun factor (BIG TIME), it serves no real purpose, and it does not actually promote engagement in any useful way.

It has a big aim and big plans. But...it's just wrong and I think it is already taking its last breaths.

I could be wrong about that of course. But to put it another way, noise.app just simply lacks any "curb appeal." I can find no real reason to actually be there and spend time there, and I was fairly active on its predecessor. Not because of the money. But because it was fun.

On both counts, between noise.app and read.cash I guess we will just have to see what comes next, if anything. But if there is one I want to see survive? It's read.cash hands down. It has my ultimate upvote.

I may actually write here about my thoughts on noise.app. I will probably be banned from both sites. lol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

As for me, I definitely prefer read.cash. I can write longer articles here, place pictures in the middle of the text, tip much easier. Noise is a replacement for Twitter. I have never liked Twitter. I think Simon's biggest problem was fighting spammers. He hopes to keep the spammers away from noise.app through the invitation system. Maybe it will work. Read.cash can quickly be hijacked by spammers if no one takes care of it. This happened very quickly with Yours.org.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I definitely understand the reasoning behind noise.app's new system. I am not sure it works—or maybe it is the way the site is structured. It's very hard to find people and posts outside one's circle, and so a lot of good content may be being missed by a lot of people. It's also hard to keep up with followers and people we follow, at least I find. It's hard to tip.

I realize it can be improved. But the problem becomes if people lose interest too soon, there may be no one there to enjoy any improvements and the whole thing just falls flat.

I guess we will see.

I also agree that without any oversight here, things could go badly very quickly. So, hopefully there is still someone at least remotely tending the fields here. But who knows?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Right now, I am keeping my tip amount right around the 3-cent mark.

Three is a nice number too.

You know, in Indian classical music, and especially in rhythmic parts, there is a part called "Tehai" - It requires playing a piece thrice and coming back to the main starting point of the song. Say the music is compiled in 16 beats, "Tala," and the three-part "Tehai" of 11 beats will make it 11 x 3 = 32+1. That will complete two cycles of the 16-beat "Tala" making 16 x 2 = 32, and 1 is the starting point, i.e., "Som."

Complicated?

I got a little training in Tabla, the Indian percussion instrument that involves a lot of three-part "Tehai"s.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

A true artistic writer is to create inspiration without expecting a body wash.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

lol. I have never heard it put this way, but it makes sense and I like it. lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Undoubtedly, we are no Steven King! But I admire your writing style and hope to keep reading from you, Porwest!

Still, I'd understand if you get tired one day. I will keep publishing, but as you said, an incentive is always in need. Thus, I publish my content here and republish the same content on Medium almost daily.

I would recommend trying this for a couple of months. You bring topics that can reach a wider audience, and I believe your approach matches with Medium, so you can grow faster than others.

With commitment, you can make a good name with loyal followers there after 6-12 months. You don't have to leave read.cash, but publish here and republish at Medium for some time and see how it works.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I may just try that. I have been going back and forth between trying to decide if I want to try Medium or PublishOx (did I spell that right?), but I do tend to hang on a lot of what you have to say as well and enjoy reading your insightful opinions on how things are going with crypto and BCH in particular.

So, Medium, hey? You think I have a shot there? I will give that some serious thought and thank you for mentioning it and again, I really do appreciate the kind words.

Is BCH the main thing there or some other crypto?

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Publish0x is terrible IMO. I think you should focus on Medium. While I don't usually say this: Trust me on that. You will figure it out eventually, but your writing style matches the interests of many in that platform.

Is BCH the main thing there or some other crypto?

No, Medium is a mainstream platform. A top-100 website in traffic. It has payments in fiat currencies via a service called Stripe (needs KYC, though). You can write about anything you want. Usually people find a niche and stick to it, but it is not necessary.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

"Not from a robot who technically can't read and frankly doesn't care. But from real people who can read and potentially do care."

I like this phrase very much and I very much agree! Such an encouragement for me, to move forward. Here's me saying, I am still here, though on and off due to my schedule.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Right now it is all about an investment in time, and I think if we do that, there CAN be and WILL be a payoff. Any other time, as I have written for several sites on the Internet, when the money stopped, so did I.

But this one? To me it is different. Because it doesn't have to be about the site paying me. It can be about actually having an audience that cares enough to share a penny or two here and there.

I know that in many ways I may be preaching to the choir, and as I alluded to in this post, speaking into dead air. But I just feel like we have just been given a map to an absolute treasure, and while we may have to put in our own resources to reap the ultimate reward, it is there if we want it and are willing to put the time, the effort, AND the money into it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I like how you deliver your points, you are really a good writer! Read have been my outlet for almost 2 years, became my diary of my ups and downs and I will stay here as long as it is here. I may not be consistent always, but I am here. Just keep preaching and yeah, you got me there!

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I appreciate the kind words. I won't tell you if I am blushing or not. Gotta maintain my macho you know. lol. I am very hopeful read has a bright future. I really enjoy the site and I do enjoy the people, and if for no other reason, for that reason I hope it can stick around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You make a lot of valid points. Fornately there are a few around. Can you here the echoes from others? All we can do is our thing and see if we can make difference. I noticed I had two pages of notifications today that is a little encouraging. Seen a few that were just busy with holidays and said they were here to stay. Some remain part time with focus elsewhere. Than of course there are those who are the main contributing factor of the dead noise who said , "See ya Later." We shall see in a few days who really is left.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I am becoming more focused than ever before on who I subscribe to and why, and trying to do a little bit of a "Random Rewarder" approach, while at the same time being sure to be engaging as well on other's posts.

It will be very interesting to see what happens next, whatever that happens to be.

BTW, not that it is ever required, of course, but I have appreciated your generosity and I hope to do my best to pay it forward as best I can. Glad I found you—there aren't many dedicated members left, so we need all the help we can get. lol

$ 0.03
1 year ago