We Can ALL Be Random Rewarders

28 66
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago

We all know Rusty. The Random Rewarder bot that visits our posts and shares with us from "the fund." And of course we all are very fond of him. When he comes around it is always a happy moment.

It is nice to be recognized even if it is a bot that recognizes us.

What's more, he's a pretty generous fella. (Can bots even be fellas?) He says he reads every post, and rewards us for the good ones. But does he really? I mean, I would like to say what I write is good. But is it?

Sponsors of Porwest
empty
empty
empty

Hell if I know. Some people seem to like what I write, I guess. Rusty seems to like what I write, and I am always wholly grateful for his presence when he makes his rounds.

But beyond Rusty, one thing that I have noticed about the community here on read.cash in contrast to the community on noise.cash, is that people who are on read seem to be far more generous than those on noise. I think part of what plays into this is that, aside from Rusty, there are no heart tips here. Clicking the upvote button does not promise the potential of an instant cash reward. What gets tipped by our readers comes straight out of our own pockets.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user Clker-Free-Vector-Images. Wallet Credit Cards Id - Free vector graphic on Pixabay

And many people here do tip. Not just posts. But comments as well. We are all sharing with each other what the site so generously offers to us for what we do here. We tend to appreciate that more.

We all know how much it matters to share.

That is interesting to me on another level because what we do here takes far more time than what we do on noise. When we spend time on read we are spending more time with each other. It takes much more time to actually read an article than it does a short post on noise. And it also takes more time to read back through our own comments and respond.

The bucks we make here are harder to make, simply put. And they take more time to make. So, we appreciate them more.

But of course, not every article is going to catch everyone's interest even if we are subscribed. Some people write in a niche form, and others post a little bit about a lot of different things. If you have subscribed to a niche writer, it is likely you will be interested in pretty much all of their articles. But for others it's dodgier.

It doesn't necessarily mean that we have to ignore the article that is not going to catch our interest, cause us to read it, and leave a comment. If we like the writer we can still acknowledge that writer in the form of a random tip, and maybe even an upvote.

In other words, it is sort of a bit of additional encouragement to the writer to say, "Hey, I like what you do and I want you to be encouraged to keep doing it even if this article isn't quite my fancy."

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user Clker-Free-Vector-Images. Panda Confused Questions - Free vector graphic on Pixabay

Both here and on noise I maintain my own daily fund of sorts, which is funded in a variety of ways. It is simply a percentage I give back from my earnings, and sometimes I toss in a little more to my daily fund based on gains in the crypto markets that I have enjoyed a little bit of profit from.

The point is that I think these tips we offer from our own pockets are encouragement as well as support that keeps the whole thing moving along smoothly. It is sharing and caring if you want to put it that way. And I think, despite Rusty's generosity, and even Marc's generosity over on noise, this is part of what both sites are wanting to encourage.

People helping people to succeed together.

In an odd sort of way, when you think about it, what is part of the idea and concept behind cryptocurrency and decentralized money? It is taking away control of all of the money in the supply system by just a handful of fortunate people and giving the power and control of money back to the people so that everyone can share in the benefits it provides.

Tipping is sharing. Tipping is giving to someone else the same opportunity that you have to be successful and attain a bit more wealth today than you had yesterday. I make a few bucks today, and I share a percentage of that with you tomorrow, and you share a bit of that with someone else the next day.

In that way, we all get to share in the opportunity to gain something.

But, and this is important, it is still not entirely free. The system only works if we all participate in a way that contributes something. Not just money. Our time. Our effort. Our willingness to do something to get it, not simply be handed it for doing nothing at all.

Image courtesy of Pixabay, user PaliGraficas. Hand Pennies Money - Free vector graphic on Pixabay

To be a random rewarder of your own, there is no need to give it all back and wipe out your wallet. But just giving back a tiny percentage of what you reap goes a long way in keeping us all here, and keeping the content flowing, and keeping the interactions worthwhile.

Even as the new update takes hold over on noise where we now can no longer see who hearts our posts, I hope that it encourages more people to be more generous over on noise as well.

If we are all in this together, then we need to be all in this together. And this is simply one way of doing that.

Take a lesson from our trusted Rusty. He may just be a bot, but he knows a thing or two about encouragement and sharing. And if we take that lesson to heart, the possibilities for the future of crypto can be equally encouraging. Not necessarily for what it offers. But for what it can do to not only change how we interact on a personal level. But how we interact on a monetary one.

Lead image courtesy of Pixabay, user GDJ. Binary Random Numbers - Free vector graphic on Pixabay

18
$ 10.26
$ 8.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.11 from @Telesfor
$ 0.50 from @JustMyRambles01
+ 10
Avatar for Porwest
2 years ago

Comments

Well said 😊 I´m always trying to give back to people when I like their content (that goes for noise.cash but also here :))... And then there are people on noise, who are not even willing to click the heart button and that makes me so angry! They expect other people to click hearts on their content but they are giving back an absolute zero. Did you also encounter this on noise? Oh, and one more technical thing. 😅 How can you have an image on the side and text right next to it in an article? I want to do it too but I can´t seem to figure it out. 🤔

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Noise is simply a different place, with, for whatever reason, a different attitude toward tipping. And I am honestly not sure what is behind that. It COULD be that the people here simply put in more time and effort due to the nature of the length of work, and therefore operate differently on that basis. But I really don't know.

As to your question, when you add the image, a "box" appears at the top of it that allows you to orientate the picture however you want. I believe it is the third button from the left that makes it arrange left and the next one that arranges it right. Let me know if you can't figure out and I can find a way to post something more detailed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey there, well written. When I first registered for an account and explored this site in Jan 2021, I did not think that anyone would tip out of their own pocket. This was why I didn't start writing until May, after the introduction of Rusty.

Your observation about people tipping more in read compared to noise is spot on. My theory is that we don't feel like the read tips that we earned are ours until we withdraw from the wallet to our own. On the other hand, we need to utilize the BCH already in our wallet in order to QR tip noise posts. I could be wrong but that's what I think.

Apart from tipping and upvoting, we can also support our fellow writers via sponsorship. I remember how I was motivated to continue with writing on read after receiving my first sponsor, thus, I try to do the same for new writers.

By the way, the fund from Rusty is also from the generosity of Marc. This gentleman is supporting both platforms by himself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I create a daily fund for tipping both from noise and read earnings, and usually combine them. I do like the sponsorship thing as well, and plan to do more of that in the future. All in due time.

As for Marc being Rusty as well, I did know that. Undoubtedly Marc's mission is a noble and generous one, and I hope it pays off big time for him. The world needs more like him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I received my first upvote of $0.01, I was really happy about it. It felt like winning the lotto or something. Lol. That's why it's nice to give back to the community because if I was happy with just $0.01, I'm sure $0.05 would make others happier. It's also our way of saying, we appreciate your support.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am eventually wanting to ramp up my typical tip amounts here. Right now it's generally 5 cents for a post and 1 cent for a comment or response. Sometimes more depending...like in your case. :)

All in due time as I slowly gain my following here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! Thank you. Just noticed it. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tipping on noise.cash is easier.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I actually find it is easier to tip here. But now that I have imported my wallet over at noise it has gotten much easier to tip there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that’s what we should learn from Rusty that shares and tipped us and we can do it also at the same time with our co users in this platform.Being a generous is possible for us aside from the bot itself .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The more you give, the more you receive. That has always been my mantra. Be it in noise or read or my daily dealings. It warms the heart when you make someone happy even with the a cent.

I know, the new read members will appreciate that cent and will be encouraged to write for more. Yes, we can be Rusty too. 👍😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In many ways this holds true. Giving comes back you ten fold.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You perfectly nailed it! It's what I can refer to as the very essence of Read cash. It's not only getting the bot's attention but most importantly sharing our time, effort, and yes, rewards to another. And the reward doesn't have to be big, as long as it is given wholeheartedly with good intentions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every tip still makes me happy :) also rusty of course

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tipping really is sharing. It puts a clear smile on ones face to see someone appreciate your comment so much to even tip. Its basically encouraging!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tipping is also fun since you know the person on the receiving end feels appreciated for their contribution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me noice seems hard, although I would still prefer here over there... I think we need to re-think of our upvotes to people... sometimes I really want to do more but because of maybe a pending need I cut it down a bit.. this is a good write up.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tipping is something, over on noise, that becomes even MORE noticeable that no one does it now that they have turned off the "show of money." Most of the posts just have the BCH symbol and no dollars and cents, because no one bothers to tip. So, the only money you are getting there is from the fund.

That becomes very telling about the difference in mentality here and over there.

That being said, I have a feeling that with the update also comes more monitoring of who tips and who does not. I think noise will begin to reward tippers more handsomely in the future. Not sure if that is true or not, but I think it is a strong possibility and something to watch out for.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have no experience with other platforms. But I really like read cash, because it is the participation and attention of members to each other that has made read cash so successful.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My goal is to eventually spend much more time here than on noise. But noise can also be a good bit of fuel for me to be able to increase the amount of my tips here as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was thinking this was because noise changed the heart tips to not show the $ amt anymore. Haha. It's more fun to tip if it doesn't come out of our own pockets all the time. Like in Hive and Steemit, we can upvote others there because of the accumulated HP or SP. And I like it here too because the upvote from random rewarder can be used to upvote others.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

To me, if all we wind up being are takers, as Margaret Thatcher famously once said (although in a different context), "Eventually you run out of other people's money." If we do not have the habit of sharing now, when the funds dry up, and they could one day, the site is pretty much dead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, it could happen if everybody are takers.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I completely agreee with what you've said. We should always encourage others the way other writers also encourage us.. It's also being written in the bible "give, and you will receive."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely correct.

But beyond Rusty, one thing that I have noticed about the community here on read.cash in contrast to the community on noise.cash, is that people who are on read seem to be far more generous than those on noise

Yes, that's right. I usually give $0.53 in read.cash or $1.11 in BCH in noise.cash only $0.05. Today I accidentally gave 5$, but this is a big exception and an oversight. The reason for bigger tips on read.cash is the longer articles.

$ 0.11
2 years ago

Ouch. Did the person at least recognize it and offer to give the money back? I know it has happened to me a few times where someone tipped me quite a lot, and each time I gave the money back.

Right now my standard tips are typically 5 cents for a post and 1 cent for a comment or response to a comment. Slowly I intend to ramp that up as I get to different levels on the site. All in good time.

Even in the event that I don't really want to read the article I will leave a 5 cent tip. But I generally only do this on people's posts that I subscribe to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch. Did the person at least recognize it and offer to give the money back?

Not yet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea you right, we are all RR here at readcash because we can all encourage other writers to write more, thank you for encouraging me to write again through your article today, maybe I will be active here again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago