When the Subconscious Works

15 54
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

They say that our subconscious is most alive when we are asleep. It records some things during our waking hours and somehow stores it in. The details we would not have consciously recognize during our awake moments takes flight when our subconscious works. Or some things that were "highlights" if our day gets etched in our subconscious even though we got engrossed about it for just few hours in one day. Yes."They" are my sources. No links. Meaning this statement was passed down from one chismosa to another. And I am one who is too tired at the moment to Google up stuff. So far, I have not heard of anyone (or any other chismosa) who would call out this train of thought. So, I guess it is safe to say, it holds a ranking of good info for now.

My recent dream worked like a prompt. It would have been a good story. Wait. I am currently making a story about it, am I not?

The word prompts in that story would be:

  • Film camera

  • Street photography

I could think a lot of other prompts but these two, as I am unpacking where in the world did my subconscious got to weave such a dream, stood out. The rest of the story, I do not know where, why and how my subconscious thought it fit to be in that short dream.

Film Camera

Nope. Not digital. I went retro in this dream. I think this was brought out because I was silently obsessing with the two antique cameras my mom "unearthed" from our stash of our old stuff from the old house.

I haven't had a time to look into them for two things :

A. Fear of being disappointed if it will no longer work

B. Fear of finding out that it still works and then not being able to stop myself from buying a new film, learning to develop them or maybe it will be a trip to Hidalgo, etc. In short, I might get too excited about it, I'd forget I have work to concentrate on and other responsibilities to attend to.

Also because sir @Bjorn shared something about him rescuing and old film cam in his article some days back.

Yes, yes... Check his article and thanks to him as well for being part of the window of supporters below. Go check them out, too

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

Street photography

I am thinking maybe because it was my latest activity when I last went out intentionally walking the length of the bayside and madly snapping photos of strangers. Taking my 35mm for a spin but being still shy and conscious, I have to do it real quick.

bystanders (who are sitting... so should that be by-sitters?).. waiting for sunset

It was a snap, look away and walk away session for me. So most of my shots are not sharp as I want them to be. Note the snap, look away and walk away method as that was also part of the dream. Yes, even that fear of getting "caught" by the subject is part of the dream.

It was a good quick walk. Motivation was to not get caught, and not get stuck in the crowd. I picture this place will be filled with a lot of people more and more each weekends specially with Christmas nearing.

I have always dreamt of trying film and using it for street photography. It would be a fun challenge to get a good shot at one click without being able to review the shot until I get it developed.

So we have film camera and street photography. How the dream went...

The dream...

The view was that of a cctv filming a street happening. I was walking down the street, towards where the CCTV camera was mounted. I was taking pictures of people around the street. Yes. Using an antique film camera with a viewfinder as any film camera would have (one that my current camera does not have). One guy caught my eye whose registry to the camera was so good, I had to take more shots of him as I was walking. But he caught suspicion that I was aiming shots at him, so he started to call me out and slowly walk towards me as well. I started doing the snap, look away and walk away faster. Just as I was passing by one green gate a kid ran across the road to the other side. A lady came running after the kid calling her out to watch where she is going. And just as she was in the middle of the street another man walked going the same direction I was. The lady, who I seem to recognize as someone from my high school, recognized the man and said, "Hey Jed! How have you been?"

The footage of the scenario went into slow motion as I turned around to look at this "Jed" ... "Jed" happens to be an old schoolmate (high school) . We (I and the lady who crossed the street) was a year ahead of Jed's batch. He is one of the head-turners then. But our dear Jed, died years ago. He died from a work accident. And other than he is one of my cadets during CAT days, we have no other form of interactions.

Why in the world would he be part of my dream?

I was spooked slightly. And still thinking about it, I still get goosebumps thinking about it. Why would I dream about some dead acquaintance in the past?


What an early dose of Halloween feels, eh?

What is your story?

Β© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

10
$ 3.50
$ 3.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 4
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

Comments

Whoa! Kinilabutan ako dun a. My gas!

Pero gusto ko ung mga kuha mo. Gusto ko un pagka grainy ng mga photos. Parang bi un mga by-sitters char! lol!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

lols napatingin ulit ako kina bysitters... how in the world do you know? my goodness... hahahha.. onga eh ma grain .. ahaha thanks thanks sir bestie!!!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol! Joke lang un sa bysitters pero malay natin :D :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! I mean wow.. you have a treasure in there. thanks for making my post an inspiration...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Timely din kasi sir Bjorn. Saktong sakto! :)You're welcome po .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan talaga nanaginip tayo ng kakaiba pichi. Yung dami mong tanong kung bakit ka nanaginip ng ganun. Pray lang pichi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thansk JRamona! oo sis ganun nga pray pray tayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo pichi. Pray lang tayo always before matulog. πŸ™

$ 0.00
1 year ago

this reminded me of my husband's film camera which he bought because it has an interesting interchangeable lens when it was sold. We were planning to buy a film too but never had the chance to do so.. street photography would be a good subject for film shooting! good luck!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a dream just this morning that wasn't so pleasant. Almost screamed but I just woke up with a jolt instead.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Weird dream. But I love to rediscover if that film camera still works. Hehe. No buts no ifs

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lols diba.! Me too interested to have it cleaned and make it work hahahahhaha... Sana may time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

2 nights ago mushrooms visited in my dream, so I had to go to the forest yesterday and pick them up 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hihi. The mushrooms called out to you in the dream! Good thing they were there. Hold on. Are they edible, though?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I picked some edible ones for lunch on Sunday and Monday. Still have some for today and dried a few for later too ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago