Tsukiji in my Head

13 37
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago
Topics: Travel, Past, Memory, Discovery, Adventure, ...

So things went fast after finding out my next assignment as I mentioned in the previous story. From the day I realized it is for real, the remaining days were spent preparing for the agenda when we're there.

I did not have time to research about the place I'm going to. I have no idea what more to be excited about except for sushi. The thought of eating that one in Japan excited me very much. I already liked ramen before that time but that's because of peer pressure (haha). It was an acquired taste for me before I really started having my own craving for it. Until eventually it became the preferred stress-buster on a Friday night sometimes even when the day is so super duper hot.

The preparation work-wise was also peppered with a lot of time spent in the office until late hours. Adjusting to what I am testing was also part of it - I became acquainted with Google Translate once more and how funny funky its translations were. But it did improve now big time as per my colleagues.

I am not a fan of animes either. I know Dragon Ball. I have seen episodes of One Piece and enjoyed it. I know Slam Dunk. But all the cartoons no longer appealed to me when I started working. And most of what I watched were dubbed in English if not in local dialects.

And because I did not have much time to research, most of my "trips" outside working hours and weekends were researched when I was already there. And some were noted from suggestions of friends who pinged me about where to go. "Pich, you're going to Japan, right? Go to this place .. this place and this place.. Look for.. this and that.. "

Click 'em head shots below of my AMAZING sponsors!
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

Among the places to go to that I was told included a lot of commute. I first was determined to know the places around the area we're in where I can EAT. Priorities first, right? If we're going home late nights, where do I eat. If I become hungry, middle of the night where do I eat? On weekends where we will most likely have our time to ourselves, where do I eat?

Torch guy

Surprisingly when I searched for places to eat, the place where we were staying in was few blocks away from Tsukiji market. I have no idea what is in Tsukiji market until I searched about it.

This was a quick snap using a papershoot

Hello, sashimi! So this is that market where all the fresh cuts are dropped, deboned, sorted, cut, etcetera. They offer a tour as well in that area where you get to see the magic done. But I have no intentions of waking up really early on a weekend just for that.

My first long walk from our place was not this though. I went to Imperial Palace first. Best way to explore new city that is "safe" is on foot and yes take lots of pictures. So that I did.

Tsukiji Market was the next walk since it is near. Like really near. I walk out our accommodation's door, turn left and walk 3 blocks, et voila! It's there.

When I got there, the place was busy. A lot of tourists were there. There was a long line of tourists for scrambled eggs -Tamagoyaki - which was fun to watch how it was created.

It was a really busy and bustling market. It was a long eat strip! It became my Saturday morning walk after morning coffee IF I GET TO WAKE UP EARLY. I am not a morning person except for free breakfast.

These were my favorites there.

1.) Flame Torched scallops

I've never seen a scallop so big and the meat is really huge , chunky, sweet! It was very yummy.

2.) Wagyu steak cubes on stick

I remember being a little teary-eyed enjoying both. I found gold it felt. Haha.

Sadly though, I think Tsukiji market got closed and transferred else where in preparation for the olympics or something like that.

But my Tsukiji market morning walks have been one of the best weekend walks I treated myself to after a long week's busting my A .

I know I said sashimi. But I did not get my sashimi here. The places where they serve sashimi is always jampacked. I don't like long queues.

Maybe someday, God-willing I'd get to have another shot at going there and visiting the new market. I would love to stuff my face with this again!

Itadakimasu!


© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

14
$ 6.23
$ 5.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @dziefem
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 7
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago
Topics: Travel, Past, Memory, Discovery, Adventure, ...

Comments

sanaol nakapag japan HUHU

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At akoy naiinggit na nga naman ate Pichi. Huhu. Where my money yah? Para makalipad nako sa Japan. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to go there too! Soon. Natakam ako sa foods na yan, sis. Maglunch nalang nga ako. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhhh, frenny me is so inggit huehue. Ang saya sana mag lakad lakad sa ganyan abaw tapoa puro foods ang nasa paligid UwU. What if walang pandemic pupunta ka ulit? Yiehhhh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap nmn ng mga yan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a great enjoyment, all I see is food, I think I would gain a lot of weight if I go to japan, hehehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

almost every article i read today talked about food, i'm starving

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Two things: 1. My ex and I were at a nice resort in La Union about 7 years ago. I ordered the prime rib medium rare and she ordered sushi. Obviously, we had to wait for my steak to cook but then came the order. She flew into a semi rage. The cook in the back had, get this, microwaved the sushi! I was laughing my tail off. 2. Thanks for the sponsorship.

Japan is so expensive but those gals are hot! lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Japan is indeed expensive.. their servings are generous though.

noooo!! they cooked the sushi!! noooo! they "heated' the sushi? nooo.. .

I remember one time when we were kids, we were looking forward and excited to eat in BCCs japanese restau.It was a treat. And if you don't eat it often your heightened excitement to taste that salmon sash is so high... then my dad orders it.. teppan.. so we watched in horror as our salmon gets cooked in front of us hahahahah.. .

you're welcome !!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Too funny about the salmon. Japan is awesome to visit and strict about visa stays. Great to visit but I wouldn't wanna live there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Japan. Ang ganda din sa Japan pichi Sabi ng ante ko. Nakapunta na siya kasi. Sarap naman nun scallops. Lagi kami kumakain niyan nung sa Cebu pa ako pichi. Sana makapunta din ng Japan balang araw.🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh myJapan! I missed my flight!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Noooo!

Haluu!!! yes ate Japan muna tayo..taraaaa!! sana may chance pa.. pero ewan ko .. bahala na :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago